We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reaching Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Villas
Save
You added Sands Villas to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wellignton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reaching Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This holiday had a very specific series of requests that a structure should have met:
1. we were 6 adults (wife-husband and both couples of not so young parents)
2. we wanted a villa big enough to comfortably accommodate all of us
3. we DEFINITELY wanted it right on the beach
4. the beach should have possibly been one of the best of the island
5. we want it to be cheap
Pretty hard to satisfy all these points in a go, you would think...but not for the Sands Villas!
We got an almost incredible summer special price - with also 1 week of car rental included! - and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay that the lovely vaka villa. The hosts were extremely kind, helping us with all we needed (especially appreciated the help with our late arrival and late departure from the villa) and the villa was right on the beautiful Titikaveka beach, really private setting, lots of space and facilities (snorkeling gears, kajaks, full kitchen with washing machine, laundry and also air conditioning on the master bedroom) and located 5 minutes by car from shops, supermarkets and few good restaurants.
Definitely recommended for a family o group of friend for a really unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: the villas on the beach (vaka villa and coral villa) are absolutely the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia Orana- thanks for your review! We're so glad that we were able to help with all your specifications for your holiday and look forward to your return. Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family stayed in the front villa for a week in January. It is spacious, spotless and very comfortable. After having stayed in resorts all over the South Pacific, I wasn't really looking forward to self catering. However, the location and view are amazing, the house is really well apointed and it was just fantastic having a BBQ on the fabulous deck, and just chillin out. We took a chillibin with food from NZ for the BBQ.
We also took a selection of DVD's with us, and everynight after dinner had wonderful family time. The car being included was great, we took trips out every day and had lunches and a few dinners out. We walked 2 minutes up the beach for happy hour at a local hotel each evening. The beach is isolated, the kayaks and snorkling are great, and the sun loungers blissfil. This is a very special place. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location amazing snorkelling, probably the best in Rarotonga. The different coloured fish and the clear blue water was suberb! Awesome view and the swimming great. The house (Vaka villa) was great and very comfortable with excellent facilities, just two steps and right on the beach!!!. The one downside is the lack of air conditioning in all bedrooms. The main bedroom has aircon and was really nice to have the other two bedrooms got very hot! Will be back to rarotonga and the sands villas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The perfect location with the beach and crystal clear lagoon waters literally 'right on your doorstep' make this ideal place for a really relaxing holiday. The water is warm and with snokelling equipment and kayaks available there is plenty of opportunity to enjoy the lagoon. This was our 2nd (and longer) visit and we were certainly not disappointed. Rongo and her team look after the property well and provide a genuinely warm welcome to guests whilst also dealing efficiently with any minor problems. The villa is well equipped so that cooking and eating a meal 'at home' is easy and you couldn't ask for better sea views or starry skies as your backdrop! However if you want to eat out there are two restaurants just along the beach too which served great food. Having a car not only means that you obtain a Raratonga driving licence (with photo ID) as a unique souvenir but means you can also explore the island and visit other shops and restaurants. With just three villas this setting is great for those who want a quiet holiday (just as long as the neighbours don't decide to have a noisy party that goes on too long - this happened to us but other locals and Rongo soon made it clear that this was unacceptable and peace was restored). There is no doubt that we will return to this bit of paradise as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana, thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear about the noisy party- but we're glad it could be sorted and you could go back to enjoying peace and quiet.

We'll see you next time you visit paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been to Raro 3 times now and will keep coming back as often as possible. Last time there were 12 of us and we had the best 2 weeks! No-one wanted to go home and everyone is nagging me to book another trip. You can do heaps or you can do nothing, whatever suits. You step off the Vaka Villa deck right onto the sand and straight into the water. Snorkelling gear and kayaks are all provided free of charge. Unlike the resorts, we had the beach to ourselves and it was fantastic. All accomodation, airport transfers etc were very well organised and everyone we dealt with were efficient and informed and more than happy to help. Loved it!

Room Tip: The Vaka Villa has the best deck access to the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
That's great your group had such a good holiday and we look forward to your next visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our family of ten stayed in two of the villas. The location was superb, even though it was very windy most of our stay! Rarotonga is great in that you can get away from it all and relax, but can hop in a car and in a couple of minutes be at the shops or a cafe for dinner. The staff are lovely, but unobtrusive. The beach is superb, with good snorkelling right in front of the villas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana, thank you for choosing Sands Villas for your family holiday. We'll see you again once Wellington winter kicks in! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Only got to stay here for 3 nights and wish we could of had more. Enjoyed the location and the house was great. All the comforts of home. Was just a short stroll along the beach to great restuarants. Had a great time in the kayak just floating around the lagoon. Pleasant way to while away the day resting on the front deck overlooking the ocean. We stayed in the Villa that was absolute beach front and it was a dream. Would stay there again and definitely recommend this spot to anyone wanting to visit Rarotonga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana Gary,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'll be taking good care of the kayaks until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titikaveka
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Villas

Address: PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Villas are three, 3 bedroom uniquely styled modern villas nestled on a premier beachfront property in Titikaveka. Our southern beach boasts white sand, palm trees and turquoise waters perfect for snorkelling and swimming. Book one villa for a romantic escape or all three for a wedding, birthday or great family holiday. The choice is yours. But be warned... Your first trip will certainly not be your last! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.