We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed in an over the beach bungalow priced at $950 AUS / night. While the rooms themselves have a gorgeous view the service is terrible, food average, cleanliness not fantastic either. The staff on reception are rude, and house keeping lacked, we had to ring and ask them to bring toilet paper over to our room. This "resort" is not worth the money you'll pay - they even charge you extra for wifi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Ouch!! I am so sorry we were not able to meet your needs. You are correct having to ask for toilet paper is not acceptable and I have spoken to housekeeping about this. If we were aware of your other concerns I can guarantee we would have tried to address them before you left so that your holiday was not spoiled by things we could possibly have attended too. Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor as any comments we can learn from are helpful.

Kind regards

Vicki Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    53
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
266
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Little Polynesian for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived we were greeted so warmly by hotel manager Sam, that we instantly felt at home. The resort is absolutely beautiful, without a doubt the best on the island. We stayed in one of the beachfront villas. The beach was literally a couple of steps away from the front door, with our own little deck lounge seperating the two. I cannot tell you the amount of times we fell asleep on the deck to the sound of the ocean. The food was amazing, I strongly recommend the Seafood Pasta, absolutely mouth watering, and the smells coming from the kitchen at lunch and dinner was amazing. We always looked forward to the tropical breakfast, as it was always fresh and plenty of it.
The staff were so welcoming at the resort, making us feel so comfortable. We cannot give enough credit to Sam, anything we wanted - he went out of his way to get for us. Absolute paradise. We have already decided we're going back for our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kia orana

I am sorry I did not get to meet you guys but I am so glad Sam was there for you. He is a great Resort Manager and a real people person. I will pass on your lovely comments to all concerned. Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review.

Kind regards

Vicki Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I booked a garden villa at this beautiful hotel. Upon arrival, they upgraded us to a beachfront villa, I assume because they weren't that busy. It was perfection. The food and service at the hotel surpassed our experiences at the other places we stayed in Rarotonga and Aitutaki. I think there are better snorkeling spots down at Muri Beach and in the waters right in front of The Sanctuary Hotel further to the west, but I would much rather stay here. Great hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We went off peak and this got us upgraded to the exceptional beach front villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kia orana

"Perfection" thank you so much for that. That is high praise indeed and we hope to continue to live up to it. Thank you for taking up some of your valuable time to post such a lovely review of our resort. I have to tell you though that one of the dive companies (The Dive Centre) says we have the best diving area on the island. Just saying LOL.

Kind regards

Vicki Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Little Polynesian is a boutique resort on the southern side of Rarotonga. It consists mostly of beachside bungalows and a couple of smaller garden bungalows. Whilst some of the other resorts situated at nearby Muri have better access to the lagoon and small islands, the Little Polynesian's beach location is pretty and convenient for swimming and other watersports. The Little Polynesian is also a more pleasant, less touristy environment and the bungalows are a very light, clean and modern design with plenty of room. The only potential improvement could be to provide a small clothes horse to hang wet swimware and towels, but otherewise they are very comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. As an example, the GM Sam drives guests to nearby restaurants when getting buses or taxis proved problematic.
Whilst the restaurant's menu isn't extensive, the food is good value and of high quality.
The island's bus company passes the Little Polynesian on the hour and 20 past the hour (one going clockwise the other, anticlockwise) so transport around Rarotonga is relatively easy. However, if you want more flexibility (particularly when travelling on the weekend when the buses are less frequent) you may be advised to rent a car or bike.

Room Tip: Whilst it is never overly noisy or raucous, you may want to avoid the 2 bungalows adjacent to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our beautiful resort. You are right, because we take up quite a long stretch of beach you can feel like you have the beach to yourself. This will never happen on Muri.
We hope to one day see you again in our little corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had such a great experience at the Little Poly resort. We stayed over Christmas 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and very helpful (especially Ovaia) and the resort was gorgeous. Our room had amazing amenities like an outdoor spa and shower. The food was really delish and fairly reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone that asked. It was quiet, relaxing and tranquil, exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for posting such a lovely review about our resort and staff. I will pass your comments on to them. We do have a beautiful little corner of paradise and I am so glad you had an enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to the staff.

Ka kite ano (see you again)

Vicki Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

...truly the hidden pearl of the Pacific. The Little Poly defines peace, serenity and tranquility. Luxury and modesty all in one!

This amazing little resort was the most tranquil, peaceful and magical place we have traveled to in a long time. The staff are amazing and Sam Napa the GM has and continues to do a phenomenal job running the facilities.

What impressed us the most is the hygiene of the facility. The staff are all professional and very particular for their guest's comfort.

The restaurant is great, the drinks are awesome. We got upgraded to a beach bungalow. This was spectacular.

I strongly recommend you ask Sam or Ovaia to help you book a scooter/bike to get around. Stop by ShipWreck and the Hidden Cafe for a drink. The water is just perfect!

We stayed here from Dec. 13-19. There were not children on the resort at the time.

Room Tip: ask for a beach bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments they are written so beautifully you sound like a travel writer. I would love to post them on our website if that is ok. I loved your heading "The best kept secret of the Cooks. As you can imagine from our perspective we don't want to be a secret, but I understand it from your perspective. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, still small enough to make you feel like part of a bigger family. Staff were great, we got even invoted to a party and whenwver there was any truoble (transfers, tour operators ans auh), ver helpful. Only negative thing (especially regarding the price) was the breakfast, which was nice but with only little variety became a bit too foreseeable after a couple of days

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Assistant Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Kia orana

Thank you for staying with us and also for posting a lovely review on Trip Adviser. We loved having you both at our staff party. I am glad you found the staff great. I will pass on your comments to them. I will also pass on your comments about the breakfast buffet to ensure there is a little more variety on the breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.