We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Classic Tropical Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royale Takitumu to your Saves list
Royale Takitumu
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kangaloon NSW
1 review
“For Classic Tropical Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want the quintessential tropical unstressed venue, this is for you. The clever/restful design of the accommodation balances privacy with views and access to the beach. No better warm, peaceful, physically beautiful recovery contrast to the rigours of your working life. And then, if you want exercise, snorkel a lot, walk or run on the semi-deserted beach (no hustlers) or paddle their excellent canoes, or if you are serious, get Pa to walk you over the central mountains. Then there are the charming Rarotongans and their fabulous food, particularly the fish. Apart from anything else it is a relief to be in a place the Nanny State has not caught up with. Just relaxed cheerful comfortable live and let live. Ozzie.

Room Tip: bungalows at the front are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Kia Orana Ozzie and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It was great meeting you, and we are so glad that you enjoyed both your stay at Royale Takitumu and your experience on Rarotonga. We hope your travels return you to our private piece of paradise very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
237
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place really is a gem and is everything that the website promises!!
The villas are excellent, spacious and well fitted throughout.
The VIP villas are absolute beachfront with amazing views!
#9 is the pick with private access and own outdoor sitting area..... highly recommended and worth the extra dollars!
Staff are fabulous.... extremely helpful and the morning tea on Tuesdays is a great little touch!
Not many places like this anymore..... so peaceful and relaxing!!
Hope to return..... sometime soon!!

Room Tip: Villa #9 VIP without a doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Bev and thanks for your Paradise review of Royale Takitumu. What a wonderful review! Thanks so much for your very kind words, and like you, we hope that you get to return - sometime soon! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from perfect holiday at Royale Takitumu . A perfect location, customer service and accommodation. We could not fault anything. This is my second trip back and I am planning my next holiday ! Every thought and care, given by staff and management provided a perfect holiday with privacy in beautiful garden surroundings. The view of the lagoon from the Villa was unbelievable and the beach, a step away, was private and perfect for swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. I recommend Royale Takitumu as the best place for best holiday of your dreams. They know how to provide paradise and ensure you enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Gabrielle and thanks so much for your Paradise Heaven review of Royale Takitumu. There is nothing we treasure more than when guests choose to return to Royale Takitumu for their holiday, year after year. To us, this is the ultimate compliment. We do hope that your next holiday includes a visit to Royale Takitumu - we can't wait to see you again, very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Best spot on the island. Best service and best snorkel spot. Rooms are great. These folks know how to treat people right. They will bend over backwards to please the customers then fade into the background to let you enjoy your stay with them.. They are a wealth of information and will advise you on where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: Choose ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana and thanks for your BEST review of Royale Takitumu. We most certainly understand that guests visiting Royale Takitumu are seeking a private, relaxed atmosphere, and we do our best making ourselves available to guests who need assistance advice, without being overwhelming. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for writing that we are the BEST spot on the island - we have to agree! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

OMG! It was truly our dream holiday filled with total relaxation in idyllic surroundings. Secluded on-the-beach location providing as much swimming, snorkeling, kayaking as you wanted. Accommodation was first class! When we were introduced to our lovely beach front villa my wife started to cry. It was perfect! Bill, Amber, Joy & Mii were fantastic hosts. They really care about you having a great time. When we were leaving (we had a taxi pick up arranged for 1 am in the morning) we were so surprised to see Bill sitting in the reception to make sure that the taxi arrived and we got on our way safely. Just one example of the amazing service we had and the lengths the staff at Royale Takitumu go to to ensure we had the best experience ever. We spent loads of time either relaxing on the beach outside our villa or resort hopping and experiencing all the activities that you can do on the island. Out of them all the Highland Paradise cultural evening and Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruize were great. A truly romantic holiday for us and worth every cent!

Room Tip: All of the villas are wonderful but in particular the beach front villas are superb... treated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana David and thanks so much for your Dream review of Royale Takitumu. Your words warm our hearts, knowing that we played a part in helping to provide you with a dream holiday. It is meeting lovely people like you and your wife that makes Royale Takitumu such a special place. We do hope that your dream becomes recurring, and that you have a chance to visit us again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just had the best holidays we could have ever dreamt of. Cook islands are definitely a little paradise and Royale Takitumu was a wonderful cocoon to rest and relax. We would definitely recommend this place to any couple who wants to have a peaceful and relaxing time.
If you want to do anything else than relaxing on the beach we would recommend:
- the cross island track (no need to join a guided tour)
- the daytrip to Aitutaki is definitely outstanding
- snorkeling and kayaking just in front of the villas (no need to go any further on the island)
Restaurants : our picks are Vaima for dinner and Mooring cafe next to Muri fishing club for lunch
Thanks again Mii for your smile and sense of hospitality. You definitely helped to make these "special" holidays so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Mel and thank you so much for your Picture Perfect review of Royale Takitumu! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you so enjoyed your Cook Islands holiday. We hope you get to return to see us very soon! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived till the time we left(midnight!) 8 days later, Amber,Joy & Mii provided a most enjoyable experience at these secluded villas. The accommodation is first class and its outlook is without peer on the island. The swimming, snorkeling & kayaking just in front of the units was excellent. The morning tea get-together on Tuesday (with freshly made muffins) to meet other guests and the Friday afternoon petanque competition with champagne and snacks were very pleasant events.
Amber provided information regarding restaurants/cafes and other island activities and was able to arrange a hire car to be picked up and dropped off at the villas. The local buses could be accessed in either direction on the roadside out front.
If you want a totally relaxed holiday in the Cook Islands we would highly recommend the Royale Takitumu as the place to be. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana George and thanks for your Perfect review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you both, and it was great spending time with you at our morning tea (glad you liked the muffins!), and Friday's petanque match. Like you, we most certainly do hope you can return to visit again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 1031, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royale Takitumu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.