We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zur Alten Brucke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Zur Alten Brucke to your Saves list
Zur Alten Brucke
Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Schiltach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Michael was SOOO helpful and kind. He gave my family and I great reccomendations of what to do. He gave us a rail pass, and drove us to the station (as we had gotten lost and while he was out running an errand graciously put aside his needs and helped us.) I cannot reccomend this enough! He was so kind and went above and beyond in service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    32
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
141
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It hardly seems worthwhile adding yet another commendatory review to the existing long list of them but Michael's help to download photos first through his lap-top (unsuccessful), then through the restaurant Pc (successful) deserves a mention as another indication of just how helpful he is.
Also a great help is that he speaks English well, and his American wife even better, but she was away. Yes, we've had a meal there before-it's good enough to warrant more than one visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varaignes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Michael made this hotel one to remember. What a lovely guy. Did not realise the hotel was a pub and restaurant when I booked it. The day we arrived it was raining so we stayed in the pub and had the best soup I've ever tasted. We drank white beer which was gorgeous and then had a superb steak and chips for our evening meal. Great food in a nice atmosphere. And the breakfast was really something. Loved it, thanks Michael.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, this one comes with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived at Zur Alten Brucke we felt very welcome, and continued to enjoy great hospitality and excellent food throughout our stay.
Michael, the owner and chef, welcomed us warmly and worked tirelessly to ensure all the guests had everything they needed.
The location is ideal with picturesque views across the river, and there is a beer garden by the water where you can have a drink and something to eat in a delightful setting.
The evening menu is varied and features many local dishes. The breakfast consists of a large buffet selection with many fresh fruits, meats and cheeses and the additional option of a cooked breakfast which was excellent.

Room Tip: The room we had was over the kitchen so a little noisy at times. The river-view rooms cost more but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a week in the wonderful Black Forest and this hotel was by far the most welcoming and memorable. Michael, the host, is so friendly and helpful. Everything was perfect. I will always remember my stay here. Absolutely no complaints at all. Fantastic!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony. Michael has candles on the table and it was lovely to unwind and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have just returned from a weeks tour and walking holiday in Germany and Austria. Stayed at this lovely comfortable hotel in an idyllic location for two nights. Michael the owner is also the very hardworking chef who produces outstanding meals to guests and visitors throughout the day. Breakfast is second to none and Michael's commitment to customer satisfaction is exemplified in all that he achieves. A fine example of the highest levels of customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We didn't stay here - we ate dinner here. We had walked around the small town of Schiltach, looking for a place to have dinner and came upon this charming restaurant right on the river. We had a lovely meal - I had the trout salad and can recommend it highly. They have a varied menu, the service was excellent and it was terrific to sit outside (across the road from the restaurant) by the river. We recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alten Brucke

Address: Schramberger Str. 13, 77761 Schiltach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schiltach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Schiltach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small intimate hotel on the bank of the Schiltach River. Incredible restaurant with full bar and menu. The outdoor beer garden on the river is described by all who visit as "Boardwalk in Schiltach." Panoramic views from every direction sitting on the waters edge. If you want to stay where everyone will know your name, come to the Brucke. You will love our town and our little Black Forest Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zur Alten Brucke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.