We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Cannock
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but was very impressed with the location. The view was stunning. Just a small family run hotel but the service was very good. A complimentary fruit basket and water was in the room on our arrival. The restaurant offered a good selection of food and we were very pleased with our choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All room have a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean and have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
82
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days in Maderia at the Albatroz Hotel. The hotel was amazing, we were collected from the airport by the hotel and made to feel very welcome. On our arrival day my son was celebrating his 11th birthday, and the hotel kindly organised a cake for him and decorated the room with balloons he was so happy. We were attending my brothers Wedding, and I cannot rate the hotel highly enough, the staff were very accommodating and the rooms were out of this world, not only with beds, but lovely balconies, a couch and table and chairs. The maid service was also excellent clean sheets and towels every day. Nothing was to much trouble, even allowing us to stay in the room until 5pm on day of departure as we had a late flight. Would highly recommend this peaceful haven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just come back from a week at this Hotel for a Wedding on the premises. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. Were picked up and taken back to Airport and although very close there was little aircraft noise. A lovely peaceful clean and comfortable Hotel and if you like swimming it has two salt water pools and a fresh water one. Had a complementary basket of fruit and bottled water in our room which was a lovely touch. Close to Santa Cruz and Machico but very quiet at this time of year. Would recommend a hire car. A lovely location for a Wedding.

Room Tip: All rooms are good as they have garden and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a great week.

On arriving with 2 small children the staff could not have been more welcoming;

We received a basket of fruit welcoming us to the hotel which kept us gong for a few days and also some local wine and juice which was just what the doctor ordered after a long-ish journey.

We had a suite and both rooms room had a huge bed, sofa and on with a table with two chairs, the other a full dining table.

We were lazy and had the room service continental breakfast each morning which set us up for the day and we also ate in the restaurant a few times whcih was also good (if not a little formal for a 3 and a 6 year old).

For ambience and general comfort this scores full marks, and the staff are among the best I have ever encountered any where in the world.

We liked it so much we booked a return trip before we left !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks in August 2012. Madeira is a beautiful island and the Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club is in an excellent location. The hotel is a short walk to the town of Santa Cruz where there are quite a few restaurants. It's also close to Machico, a town with a nice (sandy) beach which has a bit more to offer than Santa Cruz. While the rooms of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club were clean and offered a great view of the ocean, the way the place is ran could be much better.

The first point of critique is the pool management. We chose this hotel because of its amazing salt water pool(s). Even though the hotel claims to have multiple salt water pools there's only really one proper pool which is the one featured on most of the hotel photos. The other ones are small and shallow and not suitable for swimming.

As a few people pointed out before me there is some algae in the pool, however I think that's something you need to take for granted. Unfortunately, the hotel staff does not feel the same way, because on our second day we found the sea water pool empty and closed for cleaning. It was only a matter of time before the ocean would fill the pool up again - according to the staff. A "matter of time" turned out to be more than a week. What should be two weeks of enjoying the salt water pool in Madeira's hottest month, resulted in finding the pool empty the majority of our stay. Also, when the pool did fill up, it was as dirty as before so they would have been better off just leaving it the way it was. Since this is the main thing the hotel has going for it you would expected them to give nature a hand and pump the water back in.

The service in the hotel restaurant was average. There are a few nice staff members who really try their best but we often found ourselves overlooked. Absolute low point was when after dining out there for almost two weeks, we found a pointy piece wood (!?) hidden in one of our club sandwiches and they would not even offer an apology.

Oh and as to the plane noise: yes you can hear (and smell!!) them. Not a surprise since the hotel is basically a part of the airport. The plane noise won't keep you awake at night though because they don't seem to have flights coming in very late. But if you plan on reading a book by the empty salt water pool there will be some plane noise and a smell of kerosene.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Suisse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like to be in a quiet, relaxing,clean hotel, which has not many rooms and tourists this is the place you should go!!!!
We were warmly picked up at the airport ( even if it's very close from the airport you still need to go by car), and were able to do a very early check-in without additional fees.
The employees are very nice, and always ready to help and advise on things to see in Madeira.
They sure know how to make you feel at home. The room is big and the view is amazing. They have two sea level swimming pool with sea water. They also have one swimming pool above and a tennis court.
We often ate at the restaurant of the hotel as the food was delicious.
The hotel can arrange for you to rent a car for a day or two. They also recommend you on tours you can do in the island.
It is so peaceful and quiet, that we spend a few days at the hotel relaxing, reading, swimming and playing tennis.
I totally recommend this hotel to visit Madeira.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have been fortunate to travel extensively as far as Fiji and the Caribbean amongst many other destinations. I have to say that this hotel and its staff run by Goncalo Lemos Nunes is the most enjoyable, relaxing and idyllic facility I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. The welcome is genuine and warm, the rooms are clean tidy and modern with Wi Fi access free of charge in every room. The restaurant is located within a few meters of the accommodation and Philip and Victorino both offer excellent service and pleasurable conversation. The menu is more than adequate and my wife and I tried a number of other restaurants in and around the Island, but found ourselves returning to this facility on our doorstep. The food is fresh and is prepared in a reasonable time with excellent quality. The views from the rooms are looking out over the ocean and are exquisite with panoramic pleasure. The director Concalo is a very welcoming gentleman who, when asked; nothing appears to be of any trouble to him. All of the staff speak excellent English as well as other languages. I will, without doubt return to this beautiful hotel again, and recommend anyone who is looking for a relaxing trouble free holiday to visit this gem of a place. Kim West.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
8.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
9.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
10.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,092 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Address: Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club Santa Cruz, Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.