We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Invercargill, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Accommodation average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed her in July welcome was great, however the cost of staying here certainly was expensive for what you get. Jacuzzi was nice during the evening, however it was a basic room with kitchen and with own enclosed area so no sharing with others which is great. Breakfast there wasn't a lot of choice and it seemed if you wanted service you had to go and ask for it as apposed to staff coming and see what it is we would like. Suggest that you get televison channels sorted as there is only 1 channel would of expected more than that for the price of staying her.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Kia orana Julie

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am happy to advise you we are currently upgrading our system to include sky tv. You were in our Pia Tiare or garden room which unfortunately is not as luxurious as our Over Beach Are's and do not have the beautiful balcony overlooking the pristine lagoon.

Kind regards

Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    50
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
260
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pordenone, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 7 days at Little Polynesian in September 2012 for our honeymoon. The overall impression is really positive but there are a couple of negative aspects.
Positive: the resort is really beautiful, clean and organized with a good restaurant and a friendly and helpful staff: people always have a smile on their faces and make you feel at home. We stayed in a beach bungalow, simple but beautiful, all made in natural wood, with all comforts, including a small private garden at the back with a Jacuzzi and a patio at the front with an amazing view of the ocean.
Unfortunately, there are also some negative points: the weather had always been bad except for the first day and half of the last day of our stay. It rained only once but there was an annoying, high, cold wind that blew constantly and it was always cloudy. We tried to spend some time on the beach regardless the wind but it was impossible, we were freezing! Later we’ve been told that Rarotonga, having a mountain at the centre of the island, is subject to this kind of weather – we didn’t know (and it’s not written in any guide) or we would have spent less days in Raro and more in Aitutaki where the weather was nice and the island is gorgeous. It was difficult to sleep well in a bungalow in front of the ocean because of the heavy seas and the high wind.
Because of the bad weather our Jacuzzi was always dirty and nobody cleaned it in 7 days, so we couldn't use it. The cleanliness is another negative aspect: whereas the restaurant, the resort in general, the beach and the garden were clean, we can’t say the same of our room. There were two room services a day but, despite that, the room and especially the bathroom was always quite dirty. We timed the room service and it lasted 3 minutes! Not enough to clean a room.
Last negative point is the variety of dishes at the restaurant at lunch and dinner (breakfast was plentiful and very very good). The food was excellent and really well cooked but the menu only had 4 entrees and 4 main dishes. We stayed for 7 days, so we basically ate the same things every day. Even though the food was good we would have liked more choice.
That been said, we enjoyed our time at Little Poly, the place and people are really nice, but 7 days in Raro are probably too much and the weather was really disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review about our resort. It is really unfortunate when you come to a tropical island and the weather does not come to the party. I have passed your review on to our Housekeeping Manager who is going straight down to her staff to speak to them. You are correct turnaround time of 3 minutes is not sufficient to do a thorough job. She was not impressed that your bathroom was not clean. This is unacceptable. I am sorry about your spa not being cleaned whilst you were here as well. I wish I knew as I would have made sure these were done properly. Saying that though, you should not have had to advise us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked 4 nights in Beach Are #7 (bungalow). We had some great positives, and some surprising negatives during our stay. The positives are the fantastic bungalow itself, with a beautiful interior, amazing views straight out to the water, and the private outdoor spa at the back. The gazebo and day bed on the deck is a perfect spot to relax. You're right over the sand, under the palms, and looking out to the beach right beside you, just gorgeous. While there are open slats (with insect screens, and closable) around the bungalows, we didn't hear too much at all from the bungalows either side of us. Breakfast was very good each day, and we enjoyed two lunches and two dinners at the restaurant. We found the food to be especially good quality (we heard about the great Filipino chefs they now have), and really enjoyed our meals. The service from Nicole and Marylyn was great. The negatives for us started before we arrived at the Little Poly. We had dropped by the previous day (while staying elsewhere) to book a transfer from our first resort, to the Little Poly. Unfortunately, the following day, it never turned up. We called after 30 minutes. Oops, we were on the books but they'd forgotten to book our transfer (the Little Poly doesn't have its own van, so uses another service). After another 30 minutes and a second phone call, a cab turned up. The Assistant Manager, Vicki, was very apologetic and offered us a free lunch in recompense. On the second day, we arrived back from an outing at about 1:30pm to find the room wasn't made up. We asked at reception about when this would usually happen, hint hint. By 3:30pm still no room service at all. Another phonecall and someone turned up. Whoops, they'd forgotten to service our bungalow that day – there's only 10 of them! Day 3 there was no English Breakfast tea to be had, they had run out. A basic staple for the tourists, you'd think. Day 4, we ordered a room service dinner. Later, there was noise outside, then our phone rang, "you're not there?". Ahh, yes we are, you tried to deliver our room service dinner to the bungalow next door! Finally the food arrived, and I was surprised to see the lovely meals were transferred (all around the resort, in our case) completely uncovered. The Little Poly has lovely bungalows, good food, and a beautiful setting, but it seems quite disorganised. Yes, Rarotonga is laid back, and that's relaxing, but when you're paying a fairly good amount, you do expect a certain level of service. Interestingly, when several locals asked where we were staying, our response caused raised their eyebrows and a sympathetic look. The Little Poly doesn't have such a good reputation locally, it seems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Kia orana

Oh my goodness we defintely dropped the ball in your case. I am extremely sorry about that. I would like to advise you we have now purchased our own van so no longer have to rely souly on others. I have spoken to the restaurant staff about firstly, ensuring they have the correct room and secondly, as you correctly pointed out, your food should have been covered.

I would like to assure you, your concerns have been listened to and actioned.

We do hope to see you again in our little corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Cannot express how romantic this resort is. The chef created a magnificent meal using the fresh yellowfin that we had caught and delivered it to our bungalow. The private outside courtyard with double spa bath is a beautiful way to end a perfect day. Would definately reccommend this for honeymoon couples.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Kia orana

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review of our little corner of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Returned again to the Little Poly for a last minute holiday. The are's were still great condition and the service very good. We could not get out favourite number 10 but we stayed in two of the others (number 1 & 5 - no. 5 was still a little noisy as you could hear staff set up for breakfast as it was next to the pool).

The weather this time of year was very windy which made the water a little rougher but since Little Poly has one of the better beaches on the island, it was still good (note the water is not tropically warm this time of year - a few like us ventured into the water but the snorkelling was not as good as the previous time we went in summer).

The service at the hotel was still of high standard and the staff very friendly. They were happy to help with any needs or advice. The only thing still not improved was the breakfast - for the accommodation price it should include some form of hot breakfast, else it is about an additional $15-$20 which is the going rate all over the island.

But if you look past this, the accommodation is quite luxury and of great design with direct views of the water if you are staying on the beachfront (if financially possible try not to stay in garden rooms as the beach rooms and the views are not too be missed - and you will wish you were staying in one of these).

The king bed, wardrobes with lights that turn on when you open, double sinks in bathroom for each person, great indoor and outdoor shower, outdoor jacuzzi, kitchenette, lounge and our favourite, lying on the front decking area that is lined with mattresses and cushions makes you not want to leave to explore the island.

Everything is clean, crisp and modern - a small luxury hotel ....

Room Tip: Try not to get room 5 or 6 near pool/kitchen although number 5 is better than 6. Stay in beach front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Kia orana

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were unable to have the room you prefer. I will seriously try to ensure we can meet your room needs in future. I am so glad you had a lovely stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock north nz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a beautifully appointed resort, small, intimate and beautifully furnished.my husband and I had a wonderfully relating stay, great sofas on the balcony overlooking the sea.the villa was very roomy,comfortable and well appointed.great shower and private jaccusi bath outside.
Lovely friendly staff made you feel so welcome.The restaurant pool area was picture perfect, only downside was the food not up to the rest of the experience,good. Ur not fantastic.but there are plenty of great eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront villa beautiful.but the courtyard rooms a good ,just no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Kia orana

Thank you for your review we always appreciate constructive criticism. We are currently working on getting the dining experience up to standard with the rest of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a modern small hotel with clean rooms and clean bathroom. It is new and stylish. The stuff is friendly. The bungallows are close to each other but have their own little terrace. Food is good. Lagoon is nice. Hotel is located in the village itsellf.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to post positive things about our beautiful resort. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.