We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wheatsheaf Hotel
St Helens Street, Corbridge NE455HE, England
+44(0)1434 632020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 23 Restaurants in Corbridge
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hexham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Not quite the best traditional Sunday lunch in the area (see The Battlesteads at Wark), but comes a close second.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Sunday Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Out and about of a Sunday and whilst in Corbridge we thought we would give this place a visit. We arrived at 12:30 and were advised there would be about a 30 minute wait so we went into the bar for a refreshing cold drink - the staff were very friendly and there was a good atmosphere. True to her word the waitress came to collect us after 20 mins and showed us to our table. The food was very good and so was the service. A wide selection of meats and fresh vegetables with huge Yorkshire puddings and really tasty gravy. We tried both the roast beef and turkey and both were cooked to perfection. I would certainly go back again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good 2 night break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent welcome. Lovely bar and beer. Good food with ample portions. Bedroom small but well-appointed and spotlessly clean and well-decorated. Good en-suite shower room. Corbridge is a lovely town with interesting places to visit nearby.
The Wheatsheaf offered excellnt value for money and we would certainly go again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Once again a fabulous Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This was are third meal at this restaurant,and again WOW what a meal.thank you again your food and staff are great.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Carvery - We'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We visited The Wheatsheaf a few weeks ago during one of our random Sunday trips to the beautiful market town of Corbridge. We've always liked to have a drink in the bar of The Wheasheaf, but we hadn't eaten there until this visit. I rang before we arrived to find out information about the Sunday menu - the phone was answered by a friendly and knowledgeable member of staff (I think it may be the manager), who told me that the meats available that day were turkey, ham and two types of beef - rare and well-done. I was extremely impressed with this, so we headed up. We sat in the restaurant area, which is a medium sized room behind the bar with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The staff on duty were all friendly and helpful and we were quickly seated. I ordered the small carvery for £5.45 and my partner had the large at £7.95 - the only difference being the amount of meat you receive - 2 slices instead of 3 or 4. We were extremely impressed with the choice available on the carvery: 4 meats, plus huge homemade yorkshires, boiled and roast potatoes, carrots, sweetcorn & peas, mushy peas, cauliflower cheese, turnip, cabbage, homemade gravy, stuffing and a choice of sauces. Wow! The food tasted fab too - we really enjoyed all of it and feel this is one of the best pub carveries we've had. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatsheaf Hotel also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheatsheaf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.