We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome snorkling clear blue waters very relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titikaveka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Villas
PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY 7N & ONLY PAY FOR 6!
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome snorkling clear blue waters very relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location amazing snorkelling, probably the best in Rarotonga. The different coloured fish and the clear blue water was suberb! Awesome view and the swimming great. The house (Vaka villa) was great and very comfortable with excellent facilities, just two steps and right on the beach!!!. The one downside is the lack of air conditioning in all bedrooms. The main bedroom has aircon and was really nice to have the other two bedrooms got very hot! Will be back to rarotonga and the sands villas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The perfect location with the beach and crystal clear lagoon waters literally 'right on your doorstep' make this ideal place for a really relaxing holiday. The water is warm and with snokelling equipment and kayaks available there is plenty of opportunity to enjoy the lagoon. This was our 2nd (and longer) visit and we were certainly not disappointed. Rongo and her team look after the property well and provide a genuinely warm welcome to guests whilst also dealing efficiently with any minor problems. The villa is well equipped so that cooking and eating a meal 'at home' is easy and you couldn't ask for better sea views or starry skies as your backdrop! However if you want to eat out there are two restaurants just along the beach too which served great food. Having a car not only means that you obtain a Raratonga driving licence (with photo ID) as a unique souvenir but means you can also explore the island and visit other shops and restaurants. With just three villas this setting is great for those who want a quiet holiday (just as long as the neighbours don't decide to have a noisy party that goes on too long - this happened to us but other locals and Rongo soon made it clear that this was unacceptable and peace was restored). There is no doubt that we will return to this bit of paradise as soon as we can!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana, thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear about the noisy party- but we're glad it could be sorted and you could go back to enjoying peace and quiet.

We'll see you next time you visit paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been to Raro 3 times now and will keep coming back as often as possible. Last time there were 12 of us and we had the best 2 weeks! No-one wanted to go home and everyone is nagging me to book another trip. You can do heaps or you can do nothing, whatever suits. You step off the Vaka Villa deck right onto the sand and straight into the water. Snorkelling gear and kayaks are all provided free of charge. Unlike the resorts, we had the beach to ourselves and it was fantastic. All accomodation, airport transfers etc were very well organised and everyone we dealt with were efficient and informed and more than happy to help. Loved it!

Room Tip: The Vaka Villa has the best deck access to the beach :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
That's great your group had such a good holiday and we look forward to your next visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our family of ten stayed in two of the villas. The location was superb, even though it was very windy most of our stay! Rarotonga is great in that you can get away from it all and relax, but can hop in a car and in a couple of minutes be at the shops or a cafe for dinner. The staff are lovely, but unobtrusive. The beach is superb, with good snorkelling right in front of the villas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana, thank you for choosing Sands Villas for your family holiday. We'll see you again once Wellington winter kicks in! Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Only got to stay here for 3 nights and wish we could of had more. Enjoyed the location and the house was great. All the comforts of home. Was just a short stroll along the beach to great restuarants. Had a great time in the kayak just floating around the lagoon. Pleasant way to while away the day resting on the front deck overlooking the ocean. We stayed in the Villa that was absolute beach front and it was a dream. Would stay there again and definitely recommend this spot to anyone wanting to visit Rarotonga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana Gary,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We'll be taking good care of the kayaks until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Everything you could ask for. Again Aunty Rongo was fantastic. the place is equipped with everything you need.
First time there we had the coral and hibiscus villas, second time there werent as many of us and we had the front coral villa.
Great for families, and even when you're with the whole family, you can still sneak away for some quiet time with your person.
Rock dog....aka Jack....was there again...fantastic, and we got to meet Jack's parents who had come over from NZ.
We just love the Sands Villas. Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Rarotonga.
Thanks for sharing this awesome place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Kia Orana, We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us- make it three and you've stayed in all three villas! See you next time. Kia Manuia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 with family. The location is superb on a beautiful beach with amazing snorkelling (equipment provided) - even the oldies had a go. The villa itself was spacious, well-equipped and beautifully furnished. We were very warmly welcomed and given lots of information on places to visit.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotongaHolidayer, Manager at Sands Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your holiday with us Eric- see you and the family next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Villas

Address: PO Box 3159, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty lodging in Titikaveka
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Villas are three, 3 bedroom uniquely styled modern villas nestled on a premier beachfront property in Titikaveka. Our southern beach boasts white sand, palm trees and turquoise waters perfect for snorkelling and swimming. Book one villa for a romantic escape or all three for a wedding, birthday or great family holiday. The choice is yours. But be warned... Your first trip will certainly not be your last! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sands Villas to your Saves list