We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very, very beautiful place to stay - I loved it in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A very, very beautiful place to stay - I loved it in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It would be a nonsense to write the same positive things which former travellers to the Albatroz dedicated to this beautiful place! I am just one more guest who can say a clear and loud YES to this unexpectedly special hotel.
Actually I was in transit from Porto Santo Island to Oporto and just wanted to spend the night there, chosing the place because it's very near from Madeira airport.
Upon arrival I was welcomed by a very nice employee of the hotel who drove me there.
Once you enter the gate you can not believe what you see. The place is just down the hill from the airport, and behind is passing the "rua rápida" (highway). But the feeling you get entering is PEACE, RELAXATION, STYLE, BEAUTY. Check in is very efficient and friendly. The bell boy idem. Opt for a SUPERIOR room, they are much nicer than the standard rooms. Much better views, because the "superiors" are all on the top floor of the building. Once you enter the room you just get the feeling of being on an ocean cruise liner! The vistas are SPECTACULAR, you just see the dark blue ocean from your room - it's wonderful!
The room is cozy, well furnished, all the amenities that you are expecting from a 5* hotel are there. Comfy beds, comfy sofa, fresh fruit with delicious strawberries and grapes, a very beautiful bathroom (amber colour, lovely) and large (!!!) windows - beautiful!!!
Madeira once used to be a quiet, beautiful island. Unfortunately it has changed a lot during the last 10, 15 years. Traffic is horrendous, travelling from tunnel to tunnel is no fun at all. The air is not clean anymore (in Funchal it is very polluted and unfortunately you can feel that), there is noise and movement almost everywhere you go. But here at the Albatroz? It's RELAXING, it's LOVELY, it's SMALL AND INTIMATE. It has style, but it is not snobby. I felt very, very well here and even extended my stay. Not because of Madeira, but because of the Albatroz!
The gardens are a delight, so many red and pink hibiscus around, so many different agaves and yuccas as well as other subtropical plants and trees, I just felt the desire to talk one long walk after the other through the vast hotel garden.
There is one lovely swimming pool next to the building, and there is a spectacular pool at the very bottom of the steep rock, filled up by the ocean during high tide.
I ordered room service because the feeling to eat in your absolute privacy is something that I like very much. Service was excellent and very friendly, and the 5 dishes I ordered for lunch were all superb! Fantastic presentation, and so was the quality of the food! A big "obrigado" to the highly qualified cook, mmmmh, his creations are just delicious!
Outside of the building you can hear some noise from the airport, but there aren't many flights per day (may be 20 or so...). The beauty of the place and the sympathy of the staff compensates the small disadvantage of not being totally quiet because of the airplanes.
Inside the room it's absolutely quiet and relaxing...
Difficult to describe why I loved this place so much. There is something that's going underneath your skin, it was love at the first glance, sympathy and serenity. The VIEW is spectacular, you are above the azure waters of the Atlantic and really feel like in a suite on a cruise ship. Marvellous and impressive, and the rate you have to pay for what you get is very okay. There are cheaper 5* hotels on the island, yes. But I would stay here again with pleasure even if it was much more expensive...

Room Tip: Opt for the SUPERIOR ROOMS, they only cost 20-30€ more but offer much better views, as located on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
79
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but was very impressed with the location. The view was stunning. Just a small family run hotel but the service was very good. A complimentary fruit basket and water was in the room on our arrival. The restaurant offered a good selection of food and we were very pleased with our choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All room have a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days in Maderia at the Albatroz Hotel. The hotel was amazing, we were collected from the airport by the hotel and made to feel very welcome. On our arrival day my son was celebrating his 11th birthday, and the hotel kindly organised a cake for him and decorated the room with balloons he was so happy. We were attending my brothers Wedding, and I cannot rate the hotel highly enough, the staff were very accommodating and the rooms were out of this world, not only with beds, but lovely balconies, a couch and table and chairs. The maid service was also excellent clean sheets and towels every day. Nothing was to much trouble, even allowing us to stay in the room until 5pm on day of departure as we had a late flight. Would highly recommend this peaceful haven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just come back from a week at this Hotel for a Wedding on the premises. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. Were picked up and taken back to Airport and although very close there was little aircraft noise. A lovely peaceful clean and comfortable Hotel and if you like swimming it has two salt water pools and a fresh water one. Had a complementary basket of fruit and bottled water in our room which was a lovely touch. Close to Santa Cruz and Machico but very quiet at this time of year. Would recommend a hire car. A lovely location for a Wedding.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they have garden and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a great week.

On arriving with 2 small children the staff could not have been more welcoming;

We received a basket of fruit welcoming us to the hotel which kept us gong for a few days and also some local wine and juice which was just what the doctor ordered after a long-ish journey.

We had a suite and both rooms room had a huge bed, sofa and on with a table with two chairs, the other a full dining table.

We were lazy and had the room service continental breakfast each morning which set us up for the day and we also ate in the restaurant a few times whcih was also good (if not a little formal for a 3 and a 6 year old).

For ambience and general comfort this scores full marks, and the staff are among the best I have ever encountered any where in the world.

We liked it so much we booked a return trip before we left !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in August 2012. Madeira is a beautiful island and the Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club is in an excellent location. The hotel is a short walk to the town of Santa Cruz where there are quite a few restaurants. It's also close to Machico, a town with a nice (sandy) beach which has a bit more to offer than Santa Cruz. While the rooms of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club were clean and offered a great view of the ocean, the way the place is ran could be much better.

The first point of critique is the pool management. We chose this hotel because of its amazing salt water pool(s). Even though the hotel claims to have multiple salt water pools there's only really one proper pool which is the one featured on most of the hotel photos. The other ones are small and shallow and not suitable for swimming.

As a few people pointed out before me there is some algae in the pool, however I think that's something you need to take for granted. Unfortunately, the hotel staff does not feel the same way, because on our second day we found the sea water pool empty and closed for cleaning. It was only a matter of time before the ocean would fill the pool up again - according to the staff. A "matter of time" turned out to be more than a week. What should be two weeks of enjoying the salt water pool in Madeira's hottest month, resulted in finding the pool empty the majority of our stay. Also, when the pool did fill up, it was as dirty as before so they would have been better off just leaving it the way it was. Since this is the main thing the hotel has going for it you would expected them to give nature a hand and pump the water back in.

The service in the hotel restaurant was average. There are a few nice staff members who really try their best but we often found ourselves overlooked. Absolute low point was when after dining out there for almost two weeks, we found a pointy piece wood (!?) hidden in one of our club sandwiches and they would not even offer an apology.

Oh and as to the plane noise: yes you can hear (and smell!!) them. Not a surprise since the hotel is basically a part of the airport. The plane noise won't keep you awake at night though because they don't seem to have flights coming in very late. But if you plan on reading a book by the empty salt water pool there will be some plane noise and a smell of kerosene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Suisse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like to be in a quiet, relaxing,clean hotel, which has not many rooms and tourists this is the place you should go!!!!
We were warmly picked up at the airport ( even if it's very close from the airport you still need to go by car), and were able to do a very early check-in without additional fees.
The employees are very nice, and always ready to help and advise on things to see in Madeira.
They sure know how to make you feel at home. The room is big and the view is amazing. They have two sea level swimming pool with sea water. They also have one swimming pool above and a tennis court.
We often ate at the restaurant of the hotel as the food was delicious.
The hotel can arrange for you to rent a car for a day or two. They also recommend you on tours you can do in the island.
It is so peaceful and quiet, that we spend a few days at the hotel relaxing, reading, swimming and playing tennis.
I totally recommend this hotel to visit Madeira.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Address: Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club Santa Cruz, Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.