We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Polynesian Gilligan's Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rarotonga Beach Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rarotonga Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   P.O. Box 3045 | Rarotonga, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Polynesian Gilligan's Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's not often a booking exceeds your expectations…but the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows certainly did!
The minute you walk through the 'secret' opening from the road you know you're somewhere special…and the impression doesn't falter from front to back (back to front?).
We really were impressed with the 'art direction', the complete follow-through of the Pacific Island fantasy bungalow..
This was the perfect spot, on a perfect Island!
Well done , Tom!

Room Tip: ask for on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaroBeachBungalows, Front Office Manager at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so glad you liked the retro Polynesian villa vibe we have here, Dick! We hope you have a fantastic summer and hope to see you back here on the 'Polynesian Gilligan's Island'!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Upon arriving at the bungalows, Nicole and Tom greeted us with open arms and warm smiles. We just started our 6 day trip to Rarotonga and Aitutaki and were already feeling good and relaxed. The bungalow was incredible. Spacious, equipped, and original to the polynesian theme. With all the great features of a romantic getaway with plenty to de and see near by. Just south of murk Beach and 25 minutes by scooter from the main town, RBB was the place to be! The view from the bungalow as ideal and a white sandy beach just below. The sunsets made the day each evening! I recommend stopping at the local fish market for some fresh fruit and fish and pan searing your own tuna or mahi mahi you love to cook. Its all there at your finger tips. breakfast was delightful and se was the company! With only 5 bungalow on site, you get to mingle with your neighbors on a more personal level. The staff was kind and respectful. They taught us the local language to get by and I impressed most of the flight crew and guides during our stay. Kia Orana! Mia Takie! Peeia Koe! Thank you Miriamma! The rest is up to you! We are planning a family trip in the near future and plan on staying at RBB again... and again. Be well! Hang loose! And peace be the journey! Your Friend, Brian.

Room Tip: Eke for sure! Just make sure it is on the beach front and not the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaroBeachBungalows, Front Office Manager at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We loved having you here Brian and Jennifer! We hope you left with some amazing memories of your honeymoon in paradise...we hope to see you again and keep rocking that Matutu top, Brian! Kia Manuia! Tom, Luckey, Nicole, Miriama and Afong :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We could not have asked for a better honeymoon destination. 5 bungalows but only the front 3 were being occupied. Felt like your own private beach resort. Hardly a sole on the beach and you could lie there for hours without anyone walking by you! Having checked out the rest of the island - definitely the best location (IMO). Relaxing! Great snorkeling right out front. Free use of equipment including kayaks.

Things to point out:
1. One flight a week in/out from LAX.
2. Expensive for food and drink!! But not bad if buy local fruit/veggies and cook in the bungalow.
3. Bus system is ridiculous - 1 per hour each direction around island. (rent a scooter!)
4. RBB has a kitchenette - easy to make something to eat and have the best dinner seat on the island on front deck. Or take one of the tables ocean side/light a candle and enjoy - romantic!!
5. Other then lying on the beach, sipping drinks and catching up on reading: local hike up volcano, deep sea fishing, dinner show, booze cruise, SCUBA, and the local market (every Sat morning) - typical things of a tropical area trying to lure in the traveler dollar. We passed on those and chose to relax and stay close to the bungalows and would not have changed a thing.

This is not a 5 star resort, but I didn't see any others that looked that way either. Clean/Comfortable/well appointed. Is the breakfast perfect - toast/juice and coffee - not anything to write about but gives you a start. Front, ocean-side bungalows are perfect. Minimal noise. We don't typically go back to destinations (too many other things to see on this earth) but if we did - would stay here again - Yes! Comments on the other Costco choices - the Seaside bungalows look more modern are about 2 km down the road, but half the units are on the opposite side of the road - why would you want that (?) and the beach is not as nice. Royale Takitumu/Muri Beach Club/Little Polynesian all have a bit more of a resort feel (with pools), but with a lot more people.

Overall, very happy with our choice. Thanks to RBB for being exactly as advertised.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaroBeachBungalows, Front Office Manager at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Kia Orana Paul! It was great to have you and Melissa here with us for your honeymoon! Thank you for the honest review, we like to think of ourselves as a 'home away from home' and we also think our stretch of beach is the best! Congratulations again and hopefully we'll see you back at RBB in the future!
Tom, Luckey, Stacey, Nicole and Miriama :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We just had the vacation of a lifetime at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows...and stayed on budget! With only five private bungalows on the property it was friendly and yet intimate, like having a small house right on the beach! The turquoise clear water with amazing sea life was a main attraction, and snorkeling was endless, with hard coral mini-reefs abundant in the calm lagoon. Too many varieties of fish to mention, and good quality snorkel gear was provided free of charge! Kayaks were also available complimentary. Lots of extras included, too many to list...exceeding expectations. Most of all the staff went out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and happy. If you have always wanted to make this trip but thought it was too expensive think again!

Room Tip: we stayed in one of two "back" bungalows as opposed to three oceanfront at higher cost...w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaroBeachBungalows, Front Office Manager at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We so enjoyed your stay with us, Alexa! We hope you are adjusting back to 'normal life' and we look forward to having you with us here at RBB again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived early Monday morning September 9 after the all-night flight from Los Angeles in the States. We were greeted by the entire staff, Tom, Luckey, Nicole and Stace and shown to our respective bungalows. The bungalows were all we could have asked for, extremely clean and well kept with beautiful beach frontage and views. Tom and his staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, in short order we felt as if we had all been friends for years. We enjoyed preparing some of our own meals in the very-adequate kitchenettes. We also took advantage of the breakfast room for morning toast and coffee before leaving on excursions. The unique setting and intimate size of Rarotonga Beach Bungalows encourages friendly interaction with other guests. We were traveling with one other couple and very soon were joining other guests as well for meals and excursions. A grand time was had by all, and we were sad to leave, despite the fact we were leaving for Aitutaki and not for home...We will be back!!!

Room Tip: One of the three beach-front units
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaroBeachBungalows, Front Office Manager at Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We miss you all here at RBB! What a pleasure to have you all here - full of laughs and hugs all around! We hope to see you all here again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we choose this hotel for its location and we were not disappointed. having checked the entire shoreline of rarotonga, this is definitely the best stretch of beach. the resort is a simple group of 5 bungalows, slightly raised from ground, entirely built in wood, and very generous in size. however they tend to be quite dark inside and it's a pity that the bedroom, tucked at the back, does not have a view. a small window on the side lets just a little bit of light in. the bathroom is comfortable and the partially outdoor shower decorated with plenty of plants is a plus. one would probably spend more time in the living room if it was not so dark. beachfront bungalows are definitely the ones to choose. breakfast taken in the charming but viewless lounge needs improvement. even in remote Raro undescriptive loose tea bags seem a bit out of place especially given the rates charged at this property. bread was frozen. we once drove to the delicious cafe' bon vivant in muri beach and brought back croissant and patries to eat on our porch. we saw other guests doing the same. the property is pretty much self catered. a front desk functions only in the morning and we did not find tom or the rest of the staff particularly eager to socialize or help especially given that the weather was a disaster for 90% of the time we spent there: not their fault but you would think they would like to try and help you enjoy the place at best under the circumstances. as the cool temperature and rain made the beautiful beach useless most of the time, we explored the rest of the island and enjoyed RBB proximity to some delicious restaurans like Vaima and Waterline. European visitors be aware that temperature can be quite cool in the Cooks in our summer and that although that is supposed to be the dry season, the islands have been experiencing more rain in july and august lately.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I actually feel a bit torn on letting everyone know how great of a time ive had here. Maybe if less people know about it the more likely ill get the times reserved i want to go back :D As of this moment i am in Hawaii wishing i was on Rarotonga in one of the bungalows. Traveled there in March 2012 for 1 week. Stayed in one of the bungalows closest to beach.

Pro's

-Beachfront, and a nice decent sandy beach.
-Staff is super nice and deferential.
-Breakfast in the morning is a welcome mix of the standard cold cereals and then fresh fruits from the island. Usually one of the friendly staff are there that can answer questions and give reccomendations of things to do for the day.
-Snorkeling gear is available at no cost. Snorkeling area is as far as walking to the water in front of your bungalow stretching out to the waves breaking 100 years or more offshore.
-Some gardens and restaraunts are not very far from this site.
-In house kitchen is nice for making meals.

Con's

I'm having a difficult time thinking of any. If you check the history of some of my reviews you'll find I am not an easy sell either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rarotonga Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rarotonga Beach Bungalows

Address: P.O. Box 3045 | Rarotonga, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rarotonga Beach Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just five (5) deluxe beach bungalows clustered in a native village atmosphere, these units all offer the laid back and unique feeling of visiting the South Seas of the 1940's. All units front on a wide, white sand beach where the tropical lagoon in front is a national maritime protected area -- and,thus, allows endless snorkeling adventures. All bungalows are separate, free standing, Polynesian designed units. All have coconut thatch roofs, bamboo interior walls, colorful cloth on the ceiling and white sand at each bungalow entry. All are furnished with modern amenities. The property strives to offer the maximum BEACH fun with a 'spirit of the islands'. Nothing here is stuffy, snobby, stainless steel -- just a great secluded location for couples to enjoy the BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rarotonga Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Hotel Titikaveka
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rarotonga Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.