We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Holiday in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royale Takitumu

Save Saved
You added Royale Takitumu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royale Takitumu
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   PO Box 20, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 7 nights, pay for 6!
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Dream Holiday in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

OMG! It was truly our dream holiday filled with total relaxation in idyllic surroundings. Secluded on-the-beach location providing as much swimming, snorkeling, kayaking as you wanted. Accommodation was first class! When we were introduced to our lovely beach front villa my wife started to cry. It was perfect! Bill, Amber, Joy & Mii were fantastic hosts. They really care about you having a great time. When we were leaving (we had a taxi pick up arranged for 1 am in the morning) we were so surprised to see Bill sitting in the reception to make sure that the taxi arrived and we got on our way safely. Just one example of the amazing service we had and the lengths the staff at Royale Takitumu go to to ensure we had the best experience ever. We spent loads of time either relaxing on the beach outside our villa or resort hopping and experiencing all the activities that you can do on the island. Out of them all the Highland Paradise cultural evening and Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruize were great. A truly romantic holiday for us and worth every cent!

Room Tip: All of the villas are wonderful but in particular the beach front villas are superb... treated with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana David and thanks so much for your Dream review of Royale Takitumu. Your words warm our hearts, knowing that we played a part in helping to provide you with a dream holiday. It is meeting lovely people like you and your wife that makes Royale Takitumu such a special place. We do hope that your dream becomes recurring, and that you have a chance to visit us again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
219
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just had the best holidays we could have ever dreamt of. Cook islands are definitely a little paradise and Royale Takitumu was a wonderful cocoon to rest and relax. We would definitely recommend this place to any couple who wants to have a peaceful and relaxing time.
If you want to do anything else than relaxing on the beach we would recommend:
- the cross island track (no need to join a guided tour)
- the daytrip to Aitutaki is definitely outstanding
- snorkeling and kayaking just in front of the villas (no need to go any further on the island)
Restaurants : our picks are Vaima for dinner and Mooring cafe next to Muri fishing club for lunch
Thanks again Mii for your smile and sense of hospitality. You definitely helped to make these "special" holidays so special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Mel and thank you so much for your Picture Perfect review of Royale Takitumu! We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you so enjoyed your Cook Islands holiday. We hope you get to return to see us very soon! Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment we arrived till the time we left(midnight!) 8 days later, Amber,Joy & Mii provided a most enjoyable experience at these secluded villas. The accommodation is first class and its outlook is without peer on the island. The swimming, snorkeling & kayaking just in front of the units was excellent. The morning tea get-together on Tuesday (with freshly made muffins) to meet other guests and the Friday afternoon petanque competition with champagne and snacks were very pleasant events.
Amber provided information regarding restaurants/cafes and other island activities and was able to arrange a hire car to be picked up and dropped off at the villas. The local buses could be accessed in either direction on the roadside out front.
If you want a totally relaxed holiday in the Cook Islands we would highly recommend the Royale Takitumu as the place to be. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana George and thanks for your Perfect review of Royale Takitumu. It was so nice meeting you both, and it was great spending time with you at our morning tea (glad you liked the muffins!), and Friday's petanque match. Like you, we most certainly do hope you can return to visit again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booker Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent our 50th wedding anniversary at this piece of Heaven on Earth. Everything was outstanding but nothing more so than the wonderful spirit of hospitality shown by Nii, Joy, and Amber in reception as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the cleaning and groundstaff. All arrangements were perfectly organised. The location was ideal and as a couple who have never snorkelled before we were amazed at the wonders beneath the surface of the lagoon. We are just waiting for the stock market to jump so we can return to this magnificent venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana ! It is us who have to say WOW - CONGRATULATIONS again on your 50th Wedding Anniversary. What an incredible accomplishment, and we are so, so proud that you chose Royale Takitumu as your quiet piece of Heaven to celebrate this important milestone. Thanks for your very kind words. It was our pleasure meeting you both, and we too hope that you can return for another visit very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Two weeks ago we spent 6 days in this lovely property, among lush gardens, with spectacular beach front access and views.
The villas were very private, light, and Amber and her crew were great hosts. In the garden, right by the beach, were two very comfortable day lounges under the palms,
No restaurant, but that was a plus, as with a comfortable car ( courtesy of the villa) we were able to have two wonderful days around the island, having lunch at delightful little seaside restaurants.
Later we extended the car hire for longer at a very reasonable rate.
As well, we found nearby a great little store with all kinds of fresh island produce. One of the restaurants, "Vaima", even picked us up for dinner, and returned us later at our time of choice, where we ate lovely island food on the sand in the moonlight.
We loved the whole concept.
It would be great for honeymooners, and much better than a resort, and very private. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Villa 9, as it is very private, with extra outdoor seating, as well as the most private day lounges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Jude and thanks so much for your great review of Royale Takitumu. It makes us so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed your true, authentic Rarotonga holiday. We try to provide a relaxed, luxurious, and very private getaway for couples, and we agree with you when you state, ". . . much better than a resort." We hope to see you again, very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Royale Takitumu is simply a secluded paradise hidden away on the immaculate Titikaveka beach. My wife and I were looking for a holiday were we could relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life and we found it!!!!!! We were in villa 10 which was right on the beach edge. We had an uninterrupted view of the beautiful lagoon and the only noise was the ocean crashing over the coral reef. Amber and Mii were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The villa had everything we needed and was spacious and very comfortable. The snorkelling was out of this world and is literally on your doorstep, with kayaks also available to use to explore the lagoon. Our expectations were exceeded with private transport arranged from the airport and our first nights dinner reservation made for us. Every little detail was thought about to ensure our stay was as we had planned. I would certainly recommend this property as a place to stay for anyone looking to spoil themselves in a secluded corner of beautiful Rarotonga.

Room Tip: The beach front VIP and Honeymoon Villas are fantastic although any villa on this property would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Peter and thanks for your great review of Royale Takitumu. We are so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us - we just wish you were able to stay longer! We are very proud of Amber and Mii, and so proud to read that you enjoyed the service we provide. We like to think that all of our guests eventually become part of our growing Royale Takitumu family. We hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga soon, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menai, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent our 28th wedding anniversary at this wonderful resort right on the beach on the southern side of the Cook Islands. We could not fault the accommodation and the staff in particular Mii and Amber are first class. If you are looking for a full style resort with restaurant and bar this is not the place for you. It is quiet and fully self contained. We took our breakfast with us from Sydney however we always ate out for other meals. Life is slow at the Royale Takitumu and I think we rarely had lunch as we were getting out of bed mid morning.... (nudge, nudge, wink, wink) We also had friends that stayed at the Little Polynesian, just up the road and they paid twice as much for their accommodation there. (Little Poly, as it is called, is also very nice but offers restaurant and bar facilities) Be prepared to spend money as most perishables have to be imported into the Cook Islands and are expensive. The Royale Takitumu is a great resort and we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Always book the beach villas... you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Kia Orana Bothead99 and thanks so much for the GEM of a review of Royale Takitumu. First off - CONGRATULATIONS again on celebrating your 28th Wedding Anniversary. We are so proud that you chose Royale Takitumu for your anniversary celebration. We appreciate your very kind words, and are so happy you enjoyed your stay in our quiet little piece of paradise. We hope to see you on your 29th Anniversary! Kia Manuia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 20, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royale Takitumu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.