We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Poly a true Gem of the South Pacific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 6 Pay 4 PLUS MORE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Titikaveka
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The Little Poly a true Gem of the South Pacific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Staying at The Little Poly is truly a treat!
Recently we flew to Rarotonga. This will be our 4th time from Canada and our second stay at The Little Poly. Both times we have spent two weeks at the resort. A second stay there speaks volumes. This trip my Niece and her husband joined us to get married and spend their honeymoon at the resort. I will talk about the wedding specifically. We know the island extremely well and have chosen The Little Poly and continue to return to this resort for several reasons.

1. It is the best accommodation on the island as far as we are concerned. We stayed again in an Overbeach Are (Cabana). Each of the beachfront rooms are spacious, luxurious and well appointment. There are many genuine traditional Polynesian architectural appointments in the accommodation. The ocean view can be seen whether you are lounging outside on the day bed on your private deck, sitting in your indoor living room, or lying in bed. You have a magnificent view of the lagoon, reef and ocean from all points. The bathrooms are unique. You have a choice of the indoor shower or choosing to shower outside or use the jetted tub in your private outdoor spa area. A true romantic, luxurious touch!

2. The food. The day starts with the complimentary breakfast (wonderful) including: a large plate of fresh tropical, local fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and fresh hot muffins (hot breakfast available at a reasonable additional charge). I believe they will deliver it to your room also if you choose.. Sit on your deck and enjoy the stunning ocean view - I've never done that but I see some people do. There have been days when we have eaten all our meals at the resort. The food is fresh, presented well, and simply delicious. The chef is new from last year and he is doing a fantastic job! We've also enjoyed mid afternoon Tapas and cocktails by the pool. Also we have hosted cocktail parties on our private deck and had the kitchen deliver Tapas to our Cabana. I just tell them how much I want to spend ask their opinion for the number of people and Poof seamlessly and effortlessly it arrives (do remember to give them some advance notice).

3. Location/ beach....I make a point of walking all the beaches on the island. This resort is located on the most pristine beach! I have walked by all the low, medium and high end resorts and there are few located on this perfect beach. This stretch of beach is where the reef is the farthest away from the shore. This results in a nice sandy beach and sandy water access. Snorkeling is fantastic here. If you read the guides it will tell you that the best snorkeling is at the Fruits of Rarotonga. This public access spot is just down the beach. We also will go snorkeling there a couple of times but most times we just snorkel right in front of the resort or take the kayaks out and paddle around the reefs. When you get up early and the water is like a mirror you can watch the parrot fish with their tails out the water feeding on the coral, the waves off in the distant crashing on the reef. Stunning!

4. This is an adult only resort. It is tranquil, romantic, and well appointed. Staying there rejuvenates you. We feel totally relaxed returning home.

5. The Staff. Even though I mention this last, it doesn't mean this is the least important....quit the contrary, they make the resort the top notch resort that it is. Dorice and her staff do an amazing job! When you arrive you are greeted warmly by the staff and shown to your room. Amazingly many of the staff remember us. Each member will try to make your stay as perfect as possible. In the true Polynesian style the people show grace and genuine warmth. They effortlessly quietly do everything they can to make your stay memorable. We take full advantage of all their services, from booking dinner in the cafe, to laundry, to booking tours, suggestions on things to see & places to go. They will do anything they can to make your stay perfect. I noticed one change over last year. With the nightly turn down service they also change our towels again at night a credit to their constant goal to improve. If you have taken the chance to get to know these people you will be sad to say good bye, but once you have stayed there once I think you will be back. We no longer even look at other resorts. Why would we? We may stay elsewhere and regret it, wishing we had returned to The Little Poly!

6. The wedding. We were lucky enough to have my niece Heather and her soon to be husband Jeff join us to get married and spend their honeymoon at the resort. My niece used the service of the wedding director at the resort in planning her event a smart and efficient way to do it. Dorice (managing director) married them on the beach in front of the resort! A short 10 steps to the water. Stunning! We followed the service with tapas and cocktails...Fantastic.....they went for pictures, upon their return we had the reception where else but the perfect place on the island... The Little Poly Dining experience - the ambiance was stunning....the reflection of the moonlight in the infinite pool the tiki torches....the table set perfectly - it had the look and feel of a true high end wedding. The staff did an unbelievable job!! Once again they exceeded our expectations. If you are considering a wedding in a tropical destination you won't regret having it here! Ask Dorice to see the pictures Jeff and Heather Hess's wedding I know she is proud of what she and her team have accomplished, as she should be!

If it sounds like I have no complaints and I don't but certainly judge for yourself. If you do have a concern just mention it to the staff I'm sure they will do everything in their power to correct it and make your stay memorable.
In the last couple of years we have gone to Southern Florida - Miami Key West, Rio Dejanerio, Nice France - The French Riviera, Germany, Vancouver......Rarotonga is the farthest destination and yet we choose to return, the resort, the people, the sights, you truly feel welcome and relaxed.....we are starting to plan our next return trip....to get there is 20hrs for us...but it is worth it.
T & M Canada

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    39
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
231
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

First impressions were disastrous although not the fault of the hotel. We arrived very early morning (1am) having been transported from the airport to the hotel by an intermediary company only to find the hotel completely void of any staff. To cut a long story short the intermediary had not informed our hotel we were arriving, consequently it took the best part of an hour to track someone down to help. Absolutelty the worst welcome we have ever experienced and probably ever likely to.

We stayed in an Overbeach Are - seriously wonderful bungalow situated on the well kept beach and no more than a few paces from the sea. Having travelled around the whole island we didn't see anything to match it.

The standard 'inclusive' Tropical Breakfast was adequate and filling but could be vastly improved. A La Carte Breakfast is available at extra cost.

Service was generally very good although this did vary. Particular mentions go to the fabulously entertaining Billie and Isreli (apologies for the mispelling).

Food was of a high standard albeit the choice was a bit limited. Worth noting that you may wish to make a reservations as the hotel resturant is open to non residents - on one evening we were relegated to a rather uninvting table due to a couple of large bookings. On a positive point, room service is available at no extra chare, many of us made use of this service as it made for beautifully romantic dining experiences on our indivdual verandahs.

In summary this is a wonderfully stylish, private and very relaxing little resort, which with a bit more work could compete with the best - its just not there yet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

We have high standards, but not an endless budget, and as this was our honeymoon, it had to be right. Little Polynesian is right, in every way possible.
This is our second trip to Cook Islands and on this trip we started our honeymoon with 8 nights at Little Poly in a garden villa. Perfect. Large bedroom, great storage, lovely bathroom, kitchenette, extra outdoor spa and shower and all the other extras a room should have. The decor is lovely, no island kitsch. The more expensive, beachfront villas also look amaziing, but the garden villa gives you all you need, and a little more privacy.
The house beach is fabulous, and far better than the Muri beach experience, being more private and having a mix of reef and open beach. Little Poly is also 500m from the amazing "Fruits of Rarotonga Marine Reserve" which has the best snorkelling we have ever experienced.
The standout for us was the quality of the waitstaff. Incredibly professional, friendly and clearly loving their job. Every request/order met efficiently and promptly and with enjoyment...and the food.....we could have been eating at a top restaurant in and major city. The menu as excellent and the food, outstanding. We had dinner at the restaurant 4 times as well as visiting other local restaurants. Little Poly was the standout for food and service.
We will definitely be back and we would encourage anyone to consider Little Poly as an intimate alternative to the major resorts (Pacific, Rarotongan etc) and definitely an alternative to the Atiutaki resorts which left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

After a busy three week holiday in the wonderful New Zealand we checked into the beautiful Little Polynesian boutique hotel on Rarotaonga in the Cook Islands. Our thatched beach house could not have been closer to the sea and very private. The day bed set up on the outside deck provided us with wonderful views of the sea and the sounds of the surf made us relax instantly. The beach house is sublime with a wonderful layout including a huge indoor shower and a spa bath in the private outside courtyard. The snorkelling in the very safe lagoon right in front of us was lovely with crystal clear water and many colourful fish. . We dined out several times at locally recommended restaurants and the hotel food was five star especially the seared tuna. Tapas are served between 4.00pm and 6.00pm and along with a cocktail providea wonderful way to start an evening.This lovely hotel is the best we have stayed in and the accomodation was outstanding. The staff are very friendly, attentive but discreet. Treat yourselves, your worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

One of the most peaceful, relaxing and visually stunning spots in the world.

Spacious, clean and calming accommodation opening out onto gorgeous beach and lagoon views. We loved the daybed, outdoor spa bath and the fact that our bungalow was only 10 steps from the sea!

The staff were fantastically attentive but in a very non-intrusive way. The food was great, always local produce and beautifully presented.

We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We thought the Little Poly was fantastic, and have no idea why anyone wouldn't!

General: Lovely pool, clean communal areas.

Room: beautiful, clean, well appointed with a stunning view. Use of kayaks on the beach and snorkels too.

Staff: attentive without making you feel uncomfortable. Offered advice on things to do, places to eat etc.

Food: Delicious (Breakfast: Fruit, cereal, yoghurt, juice, coffee. Evening meal: limited
choice per night but all cooked and served to perfection).

Location: Island's not big enough for anywhere to be a bad location! Walked to the garden cafe just down the road for iced tea and muffins - very peaceful. Caught the bus to the main town. Did a tour with Raro tours, which we would recommend. And then did a bit of relaxing taking in the views.

P.S. Haven't rated value because the trip was booked for me and I have no idea of the cost!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I recently stayed at the Little Polynesian, after a much needed winter break. We arrived on the direct flight from Sydney early Sunday Morning, and were greated with a smile and friendliness from the front office manager, who assisted us to our room. The daily breakfast was fantastic! The staff were so helpful - in fact, I prefer to drink soy milk, and as there was not any currently on hand, one of the staff members jumped into their car and got some from a local shop for my stay.
Dinners and cocktails in the evening were a highlight. Great food, and service.
I cannot fault this property or staff. The Day Bed, outdoor private spa, large bathroom, large bedroom, absolute seaside location ... I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.