We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly, quality food, outstanding service – thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watling Coffee House

Watling Coffee House
11, Watling St, Corbridge, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Corbridge
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, quality food, outstanding service – thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were wandering around Corbridge with our dachshunds last week looking for somewhere for lunch when we came upon the Watling Coffee House. We'd not found anywhere earlier, and it was one of those moments when things are beginning to get a little bit tetchy.
We were a diverse party: granny, mum and dad, and four grandchildren from 8 to 19. Some of us are vegetarian, some are carnivorous, some are just fussy. This attractive cafe solved all of our problems, at a surprisingly reasonable price. Great salads, but also great toasties, and soup, and jacket potatoes. They even made a special filling for the fussiest of all. And there's a lot of space in here too. Do give it a try if you're in Corbridge. And if you're the lady from the coffee house reading , thank you very much indeed. That was fabulous customer service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    5
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Corbridge gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Visit the Watling on a regular basis on a Sunday from Washington and love the atmosphere and staff.Wonderful original food and great cheese scones.Im sure Corbridge has other great eateries but i cant get past the Watling.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burray, Orkney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exactly what a great tea/coffee shop should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick lunch on a long trip from Orkney to Devon. What a delightful surprise. A very varied menu with some more unusual choices in addition to the usual items. Between the three of us we had the ham & cheese croissant, the breakfast waffle and the savoury cheese toastie. All excellent, beautifully presented, with appropriate salad & extras. Great coffee and PROPER tea. A great selection of genuine homebakes on offer too. Busy ( always a good sign) but the staff coped very well . If you get the chance stop here!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Im leaving this review after being so annoyed by the reviews with pathetic comments like why wont they come to the table!!!! Are you serious? We have loved this tea room for years. Everything is always brilliant. The music choice last time was a little strange but I didn't need classical music to enjoy my scone. I have no problem reading the menu and placing my order then finding a seat. This is a cafe not a restaurant. It allows people to stay where they are needed preparing food instead of running up and downstairs checking for new customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never lets you down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been going here for over 30 years and it has always in our view, been the best tearoom in Corbridge by a country mile. We have been a few times in recent months as we have been staying in Wylam and Dilston and used the tearoom for both coffees and lunches. Always friendly service and good food and fab coffee which you can buy to make yourself at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watling Coffee House also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Watling Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watling Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.