We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royale treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royale Takitumu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royale Takitumu to your Saves list
Royale Takitumu
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   PO Box 20, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 7 nights, pay for 6!
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royale treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were fortunate to spend 7 nights on honeymoon at The Royale Takitumu.

Firstly a note to readers looking for
1. A holiday resort with bar and restaurant on site, or
2. A family resort travelling with kids
This is not the fit you’re looking for. Move on. Anybody else- look no further.

Royale Takitumu reflects a lifelong dream built by the host from the sand up and perfected over 13 years. And it shows.
It’s no coincidence that most of the guests were on their 3rd 4th and beyond return stays here.

In summary it’s a class act.

The Villas
• Stunning views (unspoiled sea,beach and lush tropical gardens) - the ultimate in relaxation.
• Each unit meticulously planned. Spotlessly clean. Great airconditioning, a well equipped kitchen for self catering and touches of luxury such as king size bed and a spa bath.
• The villas and gardens immaculately serviced each day by barely visible professional staff. Invisible yet there at the drop of a hat should anything be needed.

The hosts
• We could not have hoped for better. Any step to make our holiday easier was the pleasure of Bill, Amber and Mii to assist with.
• Delicious morning tea was provided when we arrived early for check in. Full use of our unit well past our check out time (awaiting our flight home) at no extra charge.
A quality of service that’s rare to find and which leaves a long lasting impression.

The location
• Without doubt the best stretch of beach on the island (we’ve had several visits and much exploring around Rarotonga ).Pristine white sands, water quality and marine life. A fantastic swimming and snorkelling beach.
• All with an amazing sense of seclusion- you’re hard pressed to spot the other guests.

Additional facilities
• Free use of excellent quality snorkel gear and kayaks
• Use of the BBQ
• Pristine clean swimming pool

Our thanks to Royale Takitumu for an experience that will be hard to top. Or to forget.

Some tips we found useful for self catering

Eating:
Fish: We highly recommend The Marlin Queen Fishing Charter company for game fishing. A great way to start the holiday and fill the fridge with the freshest tuna steaks.
Meat: We had no problems with bringing meat over from NZ (as long as vacuum packed for customs). On the island Prime Meats off the main road in Avarua has by far and away the best quality meat for sale.

Restaraunts:
Two are within easy walking distance (10minutes) from Royale Takitumu – The restaurants at Moana sands resort and at the Little Polynesian
Vaima Polynesian bar and restaurant was consistently good and offer free pick up and drop off at your resort .

Snorkelling on the beach
The further out, the better the coral and fish get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana and THANK YOU so much for your amazing Royale Treatment review of Royale Takitumu. Your very detailed review makes us very happy and proud. We are very fortunate to have what we think is the greatest location and most perfect beach on Rarotonga, and we are glad to read that you agree with us! It is always special when we host Honeymooners. You have so many choices of romantic, beautiful places to stay around the world, and we feel truly honored when couples choose to stay with us for their special honeymoon. It was our pleasure meeting you. Congratulations on your wedding, and thank you for choosing Royale Takitumu as the place to start your new lives together. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    18
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
227
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a piece of paradise that we will never forget! It was beyond beautiful and sooo peaceful and quiet and private. We stayed in the Honeymoon villa #2 and we believe it had the best view of all. It was literally 20 steps to our 2 comfy recliners, 25 steps to "my" hammock and 15 more steps to the clear coral filled turquoise water.
We celebrated our 25th anniversary here for 9 days and each day seemed to get better. The weather was fabulous. We knew it was the rainy season but it only rained twice in 14 days and both were during the night. The bungalow itself is equipped with everything you need, including a delicious welcome basket of fruit, bread, milk, juice and of course champagne! It was so nice to be able to purchase groceries and eat in (or on the patio) and then go out to one of the many nearby restaurants for dinner.
We rented a car so we could really explore this island and meet some of the many friendly locals. The Highland cultural show is a lot of fun and our wonderful hostess at this resort, Mii taught us how to make an ei (fresh flower crown) which we wore to this show. This was a great experience to share with her and it smelled wonderful. While on the subject of our hosts,
We cannot say enough about Mii and Amber and Bill, they are truly amazing people - when leaving it was leaving family. Jimmy the grounds keeper showed us how to crack a coconut and take the fruit out and drink the juice. We have it all on video. Don't forget if you go, to
try one of Mii's hokey pokey muffins - we would go back just for those alone!
If you are going for the snorkeling, this beach front is the perfect location as you can snorkel in both high and low tide and there are numerous coral heads in the large reef and a wide variety of tangs and butterfly fish and even rays and a sea turtle. The island is surrounded by a reef, protected it from the waves of the Pacific.I
Our favourite places for dinner were: The Flame Tree, Pacific Resort, Vaima, Waterline and the best pizza on the island is downtown at Trader Jacks. A great breakfast or lunch can be found close by at the Saltwater Cafe.
We went on from here to Aitutaki for 4 days - my review will continue under the Pacific Resort on that unspoiled island.
We truly hope that we can return one day from Canada.
We would definitely stay again at the beautiful Royal Takitumu

Room Tip: If you can, choose an oceanfront honeymoon bungalow (#2 has the best view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Mary and thanks so much for your GREAT review of Royale Takitumu. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and were able to escape the cold Canadian winter with a nice relaxing tropical holiday. Its great that you were able to enjoy our free activities, and that you took the opportunity to go out and explore our beautiful island. Like you, we also hope that you are able to return to Rarotonga, and we can't wait to see you again. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a 6 week holiday to New Zealand and it was amazing. We knew it would be beautiful from the pictures we'd seen but when we arrived at the accomodation we were thrilled with how stunning it was. It is a family run place and we felt very looked after. Amber and Bill were great and nothing was too much trouble. We were offered great advice on how to get around the island and the best places to eat( although I can't imagine there were any bad places). We were upgraded to a sea view villa for no extra cost as they had one available. Although there were other guests staying at the villas it felt like we had our own private beach. From what we saw I would say this was one of nicest parts/beaches on the island. We went snorkelling and kayaking everyday and we were allowed to use all equipment free of charge which was great. On the days that we weren't so lucky with the weather the family hosted a champagne reception for all the guests which we thoroughly enjoyed. If was lovely meeting other people staying there and hearing stories about the island. There were several guests on return visits which I think shows just how great the place is. We would love to come back here someday and I can honestly say it's the nicest place we've stayed. I can't recommend the Royal Takitumu villas highly enough.

Alex & Steven Hulbert

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Alex & Steven and thanks so much for your Paradise review of Royale Takitumu. Your very high recommendation means a lot to us, and we are just so happy that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. The only thing we wish is that you could have stayed longer! We hope that your travels return you to Rarotonga, and we hope to see you at Royale Takitumu again very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To step into a postcard is truly an amazing experience.

Royal Takitumu is a palm fringed, white sand piece of paradise. We have travelled widely in the South Pacific - Hawaii, Vanuatu, Fiji, Samoa - but this is simply a heart stealer.

We have wandered in depth around the Cook Islands, particularly Rarotonga, and have tasted many four and five star bungalows and retreats. Indeed we have just spent five of the past eight weeks in the Cooks. Our fourth visit in under three years.

Royal Takitumu dazzled us.

It is without doubt on the best strip of beach on Rarotonga. An infinite number of blues ands greens that rival the Maldives and Carribean as the world's finest beachscapes.

Private Villas that are calming, charismatic and drink in the view and sea breeze. Gardens that radiate tropical greens and tranquility. A sanctuary of relaxation and beauty.

Bill, Amber and Mii are the perfect hosts. There when you need them. Invisible when you don't.
Their vision is a credit to South Pacific hospitality and the burgeoning brand of the Cook Islands.

We were spoilt by an upgrade. A simple gesture in a quiet time that will ensure our loyalty for many sunsets to come.

Royal Takitumu is one of those rare places. Difficult to find, impossible to forget.
We simply won't be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Tim! What an amazing review of Royale Takitumu! It has truly humbled us to read your beautiful words. It is meeting amazing people like yourselves that makes Royale Takitumu such a special place. Your review and experiences help make all of our hard work worth it! We truly can't wait for your return visit. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After an extremely busy six-months at our respective workplaces, my husband & I were desperate for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful tropical location. We made the perfect choice in coming to Rarotonga, and choosing to stay at the Royale Takitumu Villas. We chose this place because of the privacy, and the fact that they don’t allow young children here (I think the minimum age is 16 years old). We weren’t disappointed. The villas are all separated from each other and the beach is very private (even though it is a public beach, it is really only the residents of RT that frequent it) – exactly what we were after. Ours was one of the beachfront Honeymoon Villas, and it was perfect - only a few steps from the pristine white sand & gorgeous lagoon. Royale Takitumu doesn't have an on-site restaurant or bar, but there are plenty of wonderful restaurants nearby, and the villas also have fully functional kitchens with cooktop, fridge and microwaves if you want to cook your own meals. The villas are also equipped with a TV (only one channel in the CI!) & a DVD player, and there is air conditioning in the bedroom, as well as ceiling fans in the bedroom & in the lounge. Snorkelling gear is provided, so you don't need to bring your own. Mii is fabulous – nothing is too much trouble. She greeted us when we arrived with a lovely cold drink, and told us that she had booked us into a restaurant (Vaima) for dinner. She also arranged for us to go to the Highland Paradise dinner and show, which we thoroughly recommend. On Tuesday mornings, there is a meet & greet with other guests - Mii makes the yummiest scones & muffins! We will most definitely be back - we didn't want to leave! Thanks Mii & Bill for a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Villas are right on the beach - you can sit on your deck & look out at the beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Anna and thanks for your amazing review of Royale Takitumu. It is so great to hear that you were able to relax, unwind, and truly enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your very kind words about Royale Takitumu, and in particular Mii - she is great! It most certainly sounds like you were able to fully embrace all that we provide at Royale Takitumu. Thanks also for the great photos - including the photo of Salvador! We can't wait to see you again soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently spent an amazing few days at the Royale Takitumu. Our experience exceeded our expectations – a lovely private villa, a stunning view of the lagoon with waves breaking over the reef, and even a few hammocks for relaxing. The snorkelling was wonderful and it was fabulous being able to just swim into the lagoon and see so many beautiful tropical fish whenever we wished. All snorkelling equipment was provided, including beach shoes, which was so useful. There were canoes as well for anyone fancying a water trip. We also enjoyed the delicious tropical breakfasts delivered to our villa each morning, eaten on our verandah, listening to the wind in the palms. It was very easy to visit local restaurants in the evening; they were either within walking distance or provided a pick-up service. A never to be forgotten experience - thank you for looking after us so well while we were there. We would recommend you to anyone wishing to sample the best that Rarotonga could offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Manuia and thank you so much for your Paradise review of Royale Takitumu. We loved reading your review, and we are so happy to read that you enjoyed our location, beach, snorkeling, and villas. It was so nice meeting you, and we hope to see you again very soon at your home in Rarotonga - Royale Takitumu. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I were luckly enough to stay at this amazing private villa property for 7 nights. We were highly impressed at so many things that the Royale Takitumu has to offer.
The first thing we noticed was the amazing Mii who greated us apon arrival with a cold drink and a warm smile. We can not speak higly enough of Mii and she is an amazing asset to this property. Nothing was to much trouble with booking things for us and going out of her way to make us feel comfortable.
The second thing that we noticed when being shown to our villa was the AMAZING veiw and location of this property. The pictures do not lie it was like stepping out of a postcard with the amazing lagoon and prestine white sand beach. We had arrived in paradise! The grounds were spectacular with ponds, bridges and paths leading you to the beach surounded by palm trees.
The third was the stunning thatched roof villas in which was our home away from home. Perfect! We had a villa on the beach front I would highly recommend. The living area was spacious and had every thing we needed and wanted. Ipod docking was great as was the flat screen TV and DVD player. Seating was comfortable and the lighting made the room feel very romantic. There was also a dining room table and a verandor with seating on as well. The kitchen has everything you need including a mircowave, fridge, and gas cookers. We cooked bacon, sausges and pancakes for breakfast with ease. The bathroom was fabulous with the spa bath. Loved it and was big enough for us both to hop in. Loved that it came with ammenities to use as well. The bedroom was fantastic. The bed was huge and very comfortable. So pleased that it had an air conditioner in the bedroom as the nights were still very warm. All the windows had screens on to stop any bugs coming in.
The fourth thing we noticed was the amazing snorkling right in front of the villas. You do not need to drive anywhere to get a good snorkling spot. The water was crystal clear with a rainbow of fish and colours right there. The highlight of our trip! Loved seeing parrot fish and azure blue starfish. All the snorkle gear was/is supplied by Royale Takitumu so you do not need to purchase any even reef shoes. The kayaks were great to use as well. The snorkling was great at all tides unlike some areas on the island.
The fifth and one of the more important things to us was the service we experienced while staying here. Beyond doubt the best service we have ever experienced at any hotel/resort we have ever had! Nothing was to much trouble and always with a friendly smile and chat (Mii again). They also provide guest only events which were great to attend and meet so many interesting people (some friends we have made for life even) from all over the world. Diffently do not turn these down and the muffins were the yummest.
Therefore we would highly recommend this resort to anyone who was wanting to stay in Rarotonga. The best service, amazing setting, fantastic beach and snorkling with luxury accomodation. So nice to not be close to resorts so the beach was like our own. However as the Island is so small resturants and shopping was never far away. Only took us 1 hour on scooters to travel completely around the Island.
Do not look anywhere else you have found your Tropical Hidaway Paradise. Enjoy your holiday you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Go the beach front!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-CRM, Manager at Royale Takitumu, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kia Orana Karla and THANK YOU so much for your Tropical Hideaway Paradise review of Royale Takitumu. Thanks for your very kind words about Mii - we are very proud of her, and she is definitely a guest favorite. We also appreciate your nice comments about our amazing location and views, and our private thatched roof Villas. It is meeting friends like you that makes Royale Takitumu so special. We are happy that you are part of our global Royale Takitumu family, and we can't wait to see you again, very soon. Kia Manuia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royale Takitumu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Takitumu

Address: PO Box 20, Titikaveka 0001, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Titikaveka
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Titikaveka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Takitumu 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Takitumu provides our guests with a truly relaxing, intimate, beachfront holiday with a distinctively authentic, Polynesian Cook Islands experience. Ten individual, private bungalows boast breathtaking views of Rarotonga's finest white sand beach. Royal Takitumu is a small, secluded private resort, located close to nearby sites, shops and restaurants, with services you expect from a large resort. Royale Takitumu embodies the wonderful and unique aspects of this island paradise. Royal Takitumu - Genuine. Natural. Cook Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royale Takitumu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royale Takitumu Hotel Titikaveka
Royale Takitumu Rarotonga, Cook Islands - Titikaveka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royale Takitumu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.