We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Ten Out of Ten' ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Villas
Save Saved
You added Sands Villas to your Saves list
PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last minute specials!
Russell, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'Ten Out of Ten' ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Two of us spent a most memorable 10 days in the Vaka Villa. It's location was amazing .... As if 10 steps from the lagoon edge wasn't just the best, even better .... the lagoon was totally ours!!!! Well thats how it seemed. Swimming and snorkelling was outstanding ... and all the equipment supplied! We self catered in style for most meals ... The outside deck just perfect for al fresco dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner under tropical skies .... Wall to wall blue in the daytime and starry balmy evening tropical evening candle-light dinners ... BBQ style.
Being a good distance from the road, meant it was peaceful and quiet. ... Being lulled to sleep by the waves on the reef ..... Magic!! Watch out .... Like the owners say ....Sands Villas are contagious!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We're so pleased you had a relaxing holiday. About time to start planning another one?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February and found the villa oppressively hot. It was manageable during the day but resulted in very uncomfortable sleepless nights. We found our hosts friendly and helpful and the amenities of the villa basic but very well maintained. Due to the design of the villas, the lack of cross ventilation and slow speed of the fans, our stay would have been much improved by better cooling. The location is idyllic, however, and I'd recommend a stay for that alone!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana and thank you for your review. Your comments have been passed onto the owners. Between December and April is our summer and can get very hot (we don't notice it as much of course so your comments are welcomed!). During the cooler months, the fans are sufficient. We look forward to seeing you next time! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Jacqui and I took the kids (4) and a great friend to Rarotonga to help us celebrate 25 years of marriage. We needed somewhere big but not just an old house and also wanted it as close to the beach as possible.
Sands Villas was perfect! We spent two weeks there and used two of the three Villas and both were ideal. No one wanted to leave.
The servicing of the rooms was great and the staff were lovely. The cooking facilities were great so we tended to eat out one night and eat in the next which helped the budget.
One of the best things was that it was some way from the road so the only sounds we heard were the waves in the distance as they hit the reef at the edge of the lagoon.
Totally recommend Sands Villas to anyone with a larger group. Actually recommend it to even couples as really lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana guys. Was great to hear we could provide the perfect location for you to celebrate such an occasion! We'll see you for the next anniversary and all the best with the next 25 years of marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The 3 villas are extremly nice, all with its own charme and well equipped. It is the perfect spot and if you ever had an idea about paradies, there it is. It is superb for families as the beach is almost yours (noone else will bother) and the lagune is just great for kids, snorkling, kayaking, etc. There is only one bad news: The Villas get extremly hot inside and there is only one AirCon in the Master bedroom. All other rooms are equipped with fans but they have no chance against the heat so you be better prepared to have hot nights....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana and dankeschon for your review. Our Summer time is between December and Aprilr and can get very hot (we don't notice it as much of course so your comments are welcomed!). During the cooler months, we find the fans are sufficient. We look forward to seeing you next time! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellignton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This holiday had a very specific series of requests that a structure should have met:
1. we were 6 adults (wife-husband and both couples of not so young parents)
2. we wanted a villa big enough to comfortably accommodate all of us
3. we DEFINITELY wanted it right on the beach
4. the beach should have possibly been one of the best of the island
5. we want it to be cheap
Pretty hard to satisfy all these points in a go, you would think...but not for the Sands Villas!
We got an almost incredible summer special price - with also 1 week of car rental included! - and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay that the lovely vaka villa. The hosts were extremely kind, helping us with all we needed (especially appreciated the help with our late arrival and late departure from the villa) and the villa was right on the beautiful Titikaveka beach, really private setting, lots of space and facilities (snorkeling gears, kajaks, full kitchen with washing machine, laundry and also air conditioning on the master bedroom) and located 5 minutes by car from shops, supermarkets and few good restaurants.
Definitely recommended for a family o group of friend for a really unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: the villas on the beach (vaka villa and coral villa) are absolutely the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana- thanks for your review! We're so glad that we were able to help with all your specifications for your holiday and look forward to your return. Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family stayed in the front villa for a week in January. It is spacious, spotless and very comfortable. After having stayed in resorts all over the South Pacific, I wasn't really looking forward to self catering. However, the location and view are amazing, the house is really well apointed and it was just fantastic having a BBQ on the fabulous deck, and just chillin out. We took a chillibin with food from NZ for the BBQ.
We also took a selection of DVD's with us, and everynight after dinner had wonderful family time. The car being included was great, we took trips out every day and had lunches and a few dinners out. We walked 2 minutes up the beach for happy hour at a local hotel each evening. The beach is isolated, the kayaks and snorkling are great, and the sun loungers blissfil. This is a very special place. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location amazing snorkelling, probably the best in Rarotonga. The different coloured fish and the clear blue water was suberb! Awesome view and the swimming great. The house (Vaka villa) was great and very comfortable with excellent facilities, just two steps and right on the beach!!!. The one downside is the lack of air conditioning in all bedrooms. The main bedroom has aircon and was really nice to have the other two bedrooms got very hot! Will be back to rarotonga and the sands villas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Villas

Address: PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Villas are three, 3 bedroom uniquely styled modern villas nestled on a premier beachfront property in Titikaveka. Our southern beach boasts white sand, palm trees and turquoise waters perfect for snorkelling and swimming. Book one villa for a romantic escape or all three for a wedding, birthday or great family holiday. The choice is yours. But be warned... Your first trip will certainly not be your last! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.