We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally relaxing week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere to your Saves list
Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   contrada Gargidicenere | SS113, Bivio Campofelice seguire cartelli, 90016 Collesano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Totally relaxing week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A totally relaxing week in a quiet rural retreat. Very tastefully and lovingly restored property. We felt it very good value for money. Lovely infinity pool with beautiful views of sea and mountains, plenty of sun beds often the only person in or by the pool. Lovely cool room with excellent air con and large bed, spacious room with sofa, mini fridge, and clean. Few children around when staying. Very enjoyable evening meals. Carlos the owner had excellent English and various other languages, not at all intrusive, would chat to you only if you instigated it and wanted to. We did not find it too difficult to find the hotel if you followed the instructions, map and signs. Just little things would add to the experience such as tea and coffee making facilities, decent toiletries that were replaced daily, pool towels, picture of local area on wall in room (not blank wall), just one English TV channel if only for news. But none of these small suggestions detracted from our stay. Would we stay here again or recommend - without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the end of May 2013 for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. Make sure that you know exactly where the hotel is or use a sat nav as the location can be, at first, hard to find. This hotel is gloriously & wonderfully unsophisticated, great for couples who want a quiet and relaxing break. Wonderful views, plenty of room by the pool, friendly and helpful staff, and great Sicilian food and wine if you choose to eat there. Carlo and Heinnie are wonderful hosts who will do anything for you but otherwise keep out of the way. We would definitely like a return visit sometime. Car hire essential. Beaches are a short drive. Restaurants a short drive too. Train station to Palermo just a short drive. Excellent views and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just got back from a week in Sicily where we stayed 3 nights in Masseria del Piano. Carlo was a perfect host and did everything to make us feel at home. We stayed for dinner for the 3 nights and were not disappointed, well worth the stay and good value for money. Since this was February we could not use the pool but in Summer it must be something special with great views to the sea and mountains. The only problem was that the temperature in the hotel was rather low but to be expected in winter. Dont forget the driving instructions and dont use the GPS unless you have a tractor as it will send you across some fields! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Pros:
air con
large room
big bed
fridge
friendly
homemade dinner food (but not setting)
blackout curtains
bath (but lack of hot water)
wireless in lounge

Cons:
no bar
no tea/coffee facilities
no lunch available
no fridge (mini bar) prices
very thin bedroom walls - you can hear your neighbours' conversations - and all bathroom activity - and others' morning alarms
sheets not changed (over a week)
planned electric cut and no water (but no warning)
poor road leading to hotel
commune feel
no privacy at dinner (made to share a table)
dinner served at 8 only
'no food in bedrooms' rule (but not permitted to 'bring in')
not offered clean towels, have to ask (no towels for pool)
no one around to ask
chilly pool
little shade round pool
no DND sign - cleaners will disturb you
poor shower - water pressure
no window or fan in bathroom
8% on all card payments

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We (47/33) staied in La Masseria from oct. 17 till oct. 24 of 2012 and can recommend this place without doubt. We enjoyed everything, from the rooms to the big pool with a very nice view and the food. Unfortunately there has been a wildfire some months ago, so that Carlo lost most of his vineyard and the surrounding looks like meager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently had a four night stay at the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed. The hotel is in a rural location with wonderful views across the surrounding countryside and coastline. On arriving at the hotel we received a warm welcome from the owner, Carlo, to what is not just a hotel but also his family home. Also an invitation to join him for a glass of wine so he could tell us all about the hotel and surrounding areas.

We had a large room with extremely comfy bed, good size bathroom with a bath and shower over. Only niggle would be that the shower was only hand held and could really do with a bracket on the wall to attach it to.

Good choice at breakfast and tasty evening meals. We ate at the hotel for the 4 nights we were there and loved the home cooked meals and the friendly atmosphere in the restaurant.

Do follow the hotels instructions on how to find it, although the hotel is at the end of a bumpy road it is no where near as bad as the one our sat nav wanted to take us down.

Loved our stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall this is a great place to stay-the owners are lovely, the setting is incredible(every side is another amazing view), the pool is beautiful, it is quiet, clean and only 20 minutes drive from Cefalu.
The only reason this is not 5 stars is that we thought the price was a little expensive for what we actually got in the rooms and with breakfast. The room we had was enormous, but the furniture looked very dated (although they have only been open since last year), the sheets and towels were not amazing quality and there was no place to hold the shower head, so it was just hand-held. The air con did not work very well either. There is everything you need with a lovely little outside table and chairs, tv (no SKY) and fridge, and if we had been paying a bit less, I would have not thought anything of it. The breakfast is a game of two halves; the bread and pastries are amazing-fresh from the bakery, but the cheese and meat are a bit like supermarket packed and a bit processed. It is almost there, but not quite.
We ate there once for dinner-the food and wine are excellent, but the atmosphere is a little odd, with the lighting a bit bright and no music and we had to share a table with another couple, which was not ideal. we paid E 28 each for 4 courses and E8 for the wine-this was expensive compared to what we had in Cefalu, but was worth doing one night to get some 'home-cooking'.

Overall, this is a great location with some of the best views I have seen in Sicily. Just a couple of tweaks and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere

Address: contrada Gargidicenere | SS113, Bivio Campofelice seguire cartelli, 90016 Collesano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Collesano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Collesano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Del Piano - Gargidicenere Collesano, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.