We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a quiet Tuscan town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Margherita
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guglielmo Marconi, 20, 56034 Casciana Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Casciana Terme
Cinto Euganeo, Italy
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a quiet Tuscan town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel without frills. I was unlucky in the timing of my visit, as there was a large wedding party staying there at the same time. Most of them were from London and they acted as though they were the only people on the planet; very noisy and intrusive, both in the hotel and at the pool, where they took over completely. I think the hotel staff really struggled with them - I was told that the police were called at 5.00am one morning because of rowdiness in the piazza. On one occasion I had to phone reception at around midnight because of the rumpus in the next room. The next morning the occupant told me that "the kids were doing stunts" Really!? I was in a converted stable block which was very comfortable - a large room (stable sized!) with a good sized shower room in a slightly rustic style. The only problem was the mosquitoes - they were terrible and I had to keep my air conditioning on at night - otherwise I was bitten to pieces. Breakfast was fairly mediocre - I was amazed to see scrambled eggs and bacon in a 3-star Italian hotel - not for me! No croissants/cornetti and coffee not brilliant, but the bread was excellent. As there is no restaurant in the hotel, I ate out for my other meals. Casciana Terme has a few lovely places to eat and I enjoyed my stay. The staff at the Villa Margherita are wonderful; helpful and friendly. Everything was spotlessly clean. The value for money is pretty good. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a quiet holiday - unless there's a wedding party in town!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
20
102
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful week at Vill Margherita. The staff were so helpful and nothing was any trouble for them. General Manager Antonio, was a sweetie - we were a very large group, there for a wedding. From small Children to grandparents, all of us were made so welcome. The rooms were lovely, very clean. I stayed in the main building. It is a very beautiful building - lovely village. Just a real wonderful find. It could not have been better. Peaceful, lovely location. I could go on and on. Breakfast great. Pool lovely. I did not want to leave. Very relaxing, and a great base to travel around Tuscany.

Room Tip: Rooms in Main building seem bigger. Our older folks, liked the bungalows as they had a little outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have just returned from a most wonderful break in Casciana de Terme, Italy. Without a doubt Villa Margherita is the best, by far! I visited most of the other hotels. Margherita has the best continental breakfast, which includes hot, bacon and eggs! Margherita is open, light and airy, lots of natural light and a lovely open feel to it. It has a good sized swimming pool and lovely building design / architecture. It has a library for quiet time and a large tv area downstairs for guests if you choose to watch it there instead of your room. The Olympics went down a treat on the big screen. Not to mention the great Spa the hotel runs! Rest and relaxation was the order of the day?,
Best of all was the staff! The manager Antonio was without doubt the most professional and pleasant manager I have encountered in many years of world travel. Nothing was too difficult to solve or to do. It was an absolute pleasure to stay at such a well run establishment. The rest of the staff followed suit and were as equally pleasant and helpful. Definitely will be going there again and will be breaking my rule to never visit the same place twice! I heartily recommend it to any travelling to the Tuscanny region. Easy transport links via train from the airport to Pondesera then a 20-30 minute bus ride to Casciana de Terme. Much cheaper than a taxi! If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Main building 2nd floor offer the best rooms and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel as a base for a few days in Tuscany and we were not disappointed. The staff are very courteous and helpful. Our room was large, airy, sunny and very clean. The bathroom was large and had all the requisites. The pool and outdoor areas in general are great and very relaxing. It had just opened its own spa/massage facilities right next door as well. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, despite what the in-room literature says!)but I believe that this will change after renovations to the kitchen are completed. All in all a very pleasant hotel in a lovely little town.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room in the original old building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location is convenient in the village centre. The main building is a static beautiful building with very friendly personell. We were located in the side building (not main one). These rooms are very basic and in our case the airco was not functioning correctly. On the other hand the breakfast, great swimming pool and friendly service/personel compensated for this!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We arrived bit late, so the pool was closed, but the guy at reception went show us the pool and put the lights on to have some night swimming (while he asked us not to be loud:-). We stayed in the main building, it's old but lovely and clean of course. One of us stayed in a single room in a smaller building in the garden and his room wasn't as good as ours. So I'd prefer to have any room in main building. The garden is beautiful, so the pool is-even in hot summer days there is some shade from big trees around. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel has a beautiful location. The staff is excellent, the room very large and comfortable. I enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Margherita

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi, 20, 56034 Casciana Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Casciana Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Casciana Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Margherita Casciana Terme, Italy - Province Of Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.