We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time a charm.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel das Kranzbach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel das Kranzbach to your Saves list
Hotel das Kranzbach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kranzbach 1, 82493 Krun, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Krun
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Third time a charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I have witnessed he growth of Das Kranzbach from our honeymoon in 2009, to development of additional rooms during our 2009 stay to a huge growth in Gartenflugel rooms and, to our huge benefit, the Tor Haus, during out stay this September.

It is still a great hotel. Becalming and soothing, with great food, kindly staff and comfortable accommodations. We stayed in the aforementioned Tor Haus and it was fabulous. Well furnished, intelligently design and synonymous with a county cottage. I encourage one and all to try to book this Haus. Hugely superior to the Gartenflugel and the Mary Portman House.

Badehaus was again great.I did not see the signs of age others have noted. Great aufguss in the Finnish sauna at posted times. Warm pools great in the sun and in the rain.

But not everything is perfect and nor is Kranzbach. One evening at dinner it was a kind of meet the chef night when you could go into the kitchen and pick up starters and deserts yourself and find out how the dishes were prepared. While my wife liked it and so did others, it did nothing for me to have some sous chef tell me "this is the chicken....and here is the fish....and here is the beef." I like restaurants with waiter service, but that is just me.

The other thing, and far more egregious, was the noise level on the Tuesday we were there. Relaxing in the ruhrraum...no talking, just silent contemplation and rest...other than the digger outside going up and down under the Buddhas moving dirt and gravel. The driver had not a care in the world as he went up and down, crashing the gears and practicing his acceleration. REALLY!!!! In a refugium? Under the quietest and most calming part of the whole compound. Luckily, we left the following day but I could see it continung as we left. For me, this was just unbelievable and a huge lapse in judgement of the management. Of course, I understand that work needs to be done and that work in the winter is impossible, but in the context of daily announcements in the daily "newspaper" calling on guests to not use cellphones and to dress properly in restaurants, to do this and not do that...may be the management need a daily notice calling on them to quit the construction.

This said, we had a great stay and we will definitely come back... And hope we can have unharassed relaxation.......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I would firstly like to apologise that your peace in the Badehaus was disturbed by work going on outside. The gas company are extending our Natural gas pipeline so that our neighbours can make use of this energy efficient source as well. Whereas for in-house maintenance we carefully control the timing and location of the work to suit our guests needs, it is not possible to control external agencies working on the periphery of our grounds. You will be glad to hear that this work has now been completed and will no longer disturb the guests. Thank you for your feedback about the open-kitchen, we are continually looking to find new experiences for our guests and are always trying to improve them. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    54
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
26
234
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was the first time in Kranzbach my wife the second time. The ambiente, food, and service of the hotel is in my opinion really ****s! The best is the nice area. The Hotel gives you wellness stuff, bikes, backpacks for walking trips (we went the way to Partnach Klamm - wonderful!!!; Attention! Only the long way over Graseck is open, this means 6km from parking lot P4 to Partnach Klamm; the way close to Ferchenbach is closed due to a stone avalanche).
Why I gave at the end three stars? In Kranzbach are dogs allowed. This is in my opinion not good for hygiene to meet really big dogs in the bar of the Hotel. Furthermore we had a (very nice) room beside a couple with a big dog. During the night they bring the dog out for.... In my opinion in this hotel category the staff at reception have to ask us in advance if we like a room beside a toilet of a dog. Therefore *** in my conclusion.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the useful information about the route to Partnachklamm! It is great to hear that guest are making use of our free equipment to explore the surrounding nature. We are a dog friendly hotel; this means that a number of rooms with direct access to the meadow are permanently reserved for our guests with dogs. We provide beds and poop bags for our four legged friends and ask the guests to make use of the bags. For hygiene reasons, dogs are forbidden in the Badehaus including the surrounding lawn as well as the restaurant. If you are unhappy with your room, the reception are always happy to accommodate your wishes depending on availability. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The great things about this hotel:
+ Location. It's situated in valley with no through traffic at all. From the large windows of you room and the spa you see just forests and mountains. Not even steam from a chimney to remind you of the existence of other people nearby. You could be in a lost place in Andes or the Carpathian mountains. Absolutely quiet all day.
+ Architecture. Very elegant wood, stone and glass. Clear forms
+ Spa. Very well designed spa, nice saunas with view into mountains. (For Americans: this a German spa, so it is mixed and all nude in the saunas. With large unblocked windows to the surrounding forests. You will have to decide whether you can handle this.)
+ Very good selection of dishes in the restaurant with mostly organic ingredients.

Unfortunately the level of the hotel has somewhat deteriorated since it got a new manager:
- Maintainance ok but not great. Stains in the sauna and on some wood structures.
- Restaurant service. A bit uneven. Many young staff which are apparently still in training. You often have to wait too long and sometimes they know too little about the wine or the dishes.
- Tackiness. The elegance of the architecture and the fitting interiors is somewhat spoiled by more and more tacky, cheap additions. Plastic umbrellastands, a cheap smoker table, non fitting chairs in the rooms, etc.

It is still a great place but we strongly hope it will be better managed again.

By the way: the hotel is really for couples. They do accept children but they do not offer any children programs and children are not allowed in the spa, including the pool. Our impression is that quite a few of the guests are parents who go there for their once a year time off without their children you would probable not feel too welcome if you went as a family.

Room Tip: Garden wing west
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your open and honest opinion, without which we would not be able to continually improve our standards. I can confirm that we take the level of service very seriously in Hotel Das Kranzbach. The latest renovation phase was entirely focused on improving the experience for the guest. We hope that on your next visit you will appreciate the new presentation of the restaurant buffet as well as the improved table layout which creates more space leading to a more intimate experience. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and despite the difficult wheather it was a great experience. The spa is excellent, the food balanced and creative, the wine recommendations were all great picks.
We had a panoramic view room with view of the mountains and were very impressed at how quiet the room was. Although there were a few critical reviews lately about the restaurant service, we can not confirm that. The overall service experience (including the wellness/massage treatments) was excellent and there are few 5-star houses that couldn't compete.
Perfect destination for couples, sporty people & hikers or anyone who would just really like to get away !)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Das Kranzbach is always happy to help you celebrate a special occasion. It is a pleasure to hear that such a delightful couple were able to enjoy their time together in our house. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Been there in march 2013 with my wife. Hotel architecture, location and spa are tremendous, really loved it.

This extremely pleasing impression has however been systematically spoiled by the staff, mostly and above all in the restaurant and, to a lesser extend, in the bar. One single waiter showed the behaviour you can expect in such a luxurious (and pricey) hotel, being discrete, attentive, helpfull etc., while his colleagues clearly lacked in discipline, presence, professionalism etc. : a table is allocated to you, but then nobody shows up to ask you for a drink or explain the menu, empty plates are not being taken away during 10-15 minutes, when enquiring about the wine suggestions you are being told that there is a white and a red wine (well, thank you, but which ones, origin, tasting notes etc - hello?)...

This happened during our entire stay, both at breakfast and dinner, so no excuse that we had one single unlucky experience...

Hence a rather disappointing stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are sorry that your stay has been effected by the level of service. We pride ourselves on our high standard of service and as such we continually train our staff both in and out of house to continually improve the level of service delivered. I will pass your comments onto the restaurant manager and we will look at solving these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the hotel and facilities, with one exception there are not enough lounge chairs in the spa area. The restaurant service is a disaster, unfriendly staff, arrogant management, lines to be seated, a take it or leave it mentality. We had to ask that the waitress bring our wine bottle to the table as she could not keep the glasses full as she was not there. Reason=she was on the toilet, which I really did not need to know. When I insisted that she bring the wine bottle, she slammed it down on the table, just another example of the arrogance. You know the old saying, the fish stinks from the head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are sorry that you were unable to find a lounger in the Spa. When RELAX guide rated us with 4 Lilies, they specifically commented that we have proportionally to beds more loungers than any other Wellness hotel in Germany.
We are very sorry that the service did not run smoothly for you. We continue to train our staff both internally and externally to ensure that the guests receive the best possible service.
We look forward to seeing you again in Das Kranzbach, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For a weekend of relax we choose "DasKranzbach". We knew the "castle" that was built upon request of Mary Portman a British aristocrat, from early days of our childhood. The place is still magic: without any nuisance aroud, it is on a private street in a valley that only leeds to another Spa hotel. You really can enjoy nature. A very large and well equipped Spa with several saunas overlooking the Karwendel and other mountains! We adored the interior design of the portman house, the old part. There is a new extension to the castle with a more scandinavian style. Food was very good. The one little negative point is the eating room itself: far too noisy and too busy for a hotel that sells tranquility, relaxation and silence.

Room Tip: We did prefer the room in the Mary portman house but the new part seems even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n_stroehle, Marketing-Mitarbeiterin at Hotel das Kranzbach, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
An opportunity to relive childhood memories is always a special opportunity, especially when it brings you back to our magical mountain valley! The advantage and disadvantage of Kranzbach is that there is so much space to relax during the day that the hotel feels very calm, therefore when people come together to eat the presence of others is exaggerated. We look forward to seeing you soon, best wishes from the whole Kranzbach team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel das Kranzbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel das Kranzbach

Address: Kranzbach 1, 82493 Krun, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Krun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Krun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel das Kranzbach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 130,000m² of environmentally protected mountain meadow - in a "hidden" valley at an altitude of 1,030m. The "Mary Portman House" was designed in 1913 by English architects in the Arts & Crafts style. The "Garden Wing" was added in 2007, all rooms are South facing and include a balcony/ terrace. The light and spacious Spa and Sauna area has spectacular views of the meadow, forest and mountains. 25 treatment rooms provide massages, cosmetic treatments and bath therapies. All staff are highly trained and certified therapists/ beauticians. A large, wind protected, outdoor relaxation area with recliners and blankets. Fresh spring water from Das Kranzbach’s own mountain spring. The valley provides endless tranquility and natural beauty. An unforgettable holiday experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Escapio, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel das Kranzbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Das Kranzbach Germany/Krun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel das Kranzbach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.