We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for a Castello experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Carimate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castello di Carimate to your Saves list
Castello di Carimate
Piazza Castello 1, 22060 Carimate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for a Castello experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The first impression of the castello was very impressive, the exterior is beautiful and well maintained. However, I am a bit disappointed with the interior. You can tell they tried very hard to restore and decorate the interior, but the craftsmanship is lacking and it feels more like a castle in Disneyland rather than a real castle.

Having said that, we stayed at the 1st floor, the rooms are big with high ceilings. The rooms on the second floor is a lot smaller with smaller windows.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, it was a great experience at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    25
    16
    5
See reviews for
11
171
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Room did not quite live up to the online pictures but was well worth the money. Was travelling around and found this hotel on expedia but just turned up and they wanted to charge 50% more than the expedia price, only when i suggested booking by smartphone did they agree the online price. What is it with Hotels who would rather give an online agency money than pass on value to the customers? Breakfast was adequate- yes that is a good description of the hotel adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Impressive location, unforgettable place. We stayed few days and they were able to make them a cherished memory. Impeccable stuff, great spa facility, great park. We had spend two special event evenings with drinks, finger food and music at this castle while we were there that are hard to forget. Great little bar right across. Very hot summer, during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a real castle and you actually sleep in the main building of the ancient castle. The price is attractive for 4 star hotel and the location is ok if you find the fast way. We came on a rainy day, stopped for dinner at the center of Como, then the GPS took us through all the small villages. In the morning, without rain, I was able to drive back to Como on the E35 which is much faster.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We were celebrating some special birthdays and chose the castello di carimate as it offered us something a bit special and unique to celebrate the occasion, and it did not disappoint! The feeling when you walk up to reception is unique. On the first evening we had food and wine in the fabulous restaurant and then some cocktails in the bar across the road. On the second day we went for a walk in the grounds and then to sit at the swimming pool in the golf resort, it was costly for what they offered at 20 euro, we headed back to use the spa facilities and receive a massage, the spa is fantastic and the massage is brilliant, then we had a fabulous meal and more cocktails. On the Sunday we organised a taxi into lake como and spent a fabulous day touring the lake then back for dinner in the hotel, the service through dinner is exceptional! On the Monday we used the goa facilities before leaving. The rooms and the venue are brilliant showing the beauty of the castle. We did have a problem with one of our doors which was quickly rectified. The food was amazing and buffet breakfast outside was just enough to set you up for the day. The spa was excellent. I would definitely recommend a stay at the castello di carimate, we can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

For a recent weekend trip we used search engines to filter out a Hotel with (!) an outdoor pool. Although the pool is not far away, the fact is that the Hotel does not have a pool and even 3 year old kids are charged 15E/day. That makes a family pool affair a Euro 45 idea, very unexpected cost for a castle with a pool.
Internet access at 10E a day will not work in your room, at least not if you booked the Grand suites as the wall are too thick or the wireless device too weak. It will keep yourself running to the hallways to surf or send emails, and back to the room if you wish to write something.
Breakfast is not 'castlelike' , rather without immagination and below anything you would expect.
The Hotel had stated on their reservation form that babies need to pay for the babybed but i had not taken that serious as no Hotel in the world charges for 1 month old baby. To my surprise it was true and we did have to pay E25 on top of the E200 suite. Very forthcoming and customer friendly.
The castle is beautiful from outside, public rooms in decorative inner walls, furniture has not been upgraded since the Hotel opened in the 90'. Service was kind, yet not more than that.
In case you end up having dinner at the Hotel you are looking at E300 a night experience and they are far from providing value for price. If you have the Suite 112 on a weekend you are likely to experience an Italian wedding just outside your window with the obvious collateral impact.
Upon complaining with booking.com that has been very helpful and supportive with the fact that the pool was not stated as additional cost, the Hotel refuses to acknoledge and refund the price. Overall they can't be doing well as the impression is that they are barely surviving. Bring your money elsewhere is our advise.

Room Tip: Room 112 is huge, albeit the decor and furniture is not castle like and somehow doesn't match an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel as everything it lists it has it hasn't, we wanted a hotel with an outdoor pool which it states it has, it doesn't have an outdoor pool it's next door golf clubs pool and you have to pay 15euros each to enter each day. It states it has a spa which it has but you have to pay an extra 30 euros each to enter to spa area. The list goes on, no tennis, no aircon etc.
The hotel s also miles from anywhere a good 20 minute drive to the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castello Carima... A, Direttore generale at Castello di Carimate, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Esteemed Client, we are very unhappy for your disappointment. Nevertheless let us please say that the Golf Pool is less than 100 yards away from the hotel through our meadow. The text you read did not specify that you have to pay a fee (this applies also to our SPA): we have amended it. We have also asked the Golf Club a reduction on the fee for our clients. Let us please say that we propose special offers that include access to our spa in the room rate. We would like to remind you that 3 tennis courts are available at the Golf Club. All our rooms have air conditioning. We are always pleased to change our clients’ room in case air-cond does not work properly. As far as our geographical position is concerned, there is nothing we can do about it. However, we never say that we are on the lake side. It would not be honest.

Enrico Aramini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Carimate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Carimate

Address: Piazza Castello 1, 22060 Carimate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Como Province > Carimate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carimate
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Castello di Carimate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Hotel Carimate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Carimate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.