We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop. Don't look any further” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wheatsheaf Hotel to your Saves list
Wheatsheaf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   St. Helens Street, Corbridge NE455HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Corbridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stop. Don't look any further”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The first place we came to in Corbridge travelling South. One night stay. No help with luggage but otherwise everything is 4 - 5 star. Very comfortable with.all amenities and excellent food. Highly recommended..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
67
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This pleasant, unpretentious pub hotel proved to be a good place to stay for our first visit to Hadrian's Wall (we walked a spectacular section from Housesteads Fort, which is about half an hour's drive). We had a twin room for two nights (no doubles left) and it was a reasonable size, spotlessly clean and had recently been refurbished. The bed was large and comfy, the shower room small but adequate. We were checked in very efficiently and told everything we needed to know, including the wifi code. This proved very useful because the digital TV reception was so poor that we ended up watching TV on our laptop. We were at the front of the building and did hear a bit of noise from the bar below, but this wasn't bad enough to keep us awake. There was a wide range of hot and cold breakfast options and the restaurant was also very good -- hearty, no frills pub food. The hotel has its own, biggish car park, despite being near the town centre, and is in an excellent location for exploring the lovely town of Corbridge on foot. In summary, a comfortable place to stay offering good value for money. I wish I could give it 3.5* but I can't!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having stayed in Hotels such as De Vere/Mcdonald/Marriott for the past 25 years on business what a delight to find this diamond in the North East.We had called in for a drink in July and booked a room for October.On Arrival we were treated like old friends and that service continued through our stay.The rooms were outstanding with "the little extras" making it a home from home.I stayed in the friendly bar watching racing from just about every course in Britain whilst the wife went shopping in the town.We had a meal in the reastaurant which was excellent all products sourced from local suppliers.Then a great nights sleep followed by a breakfast that would not have been out of place at The Savoy.We will definitely be returning!!
Duncan & Karen Scales

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have just spent 5 super days at the Wheatsheaf for a family wedding. Our room was lovely, clean and fresh, lovely bathroom and shower and lots of bathroom 'products' (shower gel etc). also a very well stocked welcome tray of coffee, tea, chocolate and biscuits(which were replenished each day). Del and his staff were very friendly and helpful offering to take our suitcase up to our room, also they were very knowledgable about the local area. The food was excellent, breakfast fantastic, just the thing to set you up for the day. Lunchtime meals were also excellent as were the evening meals although we only had 2 there as we had other arrangements for the other evenings (family hog roast and a wedding). All in all it was a superb place to stay I would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: we were in room 1 which was super and even though the lounge was immediately below we were not bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This small family run hotel was quite a delight to stay in for a few days, mixing both business and pleasure. The food was fresh and well cooked, with plenty of variety. My bedroom had a four poster, bath with hand held shower, however I was advised of this when I booked and was not an issue. Despite being a busy pub and restaurant there was little intrusive noise which I was delightfully surprised with especially as I had to be up early for work. Sitting in the small garden in the sunshine I did not want to move- will definately be back. Excellent value, lovely lovely staff and a real gem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

1 night stay at Wheatsheaf owners very helpful & friendly, rooms clean & tidy. great hearty Breakfast.. Friday evening the Restaurant was very busy, we had booked at the local chinese so didnt eat,,,,, but seamed popular...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Last minute booking for this hotel as we were taking part in the "Connecting Light" art work and didn't get details until late. The only room they had was the one with the four poster bed at £89.95 with breakfast included. It was excellent value. When we arrived I must admit my first thought was- oh no- it`s a pub!! But don't be fooled by this. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and sparklingly clean. It was very spacious too- on a par with the sort of space you expect at a much grander establishment. We arrived with very little time to settle in before having to set off to do our volunteering. Staff could not have been more helpful. They happily ( and quickly!) made us a flask of proper coffee, which was very welcome late at night on Hadrian`s Wall, and there was no charge for this at all. We enjoyed the breakfast, which had generous servings and was freshly cooked. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Address: St. Helens Street, Corbridge NE455HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Corbridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Corbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Corbridge, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.