We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to duck out of the rain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Bay Hotel & Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duck Bay Hotel & Marina
Duck Bay | Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Warsash
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good to duck out of the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

They don't take bookings for Sunday lunch so we joust turned up and took our chances. They do a Sunday carvery and carvery lunches all week for about £10.95. It was raining heavily when we arrived but we were soon seated without problem at a busy time of the day. The view is great and it must be wonderful in the summer. They have menus to suite everyone and reasonable prices however I thought £7.20 was the most I have ever paid for two diet cokes, even in London! We did not stay at the hotel, but it would be a good stopping place on the route to Fort William and further North.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    87
    54
    43
    59
See reviews for
92
173
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I took my wife here for a 2-night birthday treat and she was not disappointed. I splashed out a wee bit and rented the Loch Lomond Suite, a huge room with three picture windows that overlook the loch. The room was very well furnished and the bathroom had a shower (which could have been more powerful) but there were the his and her sinks to compensate.

The restaurant where we te dinner was very warm and welcoming and served a very reasonable carvery. Drinks were on the expensive side, but that's not unusual for a hotel. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park.

All in all a fab few days. We will return.

Room Tip: If you can afford the wee but extra go for the Loch Lomond Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great stay at the Duck Bay this w/e whilst celebrating a 50th party at Cameron House. Would like to say a big thank you to Aileen (think that was the right name) on reception who was definitely the star member of staff

Room Tip: One with a view and ask for a large room as though we had a balcony the room was snug
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a large wedding group. The hotel is conveniently located in a nice area by the lake. However, the room we got was tiny and didn't think it matched the price tag. I think they should have charged less for that room. Some of my friends asked for the same type of room (double room) and got a much larger place. I don't remember the room number but it was on the second floor.

You should also know that they are not very customer-oriented. We were arriving early (at around 10:00 a.m.) and asked if we could pay for half a board to be able to check-in early, but said no that we had to pay for a full night. So, we did. However, when we were getting ready to check out, the staff kept calling us to clear the room (note that we only checked out half an hour late). They even manipulated one of our friends who was waiting for us at the lobby into calling us to tell us she was waiting (they had called our room, my friend asked if it was us, the front desk staff then "decided" to put my friend on the phone making us believe she had asked for us. I guess so we'd hurry up.) My friend did not appreciate this and neither we did. It got to the point were I had to remind them of the full board they had charged us for the first night, and that us checking out half an hour later was more than fair.

The shower was also an issue as it was something you had to "hook" on the wall and became problematic, often spraying everywhere. And the bathroom was very small.

The breakfast was good and plentiful. The lady serving the breakfast area was very nice.

If you can afford it, I suggest you stay at Cameron House. We didn't stay there because we were with a wedding group, but otherwise I wouldn't even have hesitated. The Cameron House is beautiful; it's what you think of Scotland. It's also next door to the Duck Bay.

Room Tip: If you book a double room, ask if it's one of the small ones. If so, ask to be changed to a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed one night at the Duck Bay and I have to say it was Pretty Good. Not amazing, but also not terrible. Accommodation was comfortable and clean. We were in Room 5 which had a lovely seating area outside for a wee glass of wine. We stayed whilst a wedding was on and we were warned there would be noise - but it really wasn't that bad. Situation of this hotel is fantastic - with amazing views across the loch. Have to say I was a bit disappointed with breakfast - it was a bit basic and there was nothing particularly special about it - but again, very functional and did the job. We had a lovely stay here - I would go back if I needed accommodation in Loch Lomond but if I was going for a special occasion I think I'd probably look further afield.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My partner & I recently visited with a view to booking a suite for our wedding night the suites are quite expensive (£229-£249 PER NIGHT) WE ASKED FOR A LOOK AT THE ROOM & WHERE REALLY PLEASED WITH THE SIZE & VIEW BUT THE DECOR/BEDDING AND FURNITURE ARE VERY VERY BASIC FOR THE PRICE ? i was very disapointed :(
The standard rooms have been updated recently and are nice,but small.

our wedding isnt until 2014 hopefully someone from duckbay will see this and update the furnishings or even just the bedding ?

Room Tip: choose a room with an even number as they come with good views and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Yet again the staff at the Duck Bay Marina Restaurant were Efficient, Very polite and Pleasant to talk to.
The Food was outstanding again and the restaurant/bar staff never fail to deliver a very high standard.
I will certainly be back and will recommend family and friends alike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duck Bay Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Bay Hotel & Marina

Address: Duck Bay | Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently re-furbished Duck Bay Hotel & Restaurant is situated amidst the spectacular scenery that is Scotland's National Park. Located on the Bonnie Banks of Loch Lomond, Duck Bay is the perfect location whether enjoying a family day out, business meeting, celebrating a special occasion or taking a relaxing break. Located 2 miles north of Balloch just off the A82 and open 364 days of the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duck Bay Hotel And Marina
Duck Bay Hotel & Marina Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom
Duck Bay West Dunbartonshire
Duck Bay Marina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Bay Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.