We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron House on Loch Lomond to your Saves list
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A group of us stayed at Cameron House in January 2013 and had a short but fabulous stay. We love Loch Lomond and wanted a good quality base and have certainly found that with this hotel. On arrival I was delighted with the warm dark interiors and the modern Scottish feel of the carpets and furnishings. Our room was a standard bedroom and was really big, bathrobes and slippers, tea/coffee and fresh milk. The bathrooms are great, lovely big walk in showers, and good quality chunky white towels. The hotel has a great little gift shop, a brilliant swimming pool and water slide, nail shop, squash court, gym plus all the outdoor activities it offers - you can't go wrong! We all loved breakfast, good quality food and a great selection. In the grounds of the hotel, there are villas you can hire which look great too. The only thing I would change would be to have a little bit more lighting in the bedrooms as they are just a little bit to dark. Overall a great hotel with friendly staff and good customer service - we most certainly recommend this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    491
    316
    173
    87
See reviews for
326
1,367
15
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to Cameron House for our Christmas party with our staff. We have been to Cameron House a few times and each time we go we are never disappointed. This hotel is set right beside Loch Lomond and has spectacular views. The hotel has a cosy castle feel to it and the staff are fantastic. Food is amazing in the Cameron Grill and the the Boathouse. The Christmas Party night was a great night - quite a small gathering with great food and great music. We opted for Loch View Rooms which are always worth paying the extra and the rooms had recently been upgraded to a extremely high standard.We relaxed in the Scots bar the next day and had afternoon tea by the window overlooking the loch and it was so nice we really did not want to leave. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Loch View Rooms have the view and are more spacious than the standard rooms - if you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
A huge thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have visited Cameron House on so many occasions and appreciate you bringing your team here for a Christmas treat. I really do value you advising other travelers what a welcoming baronial feel our resort has and how friendly and professional you have found our team to be.
I hope that you are able to return in the near future and thank you again for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

we stayed at Cameron House for 3 nights. The 2nd day/night was my birthday, so the trip was a treat for me. From the moment we arrived, we really felt special. The staff are amazing at this hotel. We felt so valued, and the service we received was the best I have ever experienced. When we booked, I specifically requested a room with a seperate shower, as, due to a disability, I cannot get in or out a bath. However, when we were shown to our room, there was no seperate shower, but a shower over the bath - I immediately went to reception to let them know the problem, and within 10 mins we were being shown to our new upgraded loch view bedroom with a wet room - for me, problems are not as important as how the staff react to the problem, and we were very impressed with the way they immediately sorted this out for us. Our bedroom was amazing. We had the most stunning view over the loch and the bed was large and very comfortable. On the first night we ate at the Boathouse resturant and it was a wonderful meal. the 2nd day, we had a champagne high tea after our loch cruise for my birthday, and this was amazing. The third night we ate in the Great Scots bar and again were very impressed with the quality of the food. From the concierge to the bar staff, from reception to housekeeping staff, everyone was truly amazing. Also, I have to say that the breakfast selection was one of the best I've ever seen. I was delighted with the choice and thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast each morning. We decided on our 2nd day there that we are definitely going back in June to celebrate my husband's birthday. I would recommend Cameron House to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review! I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you were made to feel so special during this birthday celebration.
It is a huge compliment indeed that the best service you have ever experienced has been on our resort.
It is fantastic that you are returning in Junbe to celebrate your husbands birthday and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make this occasion extra special.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Apologies for the lateness of this review, we stayed here for 3 nights last March. Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the whiskey suites, first time that had ever happened to us! Which to be honest was amazing!! I think it was Tony (it's saying something that I remember his name after almost a year) who met us at reception and dealt with all our queries during our stay. He was a credit to the hotel, always had time to speak to us when we passed by!

The suite was all that we could of asked for and more. Everything had a feel of quality about it! It had quite possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

Food was excellent, we ate in the Martin Wishart - outstanding, boat house - good hearty food and the Grill - again excellent.

To top it all off I proposed to my girlfriend on the last night of our stay and we're getting married in October 13. Any rooms available for honeymoon? ; )

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Congratulations! I am delighted that Cameron House was the perfect place for you to propose to your fiancée and that you both enjoyed such a memorable stay.
It is great that you were able to experience so many different elements of our resort and I appreciate you communicating that Tony’s warm personality really stood out.
Thank you again for your review and I am sure we could find a room for you on your special day!

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

From the relaxed luxury of the Great Scots bar, the fabulous gantry of the Whisky Bar, or the opulence of the fine dining at Martin Wishart, this place is one of the best you could choose in the greater Glasgow area. Perhaps we're biased as we got married here and so it brings back some special memories, but every time we go back there is still something special about the place, and the newer additions at the Carrick and Boathouse restaurants seem to continue the exacting high standards.

Room Tip: Has to be Loch View for the full Loch Lomond experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
A huge thank you for your review and for recommending Cameron House. I am delighted that Cameron House is such a sentimental place for you and that you regard our more recent developments around the resort highly.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Cameron House. The front doorman parked our car and the concierge helped us to our room. The rooms were modern, extremely comfortable and we had a lovely view of the loch. All staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were lovely with a large selection. We spent an afternoon in the Great Scott's bar with the Sunday papers, coffee and a couple of drinks, very relaxing. The leisure facilities were top class. We ate in the Boathouse and nearby Duck Bay Marina, both of which were nice. Returning in March for my birthday, can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed a fabulous stay with us and really value you highlighting the aspects of our resort that you enjoyed.
I look forward to you returning and wish you a very happy birthday indeed when the time arrives!

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here 11th January for 2 nights in junior suite room 97. From second we arrived made to feel so welcome greeted by front doorman who parked our car and took us to reception with our luggage where we were a bit early but got checked in right away. He then showed us to our room taking our luggage for us. our room was fantastic, everything perfect, great 2 nights sleep in huge bed, view of loch amazing. Great to wake up to first thing in the morning. Dinner on first night in Cameron Grill staff so attentive slight problem with one of the meals (personal taste) was immediately taken care of. Special thanks to Ashley for looking after us at dinner. Whether your relaxing in the Great Scots bar or relaxing in Jacuzzi whole experience 10/10. Already looking at booking back up. Thank you to everyone at Cameron House for a wonderful relaxing weekend!

Room Tip: If you can Loch View you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CameronHouseLL, General Manager at Cameron House on Loch Lomond, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
A huge thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed a fantastic two night stay at Cameron House. I am especially pleased that you were made to feel so welcome from the moment that you arrived in the resort and I am delighted that Ashley looked after you so well during your meal.
Overall, your feedback is really encouraging and it is a huge compliment that you already arranging your next visit!

Kind regards,
Nader Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House on Loch Lomond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House on Loch Lomond

Address: Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Alexandria G83 8QZ, Scotland (Formerly De Vere Cameron House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron House on Loch Lomond 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent baronial mansion surrounded by 100 acres of woodland, Cameron House on Loch Lomond, blends traditional Scottish influences with sumptuous contemporary decor to offer guests a memorable stay in the finest surroundings. This is your loch side Baronial mansion and so much more, with a Championship golf course, a luxury resort spa with rooftop infinity pool, a range of luxury traditional and contemporary suites with views overlooking Loch Lomond and some of the most supreme dining imaginable, all bundled up and served with the heartiest of Scottish hospitality. Cameron House on Loch Lomond is every part the five star Scottish experiences and located just 25 minutes from Glasgow International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cameron House on Loch Lomond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Cameron House Hotel West Dunbartonshire
De Vere Cameron Hotel
Cameron House Hotel
De Vere Cameron Arden
Cameron Hotel House
Cameron House On Loch Lomond Scotland/Alexandria, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House on Loch Lomond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.