We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heidsmuhle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heidsmuhle to your Saves list
Heidsmuhle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosenbergstr. 22, 54531 Manderscheid, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manderscheid
Amersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Down hairpin bends at the end of a steep road into a wooded valley, we found Heidesmuhle.
My wife has a nose for finding these places on the Webb and we were well pleased with the large double bed room with a view onto a lake surrounded by tall trees. The room was very clean as was the shower room.
The restaurant offered local fresh trout which I enjoyed and my wife had a steak out. For dessert we indulged in Sorbecco. A glass of prosecco with sorbet. Very refreshing, after a long drive from Calais.
Slept well with just the sounds of rain and nature in the background. Pity it did rain because there are lots of beautiful walks along well marked paths.
Most people who come find it by personal recommendation, and the small hotel was busy. Glad we booked in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor. There is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kopenhagen
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is hidden in a valley. The silence...fantastic. The staff is very very friendly and helpful, quick in service. The view from the terrace is magnificent over a small stream which flows through the garden. In front of the hotel is an nice pond which you can walk around. The surrounding forest with walking paths in all directions invites you for a nice walk. The hotel is recently rebuild an a number of rooms are added. The old part of the hotel has very basic rooms but the new build rooms are very modern and spacy. This hotel is a good strting point for exploring the Eiffel regio.

Room Tip: Take one of the two rooms on top of the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

For the money it is a good value.

But for walkers, walking on the eifelsteig or lieserpath it is a slightly to far of route.

Location nice and silent i like that.
Bedroom ok but i hated the beds al to soft specially the pillows. ( they really need to change that )
Dinner good price for what you get but don,t expect a hole lot.
Breakfast is average but the breakfast spot is really nice.

I was expecting more so a little disapointed.
I am not saying it is bad i keep that in between.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

went there just one night (business). Not the best time of the season ... I am sure it must be amazing during summertime.
Nice room, bathroom a bit small, but clean.
Wifi ok.
Restaurant: not a Michelin place, but good price/quality.
Breakfast: not overwhelmingly lavish, but ok.
Overall reasonably good value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

and we have been checking back again and again for the last 15 years. Do go for one of the walks in the area, then come back for a lovely rustic meal - try the trout!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heidsmuhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidsmuhle

Address: Mosenbergstr. 22, 54531 Manderscheid, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Manderscheid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Manderscheid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidsmuhle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heidsmuhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidsmuhle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.