We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Villas
Save Saved
You added Sands Villas to your Saves list
PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wanganui
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We loved Sands Villas. a group of 3 families with young children aged 8yrs down to 3 months.
Comfortable and spotlessly clean with all that anyone could need - from a dishwasher and soundsystem , to kayaks and snorkelling gear.
Placed on a quiet beach by the clear blue safe lagoon, populated with underwater creatures, perfect for small people and their parents.

right from arriving to find hibiscus flowers placed on the beds to welcome us, to the sad ending of a lovely week, we found this a place we would love to return to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Kia Orana, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Kia Orana kotou katoatoa (Greetings to all), Please accept my apologise for the late review. We holidayed in Feb/Mar this year. Our families occupied all three Villas. The location is absolutely fab, so close to the beautiful beach that you can call your own. The placement of the Villas are so that, they border nice gardens and lawns(we had my sister's wedding reception here of up to 100+ guests - fantastic). The staff were very friendly and helpful(we were welcomed as family). The Villas are well set out with everything you need(bedding/towels/kitchen/TV), aircon in the master bedroom, fans in the other two(Vaka), theres kayaks & snorkeling gear available - the snorkelling is fantastic. So all you need to bring is your swimming togs,suncream. If you have a big group thinking of going to Raro, you cant go wrong booking all three Villas. We will definitely book again. Happy Holidays & Kia Manuia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. We had so much fun having you guys here, thank you for choosing Sands Villas for your whanau holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in all of the villas and they were just absolutely amazing. It was so nice to make a home away from home. everyone was just so lovely and helpful. Being a few steps away from the water was just fantastic. I'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Come back and visit the lagoon again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Two of us spent a most memorable 10 days in the Vaka Villa. It's location was amazing .... As if 10 steps from the lagoon edge wasn't just the best, even better .... the lagoon was totally ours!!!! Well thats how it seemed. Swimming and snorkelling was outstanding ... and all the equipment supplied! We self catered in style for most meals ... The outside deck just perfect for al fresco dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner under tropical skies .... Wall to wall blue in the daytime and starry balmy evening tropical evening candle-light dinners ... BBQ style.
Being a good distance from the road, meant it was peaceful and quiet. ... Being lulled to sleep by the waves on the reef ..... Magic!! Watch out .... Like the owners say ....Sands Villas are contagious!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're so pleased you had a relaxing holiday. About time to start planning another one?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February and found the villa oppressively hot. It was manageable during the day but resulted in very uncomfortable sleepless nights. We found our hosts friendly and helpful and the amenities of the villa basic but very well maintained. Due to the design of the villas, the lack of cross ventilation and slow speed of the fans, our stay would have been much improved by better cooling. The location is idyllic, however, and I'd recommend a stay for that alone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana and thank you for your review. Your comments have been passed onto the owners. Between December and April is our summer and can get very hot (we don't notice it as much of course so your comments are welcomed!). During the cooler months, the fans are sufficient. We look forward to seeing you next time! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Jacqui and I took the kids (4) and a great friend to Rarotonga to help us celebrate 25 years of marriage. We needed somewhere big but not just an old house and also wanted it as close to the beach as possible.
Sands Villas was perfect! We spent two weeks there and used two of the three Villas and both were ideal. No one wanted to leave.
The servicing of the rooms was great and the staff were lovely. The cooking facilities were great so we tended to eat out one night and eat in the next which helped the budget.
One of the best things was that it was some way from the road so the only sounds we heard were the waves in the distance as they hit the reef at the edge of the lagoon.
Totally recommend Sands Villas to anyone with a larger group. Actually recommend it to even couples as really lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana guys. Was great to hear we could provide the perfect location for you to celebrate such an occasion! We'll see you for the next anniversary and all the best with the next 25 years of marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The 3 villas are extremly nice, all with its own charme and well equipped. It is the perfect spot and if you ever had an idea about paradies, there it is. It is superb for families as the beach is almost yours (noone else will bother) and the lagune is just great for kids, snorkling, kayaking, etc. There is only one bad news: The Villas get extremly hot inside and there is only one AirCon in the Master bedroom. All other rooms are equipped with fans but they have no chance against the heat so you be better prepared to have hot nights....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana and dankeschon for your review. Our Summer time is between December and Aprilr and can get very hot (we don't notice it as much of course so your comments are welcomed!). During the cooler months, we find the fans are sufficient. We look forward to seeing you next time! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Villas

Address: PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty lodging in Titikaveka
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Villas are three, 3 bedroom uniquely styled modern villas nestled on a premier beachfront property in Titikaveka. Our southern beach boasts white sand, palm trees and turquoise waters perfect for snorkelling and swimming. Book one villa for a romantic escape or all three for a wedding, birthday or great family holiday. The choice is yours. But be warned... Your first trip will certainly not be your last! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.