We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Bay Hotel & Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck Bay Hotel & Marina
Save
You added Duck Bay Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Duck Bay | Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Langbank, Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent two nights here while attending a wedding nearby. This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting right on the edge of Loch Lomond. The property was very welcoming and well maintained with luxuriant flower baskets and tubs adding a very bright touch. The rooms were well furnished and the beds comfortable. We thought the rooms were on the small side but as we didn't spend much time in them that was not a problem. The staff were pleasant and very helpful and the on site public restaurant served excellent food from a varied menu. The restaurant was very busy and popular, a clear sign of somewhere good to eat. I believe it would be advisable to book but the service was prompt and attentive.
My only complaint was noise. We had rooms at the front facing the park and above the main entrance to the hotel. We were kept awake until about 1.15am by wedding guests celebrating within the hotel and then hanging around waiting on taxis to go home. I could hear clearly the conversation of guests on either side of me and in the morning was awoken early and for an extended period by a huge delivery truck delivering to the hotel. Despite this I would readily return to the hotel but would seek a room on the loch side of the building. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and would recommend this hotel. On a sunny day there is no nicer place to be. And if you are interested in touring the area, there is easy and pleasant access to many of Scotland's best attractions.

Room Tip: Choose a loch facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Skyebo,

Thank you for your review and very kind comments. We are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciate your constructive comments regarding the front facing rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    79
    51
    41
    56
See reviews for
77
160
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took 6 rooms here for use after a wedding at a nearby hotel. Paying £129 per room, we had much higher expectations than was the reality. The hotel has a pleasant, if unspectacular, entrance but for anyone allocated rooms upstairs they will soon find themselves in the narrowest of corridors leading to the smallest of rooms. One of our rooms was downstairs and clearly equipped with disabled facilities. It was better but all the others were crammed full once two people were inside. We had the benefit of loch view rooms but the scene needed to be admired across a large flat ugly roof.

Guests are warned not to leave the patio door/windows open at night for fear of attracting the fierce warriors of Scotland - the midges that can inflict major damage and irritation should they gain entry to your room. The hotel leaves lights on in the balconies all night so leaving an open aperture is definitely not an option. There being no air conditioning on a hot night, the choice is between being bitten or being stiflingly hot - not a happy situation and certainly not conducive to a good night's sleep which of course is the point of being there.

Beware that in the shower water pressure is poor. All of our party had the same problem.
A good quality breakfast was offered in a beautiful dining room opening out on to a veranda with a great view. This was the highlight of our overall disappointing visit.

The final irritation - and a very significant one - is that paying by credit card attracts a hotel imposed surcharge of 2.5%. This makes poor value for money even worse.

I would not overnight in the Duck Bay Hotel by choice on any future occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Iain M,

Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologises for any disappointment that you had during your stay. We do appreciate your constructive comments and regret that you did not enjoy the high standard of hospitality that we try to offer all of our guests.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went for an evening meal on our last night holidays (make sure to book in advance as it was very busy) we were staying locally in a lodge, and what an experience we had. Wonderful location and restaurant. We were fortunate to have a table overlooking the lake. The restaurant is really welcoming along with the staff from beginning to end. Even the place was really busy the food and service was first class, very well presented and tasted great, would defiantly recommend this place a credit to management and staff. Very professional.
Keep up the good work....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Carrigman80,

Thank you for your review and very kind comments, they are greatly appreciated by all of the staff at Duck Bay. We look forward to welcoming back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent three nights at the Duck Bay Hotel, wish it was longer! We were attending a wedding at Cameron House and found this hotel to be close by. Our room was the last available when we booked and so ended up in a room with handicap access. A larger room on the ground floor with a huge balcony up to the lakes edge. Bed was comfy, big bathroom, clean throughout and airy with plenty of light. The staff were friendly and helpful, we generally felt at home. The breakfast was unbeatable along with a waiter who sounded exactly like Billy Connelly - had a good sense of humour too. We ate several times in the restaurant, good food and wine. No need to sit at the window, the view is everywhere. Can't think of any negatives, sorry ; )

Room Tip: Handicap access room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Annette G,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just a wonderful location on the edge of Loch Lomond and such a lovely lunch on a beautifully sunny day. We chose the trio of fish which included salmon, sole and bass and it was an absolutely delicious choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear clarkebarkes1945,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Crawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughty Ferry Dundee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Fantastic view and setting Shown to our table quickly order taken for drinks We had to ask what the soups were in an establishment of this standard this should be given We placed our order food came and was of very good quality and well presented We had a little hick up with our side order and a main but this was sorted out Not once were we asked if all was ok I just think a little more care and this would be great Next time in the area we will be back again and as I said at the start the view is outstanding

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear colmarw,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit. Thank you for your constructive comments, we will certainly take them on board and ensure that they are used to further improve our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Popped in for lunch and had the chicken and leek pie which was lovely, and my partner went for the steak pie which was also great got to be one of the best quality meals we ve had. Great sized portion well worth the £10.95
Lovely place staff friendly and the cocktails are amazing especially the jelly bean
Will defo return - ))

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan L, Guest Relations Manager at Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear gemzy1888_11

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found the food, service and cocktails to be of such a high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards and best wishes

Ryan Logan
Guest Relations Manager
Cawley Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Duck Bay | Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently re-furbished Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant is situated amidst the spectacular scenery that is Scotland's National Park. Located on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond, Duck Bay is the perfect location whether enjoying a family day out, business meeting, celebrating a special occasion or taking a relaxing break. Located 2 miles north of Balloch just off the A82 and open 364 days of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duck Bay Hotel And Marina
Duck Bay Hotel & Marina Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom
Duck Bay West Dunbartonshire
Duck Bay Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.