We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Tranquil, Beautiful cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Polynesian Cafe

Little Polynesian Cafe
PO Box 366, Titikaveka, Cook Islands
682 24280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Titikaveka
Price range: $5 - $31
Cuisines: International, Pacific Rim, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Relaxing Tranquil, Beautiful cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We walked into this beautiful tropical island setting of a restaurant, linen table clothes, candles and tropical palms, view of the sea and horizon pool at the resort.
Staff were professional and service focused, good wine list & cocktail.. Menu, something for everyone. enjoyed a platter of local seafoods, cooked perfectly, followed by a tropical fruit dessert.
finally check out the sun loungers by the pool, shaped like leaves, beautiful design to curl up an soak up the rays. Will return to this piece of paradise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a wonderful serene place. Very classy. Sitting by the pool drinking our pina coladas was just magical, and knowing you won't be interrupted by children!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We ate here a year ago for lunch and it was the best lunch on the Island so couldn't wait to go back.... but it was dreadfull, only ordered poached eggs and bacon, toast, it arrived stone cold and the toast wasn't even crisp, I sent it back and they re-did it still with soggy toast and very greasy bacon,it is such a shame because the setting is beautiful. Will check other reviews before returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went here first week of sept for lunch. Fish of the day in a coconut and black pepper sauce was really lovely. Friends had the breakfast the roasted tomatoes were divine, the chicken salad was spicy and moreish. Very relaxing. Went back a few days later for dinner, most had the seafood salad with scallops and prawns, others had the steak. Steak was the best choice, salad lacked a dressing. The chocolate soufflé desserts were to die for. Very impressed with this place. Would recommend for a relaxing meal in paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the food and the waiting times”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We waited an hour for our food to come to the table with no mention of wait times or understaffing.

My partner ordered the ploughmans steak sandwich with island fries which is one of the more expensive lunch items at $26.
From past dining experiences I would have expected a gourmet steak sandwich with nice bread (facoccia or sourdough or something similar), some nice cheese, chutney, onion and pickle etc and in this case a sirloin steak and island fries (banana, potato, kumara, breadfruit, taro)

What came out was 2 slices of untoasted seven grains sandwich bread with a slice of melted cheese. On top of that some steak, not a whole steak and not sliced but more like a tenderised steak which was cooked well done, rather than medium as requested, then on the side a tiny pot of sweet chilli sauce and some plain fries.
There was, No garlic butter, No tomatoes, No sweet onion and No island fries as mentioned on the menu item. And there was no garnish side salad like all of the other lunch dishes.

My fish dish was nice however it also did not come with the tomatoes mentioned on the menu.

We complained and staff apologised and gave us 25% off the bill with no questions asked.

Note to the reastaurant: I would suggest in future staff let customers know if something is missing off the menu or let them know if ingredients in a dish are missing when the dish is ordered.
And if ingredients in a dish are missing, offer something to substitute the missing ingredient or if that can’t be done tell the customer the dish is unavailable.
I would also like to say staff should let customers know if you are short staffed in the kitchen and that the food will take some time to come out. it would only take your staff a moment of their time to mention the kitchen is busy and food will take a wee while to come out.
I wrote an email to the management of the Little Polynesia unfortunately no one replied to my emails.

Real shame because this place is supposed to be decent quality resort and could have been one of my local Sunday lunch spots as I only live a 5 min walk away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Polynesian Cafe also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Little Polynesian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Polynesian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.