We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron House on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recently stayed overnight at Cameron House Hotel - was a bit concerned as so many reviews criticising staff - my concern totally unfounded as all staff were very nice and helpful. Hotel rooms lovely with great view of Loch Lomond , food at hotel excellent and had a great experience at the Carrick Spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    539
    341
    183
    90
See reviews for
354
1,519
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from this amazing hotel on the bonnie banks of loch lomand, the breakfast is one of the best in variety and taste I have ever had. The staff, cleanliness, spa and food are fab. Will def return.

Room Tip: Loch view room and room service superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday what a truly wonderful stay thanks everyone for making this trip a memorable time our son and daughter-in -law flew up from Southampton to join us which was another surprise for the birthday chap the view from our room was fantastic and the room was superb so are all your staff we have stayed in lots of Hotels around the world but yours takes some beating we will be back my husband was truly blown away with the whole experience so many thanks for making this a special time for my husband and family

Room Tip: sorry we had such a lovely room dont want to share it in case I am unable to get it when I book agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! I am delighted that you chose Cameron House to celebrate such a special birthday! I am also extremely pleased that we were able to deliver a tremendous experience to help you celebrate this. I am really pleased that our team helped make this such a great experience and your kind feedback is very encouraging.
I do hope to welcome you back to celebrate future special occasions and please do let us know which bedroom you stayed in so we can do our very best to allocate this again for you!

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year in a loch view room as a Christmas present to ourselves! Looked the scottish feel...tartan decor and the wee shop. Stunning and picturesque location, we feel like we were in a film. We had booked the Martin Wishart michelin star restaurant for dinner on our first night and weren't disappointed - the food was out of this world. Our first experience of a michelin star restaurant and can honestly say the best food we have ever tasted.

The choice at breakfast was huge...from continental to full scottish breakfast complete with haggis to pancakes and porridge. Filled us up for our days walking around the loch and exploring the area by visiting Inveraray Castle and Glengoyne distillery.

We didn't eat in any of the other restaurants as they were fully booked - would recommend booking before you arrive so instead tried the Balloch House pub for dinner which was also lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
A huge thank you for your review! I am really pleased that you enjoyed a terrific festive break with us at Cameron House it is wonderful that you enjoyed the best meal you have ever experienced in Michelin Star Martin Wisharts. It is also wonderful that you found the resort to offer such a lovely picturesque location and you were able to experience some great local attractions during your stay.
Once again, thank you for your recommendation and I hope to welcome you back and that we deliver another terrific stay for you.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from this most amazing Hotel and Spa! This was a surprise Mother's Day gift and was taken here by my daughter. The hotel is very impressive. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful, could'nt do enough for you. Room was excellent, everything you could want - beds very comfortable. Also visited the Carrick Spa. . This was something else! Absoloutley incredible, infinty pool on the rooftop is just breathtaking - the view from here is beautiful. Also had a lovely meal in The Claret Jug, food was excellent! Driven back to the hotel in one of the Hotels' fleet of cars. The breakfast was of excellent quality, I've never seen such a choice of food, anything you want! Also had lunch in The Boathouse, again food of excellent quality and very friendly and helpful staff. Finally a visit to The Cameron Club for a manicure and hair appointment. Treated extremely well and was made to feel very welcome. Will definatley be back! Is a must for anyone looking for 5* treatment and extremely frinedly and polite staff. Can't recommend it enough, absoloutley amazing place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My review does not concern the bedrooms, they are beautiful!! .
My review is regarding the Spa at Cameron house, my daughter booked the two of us as a treat for mothers day, also we were attending a wedding at another hotel the same day.
We were really looking forward to having a lovely experience, we arrived to a rather stern faced girl who was to do our hair and my daughters makeup, she was not in the least friendly, started to do my hair, my daughter had to ask her for the glass of bubbly we were sposed to be given, she handed it over looking rather stressed!!!.The room was drab and noisey from the pool outside the door, no nice music, just a very rushed event.
I have to say our hair was gorgeous and makeup fab!!! However I think the stylist needed assistance as she looked very grumpy. Would not go back, very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is very disappointing to learn of your experienced and I do apologise that you were not welcomed more warmly or made to feel that you are valued during your treatment. Please be assured that your feedback has been shared with our Director of Spa and Leisure. Despite the issues mentioned I am pleased that you were both happy with the final quality of treatments received.
I hope that we can welcome you back and that you experience the warm, professional service that we pride ourselves on delivering to all guests that visit Cameron House.

Best wishes,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our favourite Loch Lomond haven is sliding........and becoming known for this in the area!
The Whiskey Bar has all but disappeared - afternoon tea was a delight served by Glenda ( also gone ) ! The beautiful comfortable sofas and seats have been replaced by ridgid tables and chairs - the tasteful homely atmosphere only a memory. To make matters worse I was given a lecture by a pompous penguin ( apparently new butler ) as to afternoon tea etiquette! I have actually had afternoon tea in Raffles ( Singapore ) and many similar establishments. I left the premises ! Where is Glenda I ask myself? Where has the ambiance gone and why? Disastrous management decision.
The wine quality is appalling - £9.50 ish for a glass of cheap wine - the same wine for sale here in Holland at the local supermarket for €6 ! Cameron House did provide good quality wines for these prices.
Service......going downhill fast. On our last visit to Scotland we were warmly welcomed in the Lomond arms Hotel for dinner - by old Cameron House staff! Hmmmmmmm.
The location of Cameron House is truly breathtaking however the high standards initially adopted following the massive renovation has been sliding constantly and needs to be addressed. My marks out of 10 for the following :

Location & decor 10
Service in food & beverage 6
Porter/ driver / doormen 10
rooms & cleanliness 10
Afternoon tea. 6 ( was 10 )
General food quality. 6
Beverages 4

Cameron House has all the ingredients to be exceptional, however certain aspects must improve to return to its former glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am extremely sorry that your most recent visit to Cameron House was not of the quality that you ware used to experiencing from our resort. I sincerely value your feedback and take all your comments on board constructively. Despite the issues identified I am pleased that you found our Concierge team very welcoming and the resort to offer great bedrooms and standard of cleanliness.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future and deliver the level of stay that you were used to experiencing from Cameron House.

Kind regards,
Andy Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.