We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Vere Cameron House

Save Saved
You added De Vere Cameron House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cameron House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

To sum up our experience of Cameron House we would be here all day.
In short there are very good reasons why this supposed 5 star hotel is not the number 1 hotel in the region.
Service is dreadful in the F&B areas. Long waits for drinks and food. Staff are generally not 5 star quality-- far from it.
The hotel however thinks that even though the service is diabolical its ok to add a 10 percent service charge to bills???
The prices are truly off the scale. When booking a hotel you realise that you will pay slightly more for drinks etc. However Cameron House has taken this to an unacceptable level. House wine £8 for a small glass, fairy tale pricing.
Attention to detail in guest service is sadly and badly lacking which is such ashame as the hotel is in such a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,059
    436
    284
    160
    77
See reviews for
292
1227
14
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Probably one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had.
The service offered here is no way near the 5 star mark in our opinion probably closer to 2/3 stars.
We have been lucky enough to have stayed in some wonderful hotels to date. We realise that hotels as a rule tend to charge slightly above average prices for F&B services. Cameron House takes this to another level!! A 175 ml glass of house wine in the dining rooms around the £8 mark, a pint of becks vier around the £4,30 mark, the house burger around the £15 mark.
We booked on a DBB rate. It was interesting to read a previous review about the people who weren't told about the £35 restriction on this-- we were sadly not informed either at the time of booking. Menu choices for this option are severely limited.
Also astounded by the fact that the Carrick Spa charges hotel residents £39 pp to use the pools etc ( without a treatment ).
Our advice is to disregard the lovely marketing pictures on the website ( we were taken in) and read the reviews on Trip Advisor from real guests who have suffered the same poor service and astronomical prices that we have.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Room was very, very nice. Staff very nice. Food excellent. Location was beautiful. Right on Loch Lomond.
Birds of Prey demonstration pretty cool. Great Scot Bar was nice.
Being in Scotland on Loch Lomond, how can you beat that?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Congratulations! I am delighted that you chose to begin your Honeymoon at Cameron House on Loch Lomond and that you have found so may aspects of our resort to commend!
I wish you all the very best for the future and hope to welcome you back for another visit.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldershot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We (3 adults & 1 child) spent one night at the hotel on 2 April. We loved it. The location and scenery are just superb. The front of house service was very good. Rooms were large, smart and clean. Shower and baths great with loads of hot water. Beds very comfy with very soft sheets. We ate in the Grill. OK it wasn't cheap, but that misses teh point of staying somewhere like this. The service was excellent, as was the food - especially the steak and marrowbone. Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've had. Would we go back? YES !!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you experienced a terrific family break at Cameron House. It is really encouraging to hear that you enjoyed the best breakfast ever in our Hotel and that you enjoyed a lovely meal in our Cameron grill (and the locally sourced Cairn Hill farm steaks certainly are delicious). I also appreciate you acknowledging our front of House team for providing a great welcome and check in.
Thank you again for your review and I do hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed at this stunning hotel for one night to enjoy the spa and recharge our batteries.
The spa itself was amazing could have spent the whole day there and the back massage I opted for was out of this world.
the hotel is gorgeous and majority of staff are helpful from the valet parking, reception, concierge and resort services. I forgot to pack a hairbrush I phoned reception and 5 minutes later one arrived at my room (at a charge). we ate at the Cameron grill the service was great but the food was exceptional. my only slight criticism and I repeat slight were the slow house keeping fair enough we checked in early but by 6 in the evening the empty glasses and half eaten plate of welcome chocolates(Where were ours) were still cluttering all along the corridor where they were left by housekeeping and finally the food and service in the great Scott bar was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
A huge thank you for your review. I sincerely value your recommendation and I am really pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing escape with a great treatment at our Carrick Spa. It is also great that you enjoyed a delicious meal in our Cameron Grill and that you admired our baronial themed décor with its contemporary touches throughout. I am also delighted that you found our team to be so helpful in the many areas of the resort mentioned.
I appreciate the constructive criticism that you have noted and please be assured that this has been shared with the relevant Managers within our resort.
I do hope that we can welcome you back and that you enjoy another great stay.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic location on the shore of Lochlomond. We were upgraded to a whiskey suite on arrival which was a lovely surprise. The site was beautifully decorated,very clean and well equipped. We found all the staff courteous, pleasant and helpful. They did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Food lovely but perhaps a little more could be done to make food for people on special diets more accessible. We had a seaplane flight whilst we were there which was fantastic. Great weekend break.

Room Tip: If you can afford a loch side view it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! It is very encouraging to receive your feedback. I am really pleased that you thought so highly of our upholstery in our hotel, housekeeping standards and I am particularly glad that you found our team so welcoming and helpful. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future and that you are able to experience a sea plane flight on your next visit (as this is a truly stunning way to absorb the stunning scenery of Loch Lomond and the surrounding islands).

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband, son (age 9) and I spent a lovely relaxing couple of days at Cameron House last week. We had a beautiful loch view room with a fabulous bathroom. Huge fluffy towels and great quality bedding. Staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly and attentive. Great service everywhere we went. Looked after us very well, making sure my son was happy and had everything he needed.

The bar area is an amazing airy room with huge windows over-looking the loch. We chose to eat in the bar at lunchtime and the triple decker sandwiches were fab! We ate at the Boat House in the evening and were fortunate enough to be given a window table which gave super views over the loch too. Food was very good and although the restaurant was very busy, service was relatively quick. Very good children's menu with my son given the chance to make his own pizza which he loved! Excellent breakfast choice at the Cameron Grill with buffet options and a la carte giving everything you could possibly imagine. Leisure facilities were good - pool not too busy and flume a great addition to the family section.

The Carrick Spa was excellent - hot stones massage highly recommended - and whilst it is not on the same site as the hotel, there is a shuttle service provided by the hotel so no need to interrupt your relaxation by having to drive anywhere!

My husband took in a round at The Wee Demon (9 hole course at the hotel) and was disappointed by the standard of the course. Having had a look at the Carrick, he would definitely play this next time but unfortunately did not have time to do so this trip.

Overall, an excellent relaxing couple of days with the family. Will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Loch view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at De Vere Cameron House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It is superb to receive such positive feedback and I am really pleased that we were able to deliver a great experience for all your family. Your praise of our bedrooms, Great Scots Bar and Leisure Club are hugely welcome and I am pleased that you found the shuttle service to our Carrick spa to help create a seamless stay for you.
I am delighted that you will definitely be returning and hope that your husband is able to experience our championship Carrick golf course on your next stay.

Kind regards
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Vere Cameron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cameron House

Address: Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — De Vere Cameron House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Vere Cameron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
De Vere Cameron House Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vere Cameron House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.