We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, centrally located accommodation with friendly staff but old fashioned cleaning policy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise

Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise to your Saves list
Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station de la Norma, 73500 Villarodin-Bourget, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice, centrally located accommodation with friendly staff but old fashioned cleaning policy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Together with my wife and two children (7 and 5) I stayed in a two room apartment in the Chalets et Balcons de la Vanoise in La Norma during the last week of 2014. For French skiing resort standards the apartment was quite spatious, with a separate toilet and bathroom (including a small bath), one separate bedroom (sleeps 2) and a sleeper sofa (sleeps 2). It fit our family of four comfortably, and very positive was that the sleeper sofa was in fact quite comfortable, which is rare in my experience.

The location of the apartments was very central to the resorts, close to shops, restaurants, the ski school and the lifts, which was very convenient. However, La Norma is a very compact resort so this will be true for most apartments.

Important point to improve is the old fashioned system that the apartment complex uses where you have to clean the apartment yourself just prior to departure and have to have it checked and approved by the staff lest you void your deposit. In my opinion this is a system of 50 years ago and I would much rather have the option to pay a reasonable fee to have the apartment cleaned for me. Another point to improve is that the apartment had no secure ski lockers. The lockers they did offer did not look very sturdy and had notes on them where the organization indicated that there are frequent thefts of skis, that they are not in any way liable if your skis are stolen, and that they recommend keeping your skis elsewhere (e.g. in your apartment). This is very inconvenient, especially when you are travelling with kids like we did, which means in addition to your own equipment you will have to carry theirs to and from the apartment every day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Le Chesnay, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

First stay at la Norma

Everything is Very good, the flat, the ski Resort, the life after 5pm.

A lot of shops not very expensive. Nice coffee shop and pub!

We fully recommend this resort very adapted for family.

No car, everything by foot
To eat on the slopes: Le grizzli.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Les Balcons de la Vanoise for one week. We were staying with a party of four (2 adults, 2 children). The property is reasonably comfortable if you rent a six person apartment. Make sure your appartment is facing the mountainside; the view at the skislopes is fantastic! Overall I would recommend this accommodation to anyone who enjoys skiing, and doesn't really care about great luxury during winter holidays. Résidence Les Chalets en Les Balcons de la Vanoise offers good value for just little money!

Room Tip: Make sure you rent an apartment facing the skislopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Le Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise in La Norma for the third year in a row during Christmas Break. We twice booked an 8 people apartment, but the last time we had two 6 people apartments in another building. The accommodation for 6 people apartments were slighty better and more comfort. However, we come to La Norma to ski, do not cook and mainly use it to sleep at night.

La Norma is a great destination and has lots to offer for young families. It is a car free village, free parking gargage, you can put your skis on at apartment and walk to gondola and ski lifts. There is a good variety of different slopes. However, when everyone in group gets more advanced, then it is time to move to another resort. However, it is perfect with small children. The ski school offer morning or afternoon lessons. La Norma is a small village but enough to offer, several restaurants, two bakeries, supermarkets, ski rental and some other shops. We have no problem in recommending it and will return!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise

Address: Station de la Norma, 73500 Villarodin-Bourget, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Villarodin-Bourget
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Villarodin-Bourget
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacanceole - Residence Les Chalets et Balcons De La Vanoise is located in La Norma. It features a private terrace with views of the Vanoise Massif and Wi-Fi at a surcharge. Each apartment offers chalet-style accommodation and they are all served by a lift. They also have a seating area and a balcony with views of the mountains. Bed linen and towels are supplied. The fully equipped kitchenettes feature a dining area. They all come with tea and coffee making facilities, microwave, refrigerator and kitchenware. Vacanceole - Residence Les Chalets et Balcons De La Vanoise is 5 km from Modane and its train station and 17 km from the Italian border. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.