We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Santa Cruz
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you stay in Madeira, you must stay at this hotel. This small hotel offers everything that you could want. Excellent food, attention to detail, friendly staff and closeness to the airport. We were worried that being this close would create airplane noise but because all the rooms face the ocean and the hotel is well below the airport the sounds could not be heard. The surprise for us was that it was so relaxing. The spaces were amazing so that you felt that it was both a resort of the highest order but yet like home where comfort was all around.
Because Madeira is not large it is convenient to many places where you might want to visit. It is far from the maddening crowd where the cruise ships dock. The hotel has a complimentary airport pickup and return if you just arrange a l;iottle3 ahead of your arrival.
Their website offers the details about their services

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. Just a question if you want the second floor which has a lounge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I must say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were shown around the hotel and room, experienced wonderfully friendly staff, very much enjoyed our stay. I would definitely recommend this place. The airport, despite its close proximity, is not busy enough and is located above so you really do not notice it (I had been concerned with this before we stayed). The hotel restaurant is pretty good (Lilly's in Machico and the restaurant at Parque Timatico in Santana were better) but is especially convenient if you don't want to be "exploring" some really steep roads at night. The rooms are 10m from the small cliffs on the ocean and have an spectacular view of the small islands to the east. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

See my previous two reviews. This July, we stayed at the Albatroz for the third time since 2010, and we keep coming back for the same reasons: a beautiful hotel, excellent service, excellent food, and a peaceful setting. It's the perfect place to relax, and we hardly ever left the place as the hotel and grounds had everything we needed. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife & I have just returned from our first holiday in the beautiful island of Madeira having stayed for two weeks at the Albatroz Hotel near Santa Cruz. An exceptional hotel where everyone from Goncalo Nunes the Director through every staff member proved to be extremely competent and helpful. On arrival at reception (after being picked up at the nearby airport) we were greeted by Goncalo with the words "welcome to paradise" and indeed it proved to be pretty close.
A small private hotel which is expertly run, the food excellent & the accommodation second to none. Well done the Albatroz and we certainly intend to return.

Jim & Margaret Baird
Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Albatroz staff could not have been more welcoming; this is a hotel where the employees go above and beyond what's expected.
On emailing the hotel a day before our trip asking whether there was a shuttle bus, I received a prompt reply from the hotel (in better English than many people I deal with at home!) offering to collect us from the airport, which they duly did the following evening.

On arrival we received a basket of fruit welcoming us to the hotel, and enjoyed a good night's sleep, waking up to a beautiful sunrise and an ocean view.
Our room had a huge bed, sofa, table with two chairs, big flat screen TV (with BBC news and entertainment) and a fridge (and safe too).

The breakfast each morning is very pleasant with a good selection of food, and a chef is always on hand to cook omelettes and other items to order, which was a pleasant surprise.

There are 3 pools; a fresh water one at the hotel level, and two salt water ones at sea level (both of which offer even stronger sun and great snorkelling).

Santa Cruz itself was about a 10 minute standard walking pace (we're both 34); the only very slight niggle I had was that the first few hundred metres of the walk is down a pavement next to a dual carriageway; although there are barriers it's a shame there isn't enough room to put in a separate path - but that's not the hotel's fault; from that point on it's an easy walk along the coast with no roads nearby which is very pleasant.

It was a very quiet and peaceful place; even though the airport is right above the hotel on a cliff you barely hear it during the day or evening; in fact you hear it more if you're in town.

There's also a lounge on the first floor with a PC where you can use the Internet, and there's a wireless signal available throughout the hotel which is great if you need to stay in touch with things back home.

The only slight (and these are really small) thing I'd have improved would have been to suggest having background music or even radio playing at breakfast - it's a little quiet otherwise and people tend to be very hushed as there's very little background noise - it's a small hotel, and my girlfriend and I thought it would have made people more comfortable to chat.

That aside, wonderful stay, and the staff (and everyone on the island in fact) all seem to be multi-lingual so we almost felt bad speaking English all the time!
On our last morning we missed breakfast and the staff made us sandwiches to eat in the airport - this is the sort of lovely people they are!

Thank you Albatroz, we may well be back again when we need a well earned rest! :)

Room Tip: Having stayed on a ground floor room I would recommend a first floor room for a bit more privacy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesoya, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Albatroz for one night before returning home after 2 weeks on Madeira in the end of July. We enjoyed swimming in the ocean, relaxing in the bar and had a good dinner. It was on a Saturday and there was a big wedding held in the hotel which made it somewhat more noisy at night than I am sure it usually is. No noise from the airport though! The room was large and we had everything we needed. Great service! A perfect place to stay for a day or two either coming to Madeira or leaving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westkapelle, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed from 22-27th of June in this lovely hotel.Our room was on the ground-floor with a beautifel view to the Atlantic Ocean. What a great place to stay, we feeled like God in France..UNBE We had a great stay in Albatroz Hotel.
Thank you to the general director Mr. Pereira da Silva for his kindness and good service for this unique beach hotel.
Congratulations for the whole staff. With kindly regards.
Mrs Barbara Vanhove
Belgium

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Address: Quinta Dr Americo Durao, Sitio da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira P-9100-016, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club Santa Cruz, Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.