We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved, brilliant service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron House on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Much improved, brilliant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were invited back to stay by management after a disappointing honeymoon stay earlier in the year. We were upgraded to a Whiskey Suite which was a very generous gesture. Room was lovely with amazing views and a huge bed! Service was first class this time and staff couldn't have been better. The breakfast is the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. Will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    491
    316
    173
    87
See reviews for
326
1,367
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon. To be honest yes the room was lovely the setting is lovely but it would have been nice if the hotel did that little something extra to make it special for us with it being the start of our honeymoon. Having paid £280 for one night I'm sure the DeVere group can afford a complimentary glass of bubbly in the room since we chose to spend our first night as a married couple there. A friend had handed in a bottle of Champagne to the hotel to give to deliver to our room. Along with this came "complimentary" chocolates from the hotel - all four tiny squares. Im sure anyone would agree that its nice when on honeymoon to have that little something special that makes the difference.

And to add to the disappointment the hotel now has a new policy of charging £2.50 for credit card transactions....seriously the amount of money that the Devere group must make and the price that people spend on staying there and they charge for using a credit card!! Yes I understand that there is a fee charged by the banks for credit card transactions, but I got the impression that this charge could be waived if they chose to do so as on checking in we were made aware of this fee. The receptionist did say that sometimes they waive this fee...

So yes Cameron house is lovely, but I was left feeling disappointed that despite them knowing that we were newly weds they didn't do anything special to acknowledge this and then have the cheek to charge credit card charges on top of the already expensive room rates.

Wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for that little something extra special and would rather spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

4 of us had booked a spa overnight break at Cameron House, with dinner in the Grill Room. As everyone has mentioned, no-one can fault the location of the hotel, right on the shores of Loch Lomond and we were lucky to have sunny autumnal days to to enjoy the experience. However, there are some issues with this hotel.

Good points -

Spa trip was lovely and very relaxing and the Hot Stone Massage with Anna was absolutely fantastic. Views from the infinity pool are certainly worth it.

Hotel room - garden view (what garden?) - room well appointed, great bed and good facilities in the bathroom all of which were spotlessly clean.

Concierge/welcoming staff - excellent, as were most of the reception staff. Very chatty.

Food - good breakfast.

Bad points -

Lunch in the Claret Jug - waited ages to get served despite being quite empty. Not the fault of the one man dealing with everything it seemed. Food was ok'ish but pricey with it.

Overall decor of hotel (inc bedroom) - overwhelmingly dark. I've never seen such large standard lamps in a bedroom yet had the lighting power of a birthday candle. Make-up had to be put on in the bathroom. More lighting pls (this is where management of De Vere have never stayed in their own hotels otherwise this would have been sorted out immediately!).

Cameron Grill - yes the food was beautifully presented however it was eye-wateringly expensive. £12 for two scallops halved to give he impression of 4 scallops - come on!! £68 for chateabriand - I've not even paid that in London or New York for goodness sake!

Restaurant staff - too young, and not enough of them. The girl who dealt with us for dinner tried her best but afternoon tea on Sunday was a bit of a trial. The tea eventually arrived and then 15mins later the scones turned up, beautiful though they were, just too late.

So, in conclusion, there are some things which could be sorted out immediately at this hotel to improve the rating and some issues would need further investment to sort out fundamental issues. I would still choose to stay at this hotel, but be aware of its limitations before you arrive otherwise you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The De Vere hotel group specialise in ripping off people who have more money than sense, taste or discernment. Cameron House is no exception, the decor is austere, dingy, dark and tired. Afternoon tea is £26.50 for very ordinary sandwiches, scones, cakes and tea; three courses in the restaurant is £70 per person; the Boat House is promoted as more affordable (and is more brightly decorated) but still charges £14.50 for a very average burger and fries are extra. The staff are at best disinterested, having apparently taken the De Vere business model to heart or maybe they are poorly paid; the only exception being reception staff who are helpful. Of course the location at the south west tip of Loch Lomond is very attractive but you will find better hospitality, value for money and still have fabulous views in other hotels nearby.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed at the hotel a few years ago I was expecting an enjoyable visit. How things have changed. It's now a badly Disney themed resort with depressing décor and dismal lighting. Take a torch! The front of house staff were friendly enough. We had to wait for our room even though we arrived after 3 o'clock. Whilst waiting we had a drink in the bar, reasonably light in there, light enough to see the stained and sticky carpets. The room was large, comfy beds and air conditioned. But that was as good as it got. Very dark, unable to see to put make-up on. If you want to read, take a Kindle which has a light on it. I saw one poor girl sat in the corridor reading, the lighting is better there. We ate in the Grill as the Boathouse was fully booked. Hideous styling. Tables bare wood, felt greasy and sticky. Waiting staff very young but tried their best. Food very average pub style food and overpriced for what it was. Sadly breakfast the next day was in the same depressing space and rather average. We decided to leave as the gloomy atmosphere was getting us down.

Room Tip: Ladies take a torch and a good mirror if you need to apply make-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at! We stayed 2 nights BB. We ate at the restaurant at the lake the first night was really good and a relaxed atmosphere. The second night we ate in the grill, the best food I have EVER tasted. Worth every penny (even if rather expensive). Cocktails in the bar after, perfect end to the evening. Staff cannot do enough for you. Spa is amazing also with transfers in a small bus to and from the spa, total relaxation. Also done a bit of clay pigeon shooting. Room was excellent! Cannot think of anything negative! Have stayed twice and will definitely be returning when we have saved a bit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The location of Cameron House is amazing - you will in no way be disappointed. Also the staff are excellent and are so friendly and helpful...nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was really good with plenty of options. The room service was very prompt and not too badly priced.
I have been lucky to stay at Cameron House before and have to say it wasn't quite a good as before but it was mostly due to the small touches that were missing. We stayed in a garden view which is more like a back of the building view of the trees, there was no garden in sight! The room had no bath but had a lovely big shower. The toilet was rather low and had no toilet seat, which is no major problem except that the heated towel rail was right beside the toilet and there were only a couple of hooks elsewhere in the bathroom to keep your towels. There were no slippers but there were nice bath robes. The fridge is not stocked as a mini bar but does have a carton of milk (excellent idea) and a still and fizzy bottle of water. The tea and coffee tray had no standard tea...just your fancy ones and only one coffee sachet. This was not stocked up either during our stay and we had to phone and ask for more coffee on the 2nd morning. The rooms although nicely done have very poor lighting for doing your makeup and were rather on the cold side. Apart from this Cameron House is still one of my most favorite places in the world...I just urge De Vere to remember all the nice small touches that add to a stay!

Room Tip: Pay for a loch view - garden views are disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.