We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PEACE AND TRANQUILITY ON PARADISE ISLAND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Little Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Little Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“PEACE AND TRANQUILITY ON PARADISE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at this beautiful small hotel as part of our world tour and had a wonderful relaxing holiday. The accomodation was excellent and the food generally was good. Menu did not change while we stayed and specials were only offered on some days.The only negatives we could mention was the television reception was not acceptable for the amount they charge for the room. Room serviceing was good but not at regular times of day and we had to ask each time for the coffee/tea sachets etc in room to be replenished. Staff were very friendly and very helpful, especially Reanee and Christine. 'Think a little 'Customer Service' training would not go amiss alround. The island and it's people are amazing and we hope their way of life never changes.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 4 are best for privacy and sea view/proximity
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    49
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
254
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

If like us you are looking for a child free, private and peaceful holiday then look no further. If you cant enjoy Little Poly, with its intimate atmosphere, spectacular views, and warm and caring staff then you wont be happy anywhere. The manager Alex, his muffin making wife Christine, the always smiling Billie, Vicki in the front office, Nowie the gardner, and all the rest of the staff, helped to make our holiday a very special one. We enjoyed every moment of our 10 days at Little Poly. The beachfront Ares are magnificent. Wonderful views, very comfortable and private, and the twice daily service was top notch. We ate dinner in about 50% of the time and never came away dissatisfied with the meal or still hungry. The tropical breakfast around the pool was basic but was enough to keep us happy each morning. We thoroughly enjoyed the 2 romantic dinners which were included in our package and were very special. One dinner was setup beside the pool area and the other was set up where the day bed usually sits on the balcony of our Are. (# 1) The meals were excellent and the atmosphere that Billie twice created was spectacular. (Thanks again Billie) Loved the rest of the island too. We found the Polynesian people to be very friendly and helpful, especially if you are able to convert to their time frame, which is 'Raro time'. A much slower pace than we are used to back home, but very easy to handle when you're away on holidays. We look forward to returning to Little Poly some time in the future knowing our 'Little Touch of Paradise' is waiting to spoil us again. Thanks to you all from Robyn & Michael in Melbourne

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a beach front Are
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in June for the last part of our honeymoon. Reading all prior reviews we booked Are 2 away from the main reception. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. We did not have a TV in the room, which we then requested but it is pointless as there is no reception (although you can watch DVD's) but with views like you have from the room, you don't mind.
The breakfast is very basic but the dinner more than makes up for it. The menu changed everyday but desserts alternated every other day and I would look forward to the semi chocolate souffle which was amazing! All the staff are very helpful and friendly but Vicky and Billie stood out.
The kayaking and snorkelling gear were provided for free and great to see the amazing fish and coral right outside our room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Little Polynesian for 4 nights as part of a 2 week honeymoon to the Cook Islands. Here is a summary of the positives and negatives..

POSTIVES
- beautiful villas with excellent sea views, lovely fitout, great bathrooms and well serviced everyday. the day bed on the balcony was awesome.
- excellent beach out front which was very quiet and had beautiful sunsets
- fantastic snorkelling right out from the beach
- generally very good food from the restaurant and lunch and dinner
- some very good staff - Billy was fantastic (best staff member by far) and Vicky was also very helpful
- great massages arranged on our balcony

NEGATIVES
- breakfast was VERY average for the price you're paying per night. Cheap supermarket white bread, cereal, fruit and muffins occasionally. The worst part was that the quality varied so much over our stay. The first morning there was homemade bread, warm muffins, great coffee and a wide variety of lovely fruit (we also had Billie serving us which was great). The second morning there was no decent bread, no muffins, we were told to serve ourself coffee and it was terrible and the fruit was minimal and covered in ants. I complained and it was quite alot better the next day but then the 4th day it was back to being terrible again.
- on arrival we were given no information about the hotel eg where breakfast was/timing, snorkelling, activites etc but were just shoved towards our room and told to read the manual. We saw other guests given a detailed tour by Alex (who i think was a manager but he didn't speak to us at all until we got on our transfer to the airport)
- lack of airport transfer was disappointing, again given how much you're paying i'd expect an airport pickup like the Pacific Resort does.

Room Tip: I think villas 1-4 were the best because closer to the sea but private. Villas 5 & 6 next to poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed a week at the Little Polynesian for the first leg of our Honeymoon to the Cook Islands. We had a great experience, and are happy we made the choice to stay there.

The location and beachfront are absolutely spectacular. Particularly great, in our opinion, was that it is not right next door to any other resorts or hotels .. So the beach is very secluded. Also great was that the snorkeling off the beach is pretty darn great .. As long as you can get out in the water on a less-windy day.

The staff was very friendly and hospitable .. The room (we had beachfront are #10) was huge, clean, and had gorgeous views right out to the beach. The housekeepking was great, everything was kept very clean, and any requests were responded to.

Our only complaint (but this could also fall more into a 'personal preference' category) was with the tropical breakfast. It really is not all that great... Just some basic cereal, some muffins, and a few types of fruit. One day there was ants crawling on the fruit.. One day they said they were going to charge me for toast, but then the other day said it was complimentary. And it seemed like the amount of coffee in my french press kept decreasing over the course of the week until I said something. I understand this is a boutique hotel, but they do have a full restaurant, and I guess I would expect a little bit more given the price you pay to stay at the Little Poly.

We discovered the Saltwater Cafe down the road and went there for breakfast a few times .. really tasty .. if you have a vehicle and want a hot breakfast at a reasonable price - head over there.

Overall, a great experience at the Little Poly. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and i recently returned home from our honeymoon at the Cook Islands and were amazed by house gorgeous our resort, The Little Poly was!!! Alex and Vicki were so friendly and welcoming! Our beach front room was absolutely amazing! Room service was fantastic also, we never used the same towel more than once. My husband and i both agree, the little poly was by far the best resort on the island. The tropical breakfast was delicious and the beach was just gorgeous. We would defintely be staying at the little poly if we ever return to the Cook Islands!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We just got back from our honeymoon stay at the Little Poly. It was our first time to Rarotonga and the Little Poly exceeded our expectation. We were warmly welcomed and the staff were always ready to help book anything we needed from car hire to day tours. The rooms were clean and the view....well just...spectacular! The buffet breakfast offered was delicious (especially the muffins) and the restaurant food was changed daily to ensure the freshest food. Every meal we ate there was fresh and tasty.

The location of the hotel is on a beautiful side of the island. After exploring the island in the days we were there, I can say without a doubt, that the Little Poly is the best hotel on the Island! (in terms of location, service, view and food).

If we ever return to the Cook Islands, Little Polynesian will be the only place we will stay. A special mention to Billie who gave us the best service ever and was always happy and smiling! Thanks Billie - You made our stay even more memorable!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpoly, Front Office Manager at Little Polynesian Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Wow high praise indeed. Thanks for that we are working hard to keep our guests happy and it is comments like yours that helps boost the moral of the staff. I will let Billy know your comments about her. She will love that. We hope to be able to see you here again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Polynesian Resort

Address: PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Humble As Our NameOur facilities have all been completed upgraded to provide you with everything you need to experience the finest Polynesian experience that you can imagine. Here at the Little Polynesian we take great pride in our name, to us it signifies everything we have aimed to share... a humble, intimate, luxurious and yet remarkably friendly environment to warm your heart and recharge your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Little Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Polynesian Hotel Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Titikaveka
Little Polynesian Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.