We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers to your Saves list
Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers
146 route de Lornard, 74410 Saint-Jorioz, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Jorioz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We returned to the Lake Annecy area after loving our caravan holiday last year. We wanted more space and found this hotel the most suitable for families due to the the apartments they have available. Our apartment was clean and modern with lovely views. The outside pool and play area were really loved by the kids (age 8 and 6). The only downside for us was that the main restaurant had no outside area and we felt conscious that our kids (5 between the 2 families) were disturbing the other diners (all over 60 on the night we ate there). The other restaurant was only open at the weekend but was much more suitable for those with young families. The food was lovely but the kids' menu was poor quality chicken nuggets and chips or burger. This didn't change over the week of our stay. There was no other restaurants within walking distance so this meant we had to rely on the car. We didn't do half board option due to this so had to drive into village for bread for breakfast etc as no shop within walking distance either. We had a great week's holiday however and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stopped here for 1 night following a family holiday in the Alps in June. We wanted have a day in Annecy and this hotel with its apartments gave us good value for money with a family of 5 (we usually have to pay for 2 hotel rooms).
Our apartment was obviously a refurbished one and had everything we could have asked for, each bedroom had an en-suite. There was a separate toilet and a small kitchen area. We even had a distant view of the Lake from our balcony which was lovely. The safe needed new batteries and someone was there within 10 minutes to replace them.
Unfortunately it rained the day we arrived so we couldn't us the outdoor pool and went in the indoor one. It was a lovely pool but not really great with 3 noisy children. We didn't stop in long as we were putting off other guests, plus it was very deep so even though our eldest can swim she did panic a bit at the deep water underneath her as she isn't very confident yet.
The park gave us great amusement, it only consists of 2 swings, a slide and a 'seesaw' but the 2 elder children (6 and 3) loved this as it bounced and went round in circles.
We ate in the restaurant at night and the food was started at 7.30pm, which was maybe a little late for our children but the waiter did let us choose before we went in so the food could be ready, it was all lovely and there was a good choice for the children.
The staff were all friendly and I would recommend this hotel, if we go to Annecy again we will stop there.

Room Tip: I assume from the other rooms that there are older and newer apartments. Request a newer apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We went there two times with a group of cyclist and later with the family , because the location is ideal for biking and hiking and its quiet. You have 2 pools ,sauna,whirlpools and gym that you can use for free iff you stay in half-board. Very friendly staff, and good food.
The new rooms are very clean and airconditoined ,youeven have some with a kitchinette

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Les Chataigniers offers everything you need for a perfect holiday: swimming pools (one inside), tennis & squash courts, a gym, even ponies for kids. The location is fantastic, a view to the lake, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. We have stayed twice in the new apartments (and three times in elder ones) which have air-conditioning, a small kitchen, great bath and a balcony. The hotel is really charming and hosts the dining room. We have been really satisfied with the half board and found the service impeccable. The lovely city of Annecy is only 9 km away. The village of St Jorioz has also a very good beach where you can hire boats. The managers have always been very friendly and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This is a "family-hotel" catering for all age ranges.
I had a splendid air-conditioned 'apartment' consisting of bedroom , sitting room (with kitchenette), shower room/WC. Underground parking meant the car was not hot from the day's sun. I was on half-board, which included a buffet breakfast and dinner. Lunch was available from the Grill Restaurant near the swimming pool and fitness centre, where the pertions were ample. Room service changes the towels only on Wednesday, although a more full service can be arranged.
Nice views over towards the Lake of Annecy.
Dinner was soup, entrée, main course, cheese board, dessert. The portions are not massive, but I was never able to eat everything provided.
Service was polite, helpful, and cheerful.
I have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I do not recognise the rooms described in the advertising I see for this hotel. We booked this hotel direct from England on a half-board basis. On arrival we were shown our room. It was clean but in serious need of renovation. The toilet cubicle was in the kitchen and difficult to use without the door being open (we are not large people). The bathroom had a washbasin and shower and was also very small. We asked to be shown an alternative room but these proved to be even smaller and shabbier. (One in the new block did not even have a window and we were told we could keep our door open for fresh air!!). No air conditioning or safe in room. The room below ours was obviously inhabited by staff and looked very messy from outside. The food on the first night was cold and subsequent nights did not really improve in quality - the couscous night was terrible (we both normally enjoy couscous). Lots of choice at the buffet breakfast but why do people handle the bread (even the manager shook hands with his guests in the morning and then went over and tidied the bread basket!). The outside swimming pool was a very nice area but the indoor pool was still being finished. Why do guests have to take their dogs on holiday - I love dogs but don't want to share my holiday with them. We found the staff extremely polite and helpful and although St Jorioz is a lovely spot on Lake Annecy we shall not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers

Address: 146 route de Lornard, 74410 Saint-Jorioz, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Jorioz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Jorioz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In group, family, by 2 or for business, between lake and mountain, in a park of 3 hectares the Hotel residence spa « les Chataîgniers » will welcome you like anywhere else: Kindergarten, Poney, 3 Swimming pool (1 inside) of which one for kids, Fitness, Sauna, Hammam, 2 Restaurants of which one Grill next to the swimming pool, 2 bars. Guests are welcome in family tradition for three generations, situated in a hamlet of the last century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence hoteliere spa Les Chataigniers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.