We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in Madeira 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Santa Catarina Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Catarina Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“holiday in Madeira 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

very comfortable hotel all staff very helpful but one member of staff never gave a smile but then one out of many is not to bad the rooms are very clean and well kept daily the breakfast was adequate 2

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    67
    49
    22
    13
See reviews for
28
110
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013 lovely clean hotel rooms on the small side but shower and bathroom worked well stayed half board for two weeks and the breakfast was continental but they had eggs and cereal fruit and cheese everyday the evening meal as always served hot and there was two choices one meat and one fish . There was no entertainment in the hotel but the small village was lovely and the sea was only about a five minute walk away. The swimming pool was always kept clean but is was very cold. The bus top just out the front was very handy for getting a round on and was in expensive would go back but only stop for a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as the ones at the back of the hotel look over a rod bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A few minutes drive from the airport, located just under the motorway, this is a budget hotel. I have no idea why it has a 4 star rating. I've stayed in more luxurious student hostels. Thankfully we were touring and only used the place as a base.

The first room we were shown into faced the road and the bus stop. This was noisy, especially when students gathered to catch the bus, and the room smelt a bit musty. We asked for alternative accommodation. This room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool but also directly under the motorway however it wasn't musty. The decor was dated and could do with renewal. The beds were reasonably comfortable and the facilities adequate and clean. Towels were changed daily and the room staff were friendly and efficient. There was a small balcony with a table and a couple of chairs. Although there was a pitiful telly, no fridge (although there had obviously been one), no air-con (although you could rent a heater!) and no drink-making facilities, we thought it was a better bet than the previous room. Unfortunately it wasn't until the night that we realised we'd made a mistake. There was a series of whooshing and pumping noises all through the night. Possibly the swimming pool pump, the laundry, the kitchen or all of these. Whatever, it wasn't conducive to a peaceful night's sleep. Thank goodness for earplugs! Also, there was a loose manhole cover in the road that ran down the side of the hotel that made an alarmingly loud clank every time a car went over it that earplugs couldn't combat. There are a surprising number of cars in the night. OK, that wasn't the hotel's fault but it was very annoying. The aircraft noise wasn't intrusive but that might be because most of the flights are during the afternoon. The motorway noise wasn't particularly intrusive either but that might be because we got used to its constant rumble!

Breakfast can only be described as a nightmare. It was bad enough to nearly reduce me to tears, especially after a sleepless night. It was what I can only describe as a combat, self-service buffet with people scrambling to get the last bowl or cup, bread roll, egg, whatever because there was only one member of staff who was responsible for clearing plates, replacing crockery and cutlery and ensuring all buffet items were available. An impossible task. People were using teaspoons to eat cornflakes off plates! The hot food was sparse and poor (and sometimes not hot) and the cold buffet unimaginative comprising cheese slices and ham, fruit salad, yoghurt (in cartons, thankfully; see earlier comment about cornflakes on plates) and a variety of bread rolls and brioche. The coffee urn was lethal, burning fingers on the handle and the ridiculously stiff tap, or else cool and the coffee stewed. Water for tea and milk constantly ran out and was slow in being replaced. Everything was slow to be replaced. The orange juice was dire.

There's a cheap coffee shop next door which serves excellent coffee and a variety of cakes. For me, that was a far better way to start the day!

Pros: Clean and cheap; friendly and helpful reception and room staff; free parking in basement; happy hour in bar.
Cons: Noisy; dated decor; inadequate breakfast service – lack of food, crockery and cutlery and staff; patchy wifi in bar.

There's cheap and there's value for money. I wouldn't go again or recommend it to a friend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

:food yes you could eat all of what was on the menu.
:helpful and friendly staff at all times.
:rooms clean /but a little dated. (did not spoil holiday)
:bathroom separate toilet ,door between bathroom and toilet more hotels should have this.
good location to get anywhere ,bus stop near to Hotel.
Thank you for a lovely holiday.
Mr Mrs D and J Cross

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the Santa Catarina for a week's holiday towards the end of May. I believe it to be a family run hotel. Unfortunately, the concept of customer service by said family was severely lacking as there was minimal interaction between the owning family and any guests. Their attitude could only be described as arrogant and somewhat condescending.

Their housekeeping/domestic staff, on the other hand, were extremely pleasant, always willing to volunteer a smile, unlike the owners.

The hotel experience itself was a mixed bag ...

Pleasant enough, clean room with small balcony and very comfortable beds, although it did not have much of a view It was obvious that the room had once had a fridge in the room but this had been removed (for reasons best known to the owners). No wifi available in the rooms, but was best picked up in the bar area (strangely enough). This establishment was way short of a 4 star rating, maybe a three star at best.

Breakfast was fairly basic with hot offerings of eggs, bacon and frankfurter sausages (on a rotational basis) supplementing the normal cold buffet. The only juice, unfortunately, was watered down orange squash which was pitiful. No bags were allowed in the dining room in case any of their guests swiped anything for later, as it was very difficult to find any sort of shop which sold any provisions in Santa Cruz. I kid you not !!!

Outside was a well maintained pool area with snack bar (which remained closed for the duration of our stay). An added bonus was the motorway whose presence did overpower the sunbathing area. However, I have to say whilst conscious of the traffic noise, it was not intrusive.

All in all, a disappointment. The owners need to engage with their guests to ensure their stay is as pleasant as possible. Unfortunately, in this case, I don't think they cared.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here 5th to 12th April 2013 and found it to be a very pleasant hotel, Excellent value for the money and a very useful location, it was clean and tidy and staff were very helpful. We have not been to Madeira before and we were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Santa Catarina in Santa Cruz for a week in April 2013. The hotel was clean and tidy and the service in general was good. Breakfast was almost exactly the same every day and the hot food was not as hot as it should have been but was ok and the general tidying could have been a bit better but not so bad as to warrant a complaint. One thing that you won’t see on any advertising material is the fact that the pool area is almost directly under a flyover! Having said that there was no real noise disturbance from neither the flyover nor the close proximity to the airport. The hotel is also close to bus stops to Canical via Machico (10 mins Eastward €1.90 single) and the Funchal (40 mins Westward €2.70 single). Although we didn’t see much of the island what we did see was beautiful and we will definitely return. Madeira is ideal for a relaxing break and suited more to older tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina Hotel

Address: Rua do Bom Jesus 22, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-152, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Santa Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina Cruz
Santa Catarina Hotel Santa Cruz, Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Catarina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.