We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Postcard Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Titikaveka, Cook Islands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Thames, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Picture Postcard Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just got back from a 6 day stay at the Moana Sands Villas. With just 6 villas the accommodation is very private. The villas are huge and have absolutely everything you could want - right down to the tea light candles. The snorkelling is just a few steps outside your villa and was the best on the island - water crystal clear and lots of fish and coral. The staff that service the apartments are so friendly and nothing is a bother. We would highly recommend this accommodation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We returned to Christchurch two weeks ago after spending a week at Moana Sands Hotel and would rush back there in a moment. The delux room on the top floor was wonderful and airy and oh so quiet. The staff there were so friendly and nothing was any trouble for them to accommodate us. However, I must say James on the front desk was simply wonderful with a huge smile on his face the whole time and so polite and happy all the time. Thank you James! Marea and Barry Lake

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just got back from our honeymoon and stayed at the Moana Sands Hotel and had a great time. The fact it only had 17 rooms, meant it was nice and quiet and well looked after. We did have a deluxe room which was on the 3rd floor, so no walking right out onto the sand like rooms below, but were really happy we made that call as the walk down was short and sweet and the views more than made up for it. The room was really clean, big, all open plan with a kitchenette, dining room etc... and the restaurant was great too, although shame it wasnt open for lunch. We did a fair bit of looking around and still think that the beach outside the hotel was one of the best on the island (personally we thought it was nicer than Muri). I think we were the youngest by at least 10 years (early 30's) so it was very quiet and laid back. The Hotel staff were nice and friendly and were happy to help us with all our questions about the best places to eat on the island. There is no swimming pool but no need with such a perfect beach right there. We snorkled, kayaked and played petanque with coconuts, all round it was a fab holiday. Look forward to going back.

Room Tip: I would go for the deluxe room on the 3rd floor, there was more space and the views were really amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We had booked to stay in the hotel but on arriving were told we were being moved to villas . The villas are very comfortable and clean and the fact you step out onto the beach is awesome . We were told we could be picked up if we wanted to eat at the main restaurant .
We had our 18 month old with us and villa furniture got rearranged so it was a bit safer. It was easy to arrange a babysitter for the odd night out.
I wasn't that impressed by the reception at the main hotel . Staff seemed a bit disinterested and not a great atmosphere in restaurant . Happy hour was a bit sad as bar not well stocked and drinks not much cheaper .
Overall was glad we had been moved .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the villas for the self catering option. Simply said it was great. The villa itself was spacious, clean, very well serviced and right on the beach. There were two large double bedrooms each with their own bathroom. The kitchen/lounge/dining room was large and well appointed. Snorkeling was as good as anywhere on the island. There was a good store across the road and several eating options close by. We would certainly look at staying their again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a lovely 6 days sharing with friends, a spacious well appointed villa right on the beach front.
It was wonderful waking up to such a beautiful view and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The ground floor was very convenient for easy access to the beach.
No swimming pool but we didn't miss it as we could enjoy swimming and snorkeling at any time of the day right in front of our villa.
Thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we booked two rooms at moana sands for a wedding, as the bridle party had booked all of the villas, then we found out the villas and motel are at two different locations about a ten minute drive from each other,(made it hard for our "bridesmaid" daughter to be part of the group) we hired a car as the local bus service only runs once an hour and the drivers were rude,, dont go into the town on sunday as everything is closed. James at reception at the motel is very polite/helpful and has a great laugh, never stops smiling ,,thank you james ,,the restaurant was great the food was great, thanks tony,,the floors in the rooms were sticky as mentioned in other reviews we also had a towel at the end of the bed to try to stop the sand getting in the bed "highland paradise tour" was great, george is the best tour guide ever

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas

Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel is located at Titikaveka on the southern coast of the island. There are six ground floor beachfront studios, six first floor beachfront studios & five top floor deluxe beachfront studios. We have four sets of interconnecting rooms (two on ground floor & two on first floor). All rooms are ABSULOTE beachfront, each with its own private balcony. Snorkelling equipment, Kayaks & beach towels are complimentary to guests. All rooms have a small kitchenette, LCD TV’s with SKY, air-conditioning & are all non-smoking. We have a hotel BBQ on the beach that is available for guests to use otherwise The Pawpaw Patch Restaurant is open daily for Breakfast & Dinner, seven days a week.Moana Sands Beachfront Villas are located at Vaimaanga, a five mins drive away from Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel. There are six villas; three on the ground floor & three upstairs. Each villa has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All villas are ABSOLUTE beachfront, each with its own patio or balcony, Modern kitchen, Spacious open-plan lounge/dining, TV/DVD/Music System/ipod dock/Sky TV/Wifi internet. Guests have access to complimentary snorkelling gear, kayaks & beach towels. Units are fully serviced six days per week & guests are provided with a Complimentary breakfast starter pack on arrival. A BBQ on the beach is available for guests to use. All villas are air-conditioned and non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel And Villas
Moana Sands Beachfront Titikaveka
Hotel Moana Sands Beachfront
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.