We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Chateau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques to your Saves list
Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lieu dit Roques, 33570 Puisseguin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puisseguin
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable Chateau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a beautiful chateau that maintains a bit of rustic charm. You are surrounded by the vines of the wines you’re drinking whether by the pool or in the restaurant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There’s not a lot else nearby, but that’s the point.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellerieRoques, Manager at Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello,
Thanks for your comment.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip in our hotel.
Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    21
    15
    0
See reviews for
19
55
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in the very spacious family suite. This has an ensuite double bedroom with a twin upstairs. The hotel is not overly fancy on the decor but it is clean and comfortable, and the buildings are beautiful and old. As others have said, no stand up showers, which was the only downside - our bathroom was massive there would have been space for a whole cubicle (or two!).

We all enjoyed dinner in the restaurant - several set price menus to choose from as well as a la carte and a children's menu. The food was really good, not a dud course between four of us.

There is a buffet breakfast with a wide spread of choices and plenty of kooky machines to operate (simple pleasures but the kids enjoyed making their own hot chocolate from the conference -style vacuum flask filled with hot milk).

The staff were nice enough and when asked, were very helpful and pleasant.

Overall, a perfect spot for an overnight stay and we are still talking about the fabulous dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hostellerie could be so much more . Lovely stone walls, beams, lovely limestone
tile floors. Dated interiors . Get rid of the curtains. Bath tubs have hand held shower
This could be transitioned very easily into showers over tubs.
Only 2 showers in all of the hotel. If you have ambulatory problems be sure to ask for these.
Enjoyed the set dinner menu. Better values than the ones in St. Emillion. The estate wine was
good. The staff was more than helpful in accommodating our needs. Rooms and public areas were clean and tidy Beds were comfortable despite the flat look of the mattresses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stekene, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had imagined more from staying in a 'chateau'. Although the reservation went very smoothly (by phone) and we got a large room... it wasn't quite what we had expected. The room wasn't furnished as nice as it could have, the bathroom was tidy, but dated (we could only shower standing in the bath and had to hold the shower head), the wallpaper, perhaps suitable for an old 'chateau' could not impress us at all. When we stay in a special place, we expect a special room. We didn't think that the balance price/quality was ok. It is very nice that the hostellerie offers a nice, quiet pool, but the steps you have to descend to get there, are quite old and stones are sometimes wobbly. Dangerous for kids and not recommended for older people. The personnel is friendly and welcoming. We arrived in the afternoon and wanted to have a drink. We had to sit in the empty restaurant, alone and without service. The quality of the coffee (Senseo pad?) was not waauw.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U K
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at beginning of September , rooms were clean we had to change from 3rd floor to 2nd next day view from 3rd floor makes up for the size of room , evening meal was very good but same menu 2nd night hence 4 ratings .
Staff friendly and helpful rooms were pleasant breakfast was fine .
No problems finding hotel as its well sign posted

All in all pleasant 2 night stay in beautiful surroundings

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Hostellerie du Roques for 3 nights on our visit to the Bordeaux wine region. The employee at the reception desk that did our check-in was friendly and helpful and our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was a little bit disappointing. We could only stand in the bathtub while showering. There was no wall-mount for the shower head, so we ended up just holding it while showering. Without any form of shower screen it became a water ballet everytime one of us used the shower. I find that a bit of a pity for a €100/night hotelroom.

The room was very warm during the nights. The walls are thick, but not enough to keep the heat out during summer. A stand fan was provided, but some form of airconditioning would have been nice.

The restaurant, however, was just terrible. While the food we ordered was "ok" although a tad overpriced for what we got. Evening staff was not. They answered our "Parlez-vous anglais?" with a simple "Non". And that was the end of it. Coming from the Netherlands, where restaurant and hotel staff will very often be able to speak 4 languages, I was amazed at the unwillingness of restaurant staff to help us. I really don't expect a long conversation or perfect English sentences, but in my opinion a simple "yes/no/please" and a basic understanding of the menu and different dishes isn't too much too ask. Restaurant staff looked and acted unfriendly and uninterested to both foreign and French guests. If I were restaurant manager there, they would be looking for another job real soon.

We ate in St. Emilion the rest of the nights, which was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were told that they did not need air conditioning as the walls were so thick. Nonsense, our first night was terrible. Fortunately a very helpful receptionist found an alternative room for the rest of our stay which was better but still very hot.
We had dinner on the first night which was awful and expensive. Breakfast was ordinary and hardly the type to set you up for the day.
The bath was never cleaned properly and there were cobwebs everywhere. In all the hotel was very pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques

Address: Lieu dit Roques, 33570 Puisseguin, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Puisseguin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puisseguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Hostellerie Du Chateau De Roques Hotel Puisseguin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis Hostellerie du Chateau de Roques, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.