We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cameron house hotel loch lomond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron House on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cameron house hotel loch lomond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a very 'scottish' place to stay. A dark entrance hall filled with tartans and beautiful heavy furniture, the walls adorned with fake stuffed local wildlife. Turn right at the reception desk, past the shop and onto the grille resteraunt, serving a wonderful array if Scottish smoked salmon and tasty fish and meat. The huge bar looks like a sports hall added on in the 70's from outside, but inside is beautifully furnished with an enormous bar in the middle and plenty of log fires. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the loch with a balcony which we would have used if the weather had been better. What a treat. The slipper bath even had a built in tv screen on the wall. The furnishings are sumptuous and the bed and bedding is glorious.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Had a sneaky look when the cleaners were in and rooms look lovely, but room 111 is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am really pleased that we were able to deliver such a comprehensively great stay for you and your lovely praise of so many aspects of our resort is really encouraging.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    540
    341
    183
    90
See reviews for
355
1,520
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from three night at the Cameron House hotel and it was a truly enjoyable experience. The room was excellent, the food sublime and although a little expensive the spa was an experience not to miss. The staff were attentive but not over the top and I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A massive thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed a true five star experience at Cameron House and that you found our resort to offer great bedrooms, delicious food and that you thought so highly of our award winning Carrick Spa.
I sincerely appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay at Cameron House on the shores of Loch Lomond which we had heard so much about...

The things we liked;

- The welcome, check-in and valet parking were excellent
- The hotel is decorated wonderfully and the rooms feel opulent and are well appointed
- The breakfast is excellent, a wide choice of options, both buffet and a la carte, one of the best breakfasts we've had anywhere
- The Boathouse has an excellent range of locally sourced sea food
- There are lots of activity options at the hotel (although on this occasion we didn't try any)

The things we think they could improve;

- Restaurant service, Cameron Grill was good, but they forgot our side order (quickly resolved when asked). The Boathouse was worse,1 hour 15 minutes for the dessert (we had to ask several times just to see a dessert menu). The manager said they had had problems all day....
- Bar, we were looking forward to the whisky selection (which a big deal is made of), but the waiter struggled to advise on the big menu he had given us. After he brought the one we chose, he then said there was a whisky expert on that night and he 'might' be able to help.... It wasn't the most relaxed bar to sit in either, which is a shame.
- Pool area, there are 2 pools, one for adults one for kids (accompanied by adults). When we visited both were full of kids, so were a little noisy and hectic to try and swim in.

Overall, an interesting family resort (but we were a couple!), which I had great expectations for, but was ultimately let down by poor service and lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased that you were welcomed warmly to the resort and found the resort to offer a very luxurious feel in the public areas and that you mentioned the delicious breakfast selection and fresh seafood from loch Fyne available in our restaurants.
However, I apologise that we did not deliver the seamless level of service that we strive to deliver at certain points of your stay. Please contact me when you wish to return and I will do all I can to ensure that you enjoy a perfect stay.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just got back after a two night stay at the Cameron House Hotel. Yes its 5 star, and you would expect nothing but the best, but we can honestly say that the experience was wy beyond our expectations. The accommodation was excellent, the food outstanding, but the greatest asset this hotel has is its staff. From the first meeting with the valets as they unload your car and park it for you, through to the welcoming reception staff, then the restaurant staff, the houekeepers, barmen and waiters, they are just the best and most friendly staff it has ever been our privilege to meet. 5 stars indeed, but it is the staff who make your stay. Well done everyone at the Cameron, there are too many to remember all the names, but Des in the Great Scots Bar, Laura and Nicola in the restaurant, Joe the valet, just some of the staff whose service was excellent, they couldn't do enough for you. Sooooo looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We had booked a loch facing room, and the views, particularly waking up in the morning and watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A huge thank you for your review. It is wonderful that Cameron House surpassed your expectations! I am particularly pleased that you found our team to demonstrate such genuine warmth and hospitality as I firmly believe that it is our terrific team that set us apart as a resort. I also appreciate you acknowledging our team members that particularly stood out and please be assured that your feedback has been shared with, Des, Laura, Nicola and Jo.
Thank you again for your lovely review and I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Bet wishes,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently stayed overnight at Cameron House Hotel - was a bit concerned as so many reviews criticising staff - my concern totally unfounded as all staff were very nice and helpful. Hotel rooms lovely with great view of Loch Lomond , food at hotel excellent and had a great experience at the Carrick Spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from this amazing hotel on the bonnie banks of loch lomand, the breakfast is one of the best in variety and taste I have ever had. The staff, cleanliness, spa and food are fab. Will def return.

Room Tip: Loch view room and room service superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday what a truly wonderful stay thanks everyone for making this trip a memorable time our son and daughter-in -law flew up from Southampton to join us which was another surprise for the birthday chap the view from our room was fantastic and the room was superb so are all your staff we have stayed in lots of Hotels around the world but yours takes some beating we will be back my husband was truly blown away with the whole experience so many thanks for making this a special time for my husband and family

Room Tip: sorry we had such a lovely room dont want to share it in case I am unable to get it when I book agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! I am delighted that you chose Cameron House to celebrate such a special birthday! I am also extremely pleased that we were able to deliver a tremendous experience to help you celebrate this. I am really pleased that our team helped make this such a great experience and your kind feedback is very encouraging.
I do hope to welcome you back to celebrate future special occasions and please do let us know which bedroom you stayed in so we can do our very best to allocate this again for you!

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.