We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding Gasthof in the lovely village of Schiltach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle

Save Saved
You added Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Schenkenzeller Strasse 42, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Schiltach
Reigate
1 review
“An outstanding Gasthof in the lovely village of Schiltach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having been visiting this Gasthof for more than 10 years the standard has always been excellent. The food and the accommodation are to the highest standard possible and the personal attention given by Frau Wolber makes one feel most welcome. Herr Wolber looks after the cooking and deserves a Michelin star!
Schiltach itself is well worthwhile spending time exploring.For those who are Bikers they will have sometihng in common with Herr Wolber who is also a Biker and usually has room in his large garage for several Bikes. There is no difficulty in finding great Biking roads in the Black forest but there ready made routes suggested in the Information pack in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
75
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B during a recent trip through the Black Forest. The people who own the B&B are the most amazing friendly people we came across during a 6 week trip through Europe. The night we arrived we were tired from travelling and so decided to have dinner at the restaurant downstairs in the B&B. We're so glad that we did! The food was the best we tasted anywhere in Germany. Although we were quite full after our main meals we couldn't pass up the opportunity to have dessert. We were not disappointed! We would highly recommend this B&B and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First, we did not stay at this Gasthaus. We had made reservations at another place in Schiltach, but wanted to try a different place to eat. It was SO worth it--the best food we had in our week in the Black Forest. The service was impeccable and the woman who owns the Gasthaus speaks excellent English, so she helped translate the lengthy menu.

She made us feel so welcome that we wished we had opted to stay with them initially!

The salad bar is included in most meals, a very nice change from most places to eat.

The decor is very interesting, lots of antiques and the interior is spotless.

My Dunklebierbraten was superb!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved this place. A traditional inn, family run for about 400 years and buried in the Black Forest.
The owner-chef and his wife were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were all very clean, quiet and everything worked.
The food was all produced in house, really good Black Forest fayre with plenty of choice, excellent specialties and home made goodies like pickles etc. Breakfast was terrific – typically Black Forest – you don’t leave hungry!
The owner is also a biker (when he gets the chance), so a great stop off if you are on two wheels as well.
The inn is located near the Grohe HQ in Schiltach and the museum is really worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are visiting the Black Forest, and want to be in a fascinating and unique place, this is a highly recommended option!
The hotel has a very warm atmosphere and a wonderful woman manager who is really kind and helpful.
The place is very well kept, and the rooms are great (possibly a bit on the small side, but are very comfortable).
Breakfast was great, and dinners were just excellent with very tasty local dishes prepared by the hotel owner. The dining room is decorated in a very Black Foresty style, and on the walls are pictures of the hotel manager's ancestors, who have been running the hotel since the 16th century!
The hotel is located in Schiltach which is smack in the center of the beautiful Black Forest, you can easily get from here to many great locations, such as Triberg, Gengenbach, the Black Forest Museum in Gengenbach, and even further locations such as Baden Baden.
The prices are great as well.
In short, this place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We loved our two night stay here. The woman owner was very friendly. We had a room upstairs that was spacious, clean, and had a great view into the town. It was a treat to have a plate of fresh fruit in our room. Breakfast in the very German atmosphere dining room was very good. We had one dinner at the hotel. We aren't big meat eaters, so it was difficult to find something to eat, but we did, and it was good but a little rich for our tastes. The hotel was well located, being in the middle of town and an easy walk from the train station (be sure you get off at the second Schiltach stop because it is much closer). Be sure to visit the Grohe factory, as it is quite interesting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent Hotel... well located in a beautiful city and the hotel service is exceptional ... rooms with a beautiful decoration.. breakfast room varied and included in the room and the hotel restaurant serves excellent typical food....I recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle

Address: Schenkenzeller Strasse 42, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.