We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
hunter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for six nights at the Little Poly for our fortieth wedding anniversary. The staff were excellent and the Over Ocean Bure was fabulous with everything we needed. We found the food to be good but the choices were limited and they obviously have some stock issues - served a 2012 wine listed as 2010, no bananas at breakfast, beers marked for sale only as a pack not for resale singly. The resort is fabulous but small maintenance issues are apparent when at the rack rate charged it should be perfect,still I gather it is the best resort on the island and we certainly had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for posting a review about us. I am sorry there were a few issues of concern. We do hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    44
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
243
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Little Poly in March 2013 for 6 nights for our 25th wedding annniversary which was absolutely stunning in our well appointed Beach Are that overlooked the beautiful logoon waters. This was our first experience in the Cook Islands and we loved every minute of it. Sam and Vicki were the perfect hosts and made our stay along with our anniversary a memorable one. They could not be more accomodating and the private anniversary dinner organised on the beach decorated with coconuts in a heart shape, rose petals and candles etc was the icing on the cake - thanks Tuika! You can conveniently hire your motor scooter from here which is a must to get around the island and is cheap. Food and service was exceptional and staff were so friendly. Thanks Vicki for effortlessly and seamlessly organising everything for us including our day trip to Aititukai which was fantastic. We have stayed at numerous beach holiday spots over the years and this would be one of our best yet! Definitely will be back again. Glen & Sue

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. It was really great having you both here for such a special occasion. I will pass on your comments to our hard working staff. We all love to know the things we do are appreciated.


Best of luck to you both.

Ka kite ano (See you again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just arrived back from 5 nights in Rarotonga, the highlight was the couple of nights we spent at the Little Polynesian. Our room was an Are on the Beach, which was beautifully situated on the beach looking out over the lagoon. The room had a lovely modern interior, which was serviced twice daily by the exceptionally friendly cleaners.

All staff were wonderful and any request was actioned immediately.

Special mention to Sam the manager and the gardener who were both great.

A lovely place to relax.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Are on the Beach definitely a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for posting such a lovely review of our resort. I will pass on your regards to Sam and Papa Moni.

We look forward to seeing you here in our beautiful resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch. We checked out nearly every resort on the island and this one is by far and away the very best. When we go back we are staying here. Magnificent pool, beach, food was excellent, and although we didn't stay the rooms looked good. The most stunning location on the island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for taking up some of your valuable time to write a lovely review for us. We look forward to seeing you here in the future. We feel we have a little treasure here and it is lovely to be able to share it with appreciative guests like you.

Vicki Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

we were staying at a resort on the other side of the island but met Ovia (one of the managers) at the golf club & she said we should have a look at the resort. We stopped in for lunch the following sunday & it was amazing!!! Stunning pool, great snorkelling & food was lovely!! We were even allowed to use the kayak to go out snorkelling. It is pricey to stay here, but for honeymooners it would be fantastic. Quiet & Relaxing x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about our resort and restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your lunch etc here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this amazing place in November 2011, we had a fantastic time except for a few negative points. The room service , restaurant service and food in general were points I raised at the time we arrived home. Whilst Vicki and the staff always acknowledge these points in their comments and make very nice replies and say they will pass these on in their replies, nothing is obviously being done. Guests are still bringing up the poor room service and food in the more recent comments. When you are charging the prices Little Poly ask you really need to take action from guests comments!

Room Tip: Room 3 is excellent but make sure the room staff top up the condiments regularly, no fun in running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Little Poly is in the most amazing part of Rarotonga. The beach villas are spectacular with equally great views. Sunbathing, snorkelling and swimming are only steps from your door.

We too were here when the film crew came through for a new campaign for the Cook Island Tourism. The film crew were capturing the best tourist spots and it was great to know that of all the places you can stay on the island, the crew felt this was the place to be. While filming, the crew were polite, professional and constantly checked they were not in our way. They were friendly and we had the opportunity to meet a group of amazing people who since their arrival had become very passionate about showing the world the beauty of the Cook Islands.

If this is not on your list of places to visit - add the Cook Islands with at least a few nights at Little Poly to your list! It's absolutely beautiful...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of our resort. It is interesting how 2 peoples view of the same event can be so very different. As I said to our previous reviewer we did find it a privilege for our little resort to be representing the Cook Islands in a promotion video. I am so glad you enjoyed our little corner of paradise. We hope to see you here again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.