We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Avignon Area B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin Vieux

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Moulin Vieux
346 Allee du Moulin Vieux, 84320 Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Klamath Falls, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Avignon Area B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our three day stay at Le Moulin Vieux was exquisite! Sylvianne and Claude were remarkable hosts who made us feel immediately at home. We arrived on poling day for the President of France getting a first hand glimpse of the French voting system. The location is quietly away from the mainstream, yet with good access Avignon, Arles, and Nimes as well as the Med. Our accommodations were perfect.

Room Tip: Just show up for all the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments .It was a great pleasure to welcome you here and to take you to the" bureau de vote"!and in return we have learned how you do it in the US.
This type of exchange is what makes running a guest house a wonderfull human experience
now each time we will go to vote we will remember you!
We wish you both a wonderfull christmas and a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
93
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Moulin Vieux in mid October. The room was beautiful and the house is everything you want in a B&B. The decorating is just lovely! Claude and Sylvaine treat their guests like family and are very accommodating. We needed help with excursions and they helped us find the best possible day trips. They know the areas very well.
We were lucky enough to have dinner with our hosts one night and I can't express enough what great people they are. We will definitely go back!
Karen & Tony

Room Tip: We loved the Chrome room, large, great bed and spectacular shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the old mill .It was a great pleasure to share
our diner .We are very pleased and proud to know that you had a great time under our roof .
We really do hope to see you again . All the best and keep well
best regards
Claude and Sylviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My family spent 5 days at Le Moulin Vieux in mid September. We have been to many B&Bs over the years and this is by far the best we have enjoyed. The owners Claude and Sylvaine were very accommodating and welcoming to us. They both speak English which helped greatly when making our reservations and when communicating by email and by phone. Avignon was the last portion of our multi-week stay in France, and we were late arriving on our first night due to a long all-day drive (we arrived at ~9:30pm). This was not a problem; they greeted us warmly and even poured us glasses of wine and invited us to relax and share time talking and unwinding together before going to our rooms for the night. It was a great way to start our time in the Avignon area. The building itself has a lot of charm and character. It is an interesting and well done blend of old and new. Many times the photos posted by Inns are not matched by the actual accommodations. In the case of Le Moulin Vieux, the photos on their web site are exactly like what you will experience in person. We stayed in the loft potion of the building, and the rooms were very new, modern, and clean. The artwork and decorations throughout the Inn are also very interesting, with many items on display from their own travels. There was plenty of parking (some covered and some in the open), but the entire property was behind a locked entry gate and walls (which is nice for privacy and security). The Inn is located in a hidden away location, which might be a little difficult to find unaided. We had a portable GPS with us, and it took us right to the front gate with no problems. I was not sure about trusting it at first because it was night when we arrived, and the entry road looked to be taking us down a long dark route alley, but I kept driving…and there it was at the very end of the little lane. The best part of the stay, however, was the hospitality of our hosts. Each morning they greeted us warmly and filled the breakfast table with a large variety, and seemingly unending, supply of fresh crepes, cheese, juice, croissants, yogurt, and cereal. Claude and Sylvaine also accommodated the special dietary needs of my senior aged parents (who require soy milk instead of dairy milk). A coffee/tea/espresso machine was also actively used each morning by the guests if a caffeine boost was needed. Not only was the quantity of food unanticipated, but the quality was excellent. Sylvaine prepared the food wonderfully. It is worth mentioning that Claude and Sylvaine make an effort to be prepared for guests seeking to explore the sights of the local areas within Provence. They have an entire table filled with travel maps and brochures in a variety of languages; and they also go out of their way to offer suggestions and help to plan driving routes if you share your interests with them. One the of most amazing things to me was something that occurred during our last night with them. We had arrived back tired from a full day of touring and were seeking a nearby place to eat before ending the evening. They recommended several places and called to check if they were open and if they could accommodate us. Claude then offered to lead the way in his own vehicle to a very nice place that was about a 10 minute drive away. Once there he went in with us to make sure everything would be satisfactory. We were not planning anything more than a regular meal, but the quality of the food was outstanding and the price reasonable. It made for a wonderful end to our time in France. We were very grateful to both Claude and Sylvaine for the extra effort they showed us to ensure we had a nice meal that evening. A note for anyone making day trips for sightseeing. There is a little bakery at the start of the little lane leading to the B&B which sells pastries and sandwiches. The quality was very good and it provided a nice way to buy a meal to have a picnic lunch while touring. There also a fuel station located conveniently close by to fill-up. The D907 and A7 highways are also easy to access from the B&B. Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: The loft room have stairs to reach either the bathroom or bedroom. The two rooms are loacted next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are so thrilled we chose to stay at Le Moulin Vieux. It was just so good. We spent 5 nights there and could have stayed longer. Sylviane and Claude are great hosts - extremely helpful - plus Claude creates a lot of fun and laughter, making you feel so "at home". We were made to feel very welcome and we observed that each guest staying at Le Moulin Vieux (including ourselves) was made to feel "special". The home is delightful, having once been an old mill. Our room was lovely and our bathroom quite gorgeous. Breakfast each morning was fabulous. Every day the table was spread with delectable foods and then, half-way through these delicious goodies, Sylviane would bring out the most fantastic crepes!
The B&B is well situated for visiting very many of the interesting, pretty and historic places in Provence. The hosts are very knowledgable about where things are that you may wish to see - but also have suggestions if you don't know what to begin to visit in the area.

Room Tip: We chose our room from the internet pictures. By e-mail, Claude confirmed our choice was appropria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Moulin Vieux at the end of September and have fond memories of this wonderful B&B and especially Claude and Sylviane who make their guests feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean. The property is a renovated Old Mill with great outdoor area with kitchen facilities, fridge for guests and pool - not that it was warm enough for us to make use of it.

As others before have said the breakfast is a treat in the morning and a chance to meet the other guests and plan the day. Sylviane is extremely helpful when it comes to suggestions for what to see, how to get there and even rings up to make reservations for restaurants. My husband had tooth ache and needed to go to a dentist so Claude got him an appointment at his own dentist. We followed Claude in the car to a town 20 minutes away and he was able to help with the language barrier as well as making it easier to get the prescription for antibiotics.

There was a lot of jokes and banter with Claude and we enjoyed his sense of humour. We look forward to him improving his rugby skills so he can visit NZ one day! Both Claude and Sylviane are perfect for the job and we highly recommend this B&B when you are staying in this area. There is a lot to see in the area and Avignon is only 10-15 minutes away by car. Thank you for an enjoyable stay in your lovely home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We come together once or so a year either in Europe or North America and this October 1st we landed at the Moulin Vieux for a 10 day sejour. And what a sejour it turned out to be. From the first welcome we were like part of the family - not necessarily of our hosts', Sylvaine's and Claude's, but them of ours. And Le Moulin Vieux, a magnificent inn on the site of the oldest mill of the Entraiges, had a charm that took us right into a "provençal" spirit.

Can you imagine ever that your hosts would take trip to the town to find a way to unlock a suit case that I had not coded correctly, or Sylviane preparing a farewell Ratatouille "a la provençal" for us that we enjoyed outside in the beautiful surroundings of Moulin Vieux. Or how good were their suggestions as to places to see, where to eat, reservations they made and this list goes on and on. And I noticed that while they had all the time for us no other guest of theirs seemed to be left out - incredible!!

Sylviane and Claude are the kind of hosts that are THE reason to return to their care and their Provence.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claude M, Propriétaire at Le Moulin Vieux, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We would like to thank you very much for your stay and your kind comments .
You where great guests and you will remain in our hearts!
Now that you have the recipe for the ratatouille you know it's all down to practice!..
We hope to see you again for more gourmets experiences in Provence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently spent two magical days at the Moulin Vieux and can’t say enough good things about it. The location, even though in the unassuming town of Sorgue, is close to so much great things to explore. It was a quick drive to Chateauneuf de Pape and the surrounding wineries, Gigondas and Vacqueyras, Les Baux, the Dentelles and so much more. You will never be bored staying in the region.
The house is fantastic. Very stately and solid looking on the outside, it is bright and homely on the inside, with a great mix of elegance and comfort. The spacious living / dining room made us feel truly at home and made for great breakfasts where you can chat with the hosts and other guests before embarking on the day's explorations (it was great getting additional ideas for places to visit while splurging on Sylviane's amazing crepes).
We stayed at the Provence room, which from the pictures looked like one of the smaller rooms, but in reality was large and very comfortable. The big bed, the TV, the oversized shower and the sheer elegance of the room, made our stay better than any of the 4 and 5 start hotels we had stayed in the few days before coming to the Moulin Vieux (not to mention that it was at a fraction of the price as well).
But probably the best of the whole experience were the lovely hosts Claude and Sylviane. Not only did they accommodate our very late arrival with a big smile, but they constantly provided us with ideas of where to go and where to eat and told us a lot about the region. Again, I can’t say enough about Sylvianne's crepes in the morning and Claude's welcoming sense of humor. It was truly a sad moment when we had to depart.
All in all, I will go back to Provence just to stay in the Moulin Vieux again and would more then recommend it to anyone looking to visit the area.
Just a side comment, even though it was rather cold when we were there and we could not take advantage of the pool, the outside area looked just as gorgeous as the inside of the house and during a warmer time would undoubtedly be a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Moulin Vieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin Vieux

Also Known As:
Le Moulin Vieux Entraigues-Sur-La-Sorgue, France - Provence
Address: 346 Allee du Moulin Vieux, 84320 Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Entraigues-sur-la-Sorgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Provence, between Avignon et Carpentras, beside the river Sorgue and on the edge of the village lies the old Mill. This property is full of character and charme and as been tastfullydecorated troughout.The stone construction of this old country house will delight you.The pathways which run next to the old mill and alongside the river are perfect for walking, jogging or even cycling.Suitable for singles, couples, families or even travelling with friends, your host, Sylviane and Claude will offer you a warm welcome troughout the year. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin Vieux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Moulin Vieux to your Saves list