We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay and extra special dinner near Munich Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landhotel Schweiger's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Landhotel Schweiger's to your Saves list
Landhotel Schweiger's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manhartsdorf 2 - 4, 85456 Wartenberg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartenberg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect stay and extra special dinner near Munich Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Landgasthof Schweiger was recommended to us by friends who have stayed here before, and their recommendation was spot on. We were greeted upon our arrival by the friendly receptionist who gave us a nice double ground floor room. This room is very comfortable and spacious with soft double bed and fluffy feather comforters, spotless bathroom, wooden cabinets and even a small refrigerator. The restaurant is cozy and typically German, the menu is varied and reasonably priced, and the food is extremely good. The head waiter was very attentive to our every need, and allowed us much time to enjoy our drinks before dinner. We started with leberspaetzle soup made with very light airy spaetzle floating in clear beef broth, followed by a mixed salad with excellent vinaigrette. My husband then had Ossobucco, which was perfectly stewed in a rich gravy served with canneloni filled with spinach and ricotta. I had the weiner schnitzel from pork that was pounded so thinly and fried in a breadcrumb crust that was tender enough to cut with a fork. The chef really knows how to make a great schnitzel. After dinner the chef even came out and talked with us for a while about his former career cooking in US Army mess halls and his trips to America. We enjoyed our conversation with him, and certainly enjoyed his food! After a restful night's sleep followed by breakfast buffet, we were on our way to our flight home from a long vacation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone near Munich for a night or many nights.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morrison
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that is offering great lodging, food and airport shuttle service - this is a good pick. Hotel is "in the country" north of Munich's airport, but the room, breakfast, and shuttle could not be handled better and at a reasonable price. My husband commented they had the best
(feather/down) covers of all the places we stayed during our recent trip. Pay attention to their "Ruhetag", which could leave you without a restaurant or other food store, unless you have a car.
The room has a small refrigerator and you can bring cold cuts and something to drink for such a case. Breakfast, included in the room price, was ample and varied. People are very nice! No problem with the English language.

Room Tip: Any room will be good. Ask for a garden level room if you don't want to lug suitcases up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice,frendly and perfect service. Everything was on schedule and the owners are very friendly. 15 minutes with shuttle to Terminal 1. We come back next year. Thank you I recomended this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a similarly shocking experience with the manner of the hotel director as Raffos below. Before our stay, we had telephoned to ask if we could leave an external hard drive at the hotel during our holiday. The woman at the phone had assured us that that would be no problem, and when we arrived, the receptionist stored the device for us. When we returned from holiday and wanted to retrieve the device, we were told by the receptionist that she did not know where it was, but she was very friendly, and tried to find it. When she asked the hotel director, however, where the device could be, he turned to us and basically scolded us for having left something in their custody; this always caused problems for him, and from now on he would not do it anymore. He said it was none of his business where the device was. We tried to stay calm at first, but submitted to further abuse we told him that he should not speak to guests like this. He replied that he could do whatever he wanted in his own house! When my mother became upset, he told me to tell my mother not to behave like this! I have never met with such unprofessional and insulting conduct, and will never set foot in the hotel again. The rest of the staff were very kind and professional, but it seems the director should take a leaf out of their book in terms of professional conduct.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg and Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Together with my family (we have two kids of 2 and 4 years old) we were looking for a real estate to build our future house in Wartenberg and attracted by the photos on their website, we booked a room for one night at Schweiger Landgasthof.

Even if their webpage that children till 6 years old were included in the room price, we had to additionally pay 28 Euro for the bed of our 4 years old. We were easy going and we didn't complain.

The interesting part happened when we arrived around 21:30 at the hotel.
While chatting with the very kind woman at the reception, the owner showed up at the counter and heard me asking if it was possible to pay with a Mastercard. He immediately complained in a bad about the fees he was going to pay. We were a bit shocked from the manner.I made him notice the extra bed they charged and the fact that he was going to earn anyway more but he kept complaining ruining our evening and our stay with a needless discussion. (The website claims that credit cards are accepted).

It is anyway just an average hotel with a lot of cars parked outside from people of take the shuttle to the airport. Please be aware that after 22:00 (10pm) they will not be able to provide you the keys of your room.

The breakfast was included in the price but it was extremely simple: Just cereals, yoghurt, some sausages, sliced tomatoes, bread and jam. Not something comparable to most of the other hotels we visited where you can also order things such as: scrambled eggs, beacon, hard boiled egg, pancakes and similar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After a positive experience in 2010, we chose to stay at Schweiger's for another early morning departure. It is a 15 minute shuttle service to or from the Munich airport. Pre-arranged times for pick up and drop off are requested. The staff are extremely accommodating and speak English. The evening meals in their restaurant are very good and reasonably priced. Tuesday is their "ruhetag" which means there is no restaurant service on Tuesday evening. Our departure this time was before the breakfast room opened so we opted for the "picnic" breakfast which we found outside our door in the morning (consisted of fruit, yogurt, small sandwich, juice and bar). Room was a nice size same for bathroom. They are very dependable and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We stayed at Schweiger's in order to catch an early morning flight. They will send a van to pick you up at the airport and return upon pre-arrangemed times/dates. It is approximately a 15 minute drive. The hotel is located in a very small village. Schweiger's has an outdoor beer garden amongst trees and flowers. The on site restaurant has excellent food at a reasonable prices. Service in the restaurant was very good and all the staff were accomodating. Our room was a decent size, clean and cheery. The bathroom with shower was also a decent size. Very nice buffet style breakfast. They provide long stay parking for those who want to park and fly. Free parking on street for overnight and a charge for long term in the adjoining open air lot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landhotel Schweiger's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Schweiger's

Address: Manhartsdorf 2 - 4, 85456 Wartenberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Wartenberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wartenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Schweiger's 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Landhotel Schweiger's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Schweiger's Wartenberg, Germany - Bavaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landhotel Schweiger's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.