We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 6 Pay 4 PLUS MORE
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Titikaveka
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Little Polynesian for 3 nights for our 10th wedding anniversary - we had a beach front bungalow with spetacular views accross the lagoon. The staff were great and Vicki was especially helpful given we were on a whirl wind break - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived late at night and woke up to an awesome vista. One of the great things is that this is a boutique resort and at times you felt like you had the entire beach to yourself. The Little Polly came highly recommended to us and we look forward to visiting again - Richard & Felicity

Room Tip: Rooms at the left hand end facing the beach are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow you just made my day. Thank you so much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We loved having you here and as I said to you now you know why your mum and dad love it with us. All the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    39
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
233
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I had 10 days at little poly, we loved everything about it, the beach front cottages are stunning inside and out, rooms were serviced twice a day , very private , stunning beach with everything u could ask for at hand!,

The restaurant was also fantastic, yummy deserts

This was an amazing holiday , staff were wonderful and could not do enough for us, they even out a bought a birthday card for my husband as I forgot to bring one with me!!

We will b back, thanks sooo much,

Trish and Shane Doughty

Room Tip: Beach front villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kia orana It was really loving having you stay with us and I am thankful you took the time to post about you stay in trip TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing again in the future. Kind regards

Vicki Wells Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Little Poly for our honeymoon and are very pleased we did. We arrived late at night and were warmly welcomed. Staff are all very friendly and professional, especially the lovely lady (who's name escapes me) who does housekeeping and doubles as the masseuse! We learnt a lot aboutnthe island, its people and what to see and do during a massage, thank you! We loved the privacy of the end Beachfront Bungalow (no.10), the peace & quiet of Little Poly being child free, the day bed with over looking the beach, the comfy bed, and especially the private outdoor spa & shower!

Tiny tiny negative towards the food and restaurant, we had cocktails and tapas one night and werent overly impressed. The breakfast is rather simple but nice, but we expected more variety at breakfast from the best resort on the island. Unfortunately weve had much better breakfasts in cheaper Thai resorts. It was also a shame that when coming home from diving or dinner, the room was lovely and tidy but there was rarely drinking water supplied, even after we'd asked twice. Its the little things that matter.. We hired a motorbike and loved exploring the island all day and returning to the 5 star quality and comfort of Little Poly, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were on a cruise and called this hotel about coming on a day pass. They were so prompt and courteous (and welcoming) in their reply. Price was very reseasonable. ANd the staff were delightful. THe hotel itself...perfectly lovely....the beach and pool area....spectacular. We went with a group of 8....we all want to go back!! NOte: It was off season, they may not do day passes when hotel is full.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for posting a review of our resort. I am glad you thought of us for the day. You are correct we are not always able to accommodate day passes but we are willing to if we can. We hope to see you again in our beautiful resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

First of all you must have an overbeach bungalow - the others are pointless. The outlook from the beach front ones is to die for. I read about the lack of privacy from other reviewers but honestly in seven days I think about 3 couples walked past the beach each day and anyway they are 50 metres away. Maybe the problem was the shutters all around the base of the walls. Close them if you want! (then use the air con) Personally I left them open and enjoyed the warm breeze across the room. The resurant / pool area looks great. The menu is okay, and I mean just okay, nothing to moan about though, very tasty but could be better. The people make it (I don't know about the owners, just talking staff here). All of them without exception took great care of us and were happy and outgoing in a genuine way. Special thanks go to Marilyn for being the calm happy face of breakfast/lunch and house keeping were lovely and warm/kind. I would definately come back here.

Room Tip: Anything but beachfront is pointless here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our resort. We feel our resort is a gem and I am happy you feel the same way.

Ka kite ano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the Little Poly for six nights on honeymoon and were immediately pleased with choice - we wanted a quiet place, no kids (we have two young ones at home and wanted a break!) and excellent location and service and that is what we got. It is located in a quiet southeastern village but not far from anything as is the case in the Cooks. We stayed in a beach bungalow which was unbelievable - right on the beach, great size and facilities and very clean (cleaned and turned down daily). Spa and shower in private rear courtyard and beach facing deck and day lounge tops the view of the lagoon. The lagoon has some of the best snorkelling on the mainland and the beach is very quiet. The staff at the resort will do anything for you and are very polite and friendly. Happy hour cocktails are fantastic too. Eat at the restaurant or walk either side of the resort to the Sands or the Gardens. Perfect location and resort - want to go back for a future anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for posting a lovely review about our resort. I am so glad you stay with us during such a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for six nights at the Little Poly for our fortieth wedding anniversary. The staff were excellent and the Over Ocean Bure was fabulous with everything we needed. We found the food to be good but the choices were limited and they obviously have some stock issues - served a 2012 wine listed as 2010, no bananas at breakfast, beers marked for sale only as a pack not for resale singly. The resort is fabulous but small maintenance issues are apparent when at the rack rate charged it should be perfect,still I gather it is the best resort on the island and we certainly had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for posting a review about us. I am sorry there were a few issues of concern. We do hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.