We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukorn Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sukorn Beach Bungalows
Save
You added Sukorn Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   174 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Sukorn | Palian, Trang 92120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We got Sukorn Beach Bungalows recommended by a friend. He had stayed her before and also advised us to book an island hopping tour with Dick&Dee (name of the owners). It is worth mentioning that many of his friends have now tried this resort and liked it very much.

Well in advance of our trip we mailed the resort and got a prompt reply and very forthcoming assistance. After a discussion and on Dick&Dee's recommendation we decided on a three day boat trip and three nights at the resort after the boat trip.

Everything happened as agreed with pick-up, island hopping and the stay at the resort! For the island hopping we could chose between five islands to stay in. We chose Koh Kumook and Koh Kradan. The Kumook resort was very nice with well maintained bungalows. On Kradan the bungalows were a lot simpler but absolutely bareable. Both places had aircon and wifi.
During the time on the boat we stopped at several reefs for snorkling and the guide knew when to be at the various places to make most of tides and time of day. We also stopped on a remote island one day where the guide and the boat crew made us a fantasic lunch prepared on a single gas stove on the boat. The boat was a traditional Thai Longboat with two crew in addition to the guide.

The Sukorn Bach Bungalow resort was by far the nicest place we stayed. Everything is very clen and neat. No litter outside, very nice bungalows and a charming peaceful air over the place. Good food in the restaurant and a long stretch of clean beach.

Nothing much to see on the island itself. A few villages and lots of waterbuffalo.

If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind, away from the noisy crowds in the bigger resorts this place is just the spot. Even though the island hopping is basic it was what made the trip more than just another resort to visit!

Room Tip: All bungalows are good, just two rows. We had one in the front row and one in the second, both we eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- Not touristy (but all guests are foreigner except staffs and me which are Thai) :D
- Very quiet place both day and night time
- Good to relax, reading books, spend your time by do nothing
- Clean and well maintained room
- Friendly staff
- Nice sunset view
- Free WiFi in public area

Cons:
- 2 Hrs+ from Wunder bar (near train station in Trang town) by local transfer with too many stop to pick up stuffs and local people

Conclusion: love this place want to go back there again ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is the place for ultimate relaxation. A small scale affair with extremely well kept rooms and bungalows, even including small items like a torch and a fire extinguisher.
The staff is very friendly and attentive in a personal and familiar way and you feel at home straight away. There is no coral and little current so its a great sea for a long swim.
Another Plus is the real island feeling. Ko Sukorn is not just created for tourists (like Ko Kradan). Go for a village tour, accompanied by one of the staff of Sukorn Beach Bungalows; you will get a good impression of the way the people live and work (mainly rubber industry and fishing). After it’s more easy to go around yourself by motorbike or bicycle.
I stayed for a couple of days in January and liked it so much, that I returned for another couple of days in February. This is not for people who like entertainment and disco life. After 21.00 hours the restaurant is closed and all guests asleep.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Koh Sukorn is a lovely quiet island. We were looking for some peace and found it at Sukorn Beach Bungalows. The restaurant is a pleasant place to sit, they provide free wifi. The food is good and we really liked the boys and girls who served us! The Dutch owner and his Thai partner are teaching them to work in the tourist business. They live on the island too. We did some biking which was verf nice. To bike the whole island takes three hours. We also loved to go canooing to nearby beaches. The beaches are not perfect (no white sand) and the sea is not amazing (not blue) but if you like to read, walk, bike, relax and eat - this is a good place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNNY SOUTHPORT
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

we took a chance and found just what we wanted. ideally set on a lovely beach, quiet, the rooms were fine and the service was just right. the food was well cooked and presented. the island is small, we just took the bikes out and off we went, one or two small hills but no problems even for two pensioners, just stayed four nights wish we had booked for longer. the owner was friendly and helpful. got the local transport from trang..no problem. see photo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After having seen many resorts over the years, this one is set apart by the level of attention for details. Surely because of a European owner. No rubbish, no left-over cement, very nice garden, everything clean and nice. Free wifi, food all day, bikes and motorbikes available.
Great island if you are looking for a quiet original place. Don't come here for party, white sand or snorkelling. Beach is nice, swimming good, views amazing.
They will respond to email superquick and will pick you up and take you anywhere. Great experience over all.

Room Tip: Go for the garden rooms, they are cheaper. The view is just as nice and the beds have no end board...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A bit worried that we'd booked 9 days on this remote island south of Trang, we were pleasantly surprised. Sukorn Beach Bungalow was the only real alternative for accomodation on the island. To start from the beginning:
PROS:
1. Lovely and well kept garden.
2. Lovely sandy fine corned beach.
3. No kids under 7 which we only found out at the end of our stay. (sorry guys....been there, done that:-)... we enjoyed the tranquility.)
4. Nothing to do after 8:30 pm when the kitchen closed! (Wonderful!!!)
5. Nothing in the villages are set up for tourism. (Although found one little local shop where we got a couple of beers.)
6. Modern technology has arrived - free WiFi and to pay by Visa was possible.
7. Great and clean bungalows with aircon, 2 complementary bottles of still water daily, water kettle and a couple of packs of coffee/tea daily, fridge, fan, hot and cold water and the lovely sound of the waves crashing. (We had a so called beachside bungalow with a sea view)
8. Friendly staff.
9. Mountainbikes and mopeds can be rented, canoes could be borrowed free of charge (I think), boattrips to the surrounding islands possible to arrange and lovely massages given on the beach for only 250 TBH an hour.
10. Tasty Thaifood in the restaurant and some western dishes were available. (Sandwiches, french fries etc.)
11. Lovely sunsets.

CONS:
1. Although the food was lovely, the menu never changed and therefor got REALLY boring after a while!
2. The owners - Dick (Holland) and Dee (Thailand) were friendly enough...I suppose...... (They are more business orientated than interested in the people providing their lifestyle.)
3. Stingy with their coffee and two tiny, tiny slices of cheese in the breakfast deal!! One cup and that's it! This is very rare for anywhere else I've ever been I must say. Concidering that this is more or less the only place to eat and drink, come on....they're not going to loose out on income by providing a couple of cups of coffee for breakfast!
4. Transport from and to Trang could be provided at a very high cost compared to the local rate. We took the local transport (500 THB for 2 people) to Sukorn (Sukorn means "pig" in Thai) and D and D's arrangement 1850 THB back to Trang. More comfortable no doubt, but worth it...hmm...

All in all...a great place though and I shouldn't be telling you this as we would love to keep this our little secret. Need to chill...Sukorn's the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sukorn Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukorn Beach Bungalows

Address: 174 Moo 1, Tambon Koh Sukorn | Palian, Trang 92120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sukorn Beach Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW this year is, that Sukorn Beach Bungalows and its neighbouring, new resort decided to co-operate/integrate with eachother and will from now on operate under the name Sukorn Beach Bungalows. The resort is built in a coconut-plantation along the beach, is the perfect place to relax, for sunbathing and swimming, boat-trips to the nearby paradise-islands for snorkeling and fishing, exploring the beautiful 'green' Sukorn Island by walking or (motor-)bike.Meet the extremely friendly local people in their villages, share with them their countryside-life.Our bungalows & rooms are beachfront, 'simply comfortable' with 24-hours aircon, hot water showers, fan, fridge, all with private bathrooms & private terrace. Coffee- & tea making facilities, haidryers, daily cleaning maid service. Daily linen- & towel-change, daily free 2 bottles drinking water. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sukorn Beach Bungalows Hotel Trang
Sukorn Beach Hotel
Sukorn Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukorn Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.