We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Main Street, Corbridge NE45 5LA, England
+44 1434 632119
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Corbridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Real fires, comfortable leather seats, traditional warm rooms, afternoon tea, great local food, local ales and exceptional Northumbrian charm. The Angel Inn has been a coaching inn dating back to 1752 when it was called The Kings Head. Many people have owned it until we purchased it in 2011 and we intend to keep it and we will ensure that your time with us is relaxing and fulfilling.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Angel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Food was good. Well situated in the centre of corn ridge. Lively atmosphere and friendly staff. Parking can be a problem

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    83
    40
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Year's Day Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Popped in to The Angel for a drink on New Year's Day to find the bar packed with people having lunch. Food looked very good and the atmosphere was warm, lively and friendly. Tried to get a seat in the lounge/inn reception with its log burner pumping out heat and a warm snug atmosphere; this too was full with families, couples and friends having a drink. In the end we drank in the cocktail bar which was also busy but emptied out as the afternoon wore on. would definitely return to try this bar and restaurant if in the area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointed - dire”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went with my 2 daughters their partners and 2 children to eat in the bar new years eve. We had a table booked for 4 pm. It was extremely busy as you would expect for that time of year. Once seated (slightly late as the previous occupants were still at the table), we were given the menus. After we made our choices the waitress came over to take our order. 3 of our party had ordered food that was no longer available, or had been allocated for the evening set meal in the restaurant. Would it not have been more professional to have told us when handing us the menu the unavailable items. The. Waitress was quite happy to tell us how busy lunch had been and how many were booked in for the evening so letting us know unavailable items shouldn't have been a problem.

We were told no fries were available for the childrens' meals so said they would both have chunky chips, we ordered bread for the children to keep them happy whilst we had our starters. Our starters were absolutely delicious however the bread didn't materialise and we had to remind them and this appeared as we finished our starters.

There were 8 of us, the 2 that had steak said it was delicious. However 4 of us ordered the Thai fish cakes and they were absolutely disgusting. They were like rock, had chunks of salmon and not much else were completely overlooked, dry and tasteless. The 2 children meals came up with one chunky chips and one fries, we had asked for beans and got peas, we had to ask for cutlery, there were no spoons and by the time they arrived the beans were cold. No condiments were offered.

We sent the fish cakes back and the member of staff who came over was rude and completely dis-interested. If this place has a manager he certainly wasn't interested in coming over to discuss any problem. We didn't make a great deal of fuss and if at any time someone had come over and apologised it would have smoothed things over, however their attitude stinks. Things which taken on their own would only be minor became extremely annoying. We felt "fitted in"' a table booked for 4 should have been available for then.

The great shame is that I have eaten at the Angel a few times before and have always been really happy, however I would never go back. They obviously booked far too many people in, didn't have enough staff and the ones they had really had a couldn't care less attitude. Even when we asked for the bill that was practically thrown on the table and the "waiter" disappeared and after about 10 minutes we caught someone's attention so we could actually pay the bill, needless to say we did not leave a tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Got taken here for a few drinks. Beware of the wildlife!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had been visiting friends in the area and stayed elsewhere. However after a very nice dinner in the Blackbull our friends decided to take us here for a few after dinner drinks.

It seems to be the local place for club 18-30s wildlife, the place to be seen, and not the sort of place you would want to go for a dinner. I see why now we didnt get taken to eat here. Shame as from a sneeky glance at the menu, it did look nice.

Warning, if you are going in the evening, to catch up with friends or family. Food is the last thing on peoples minds here, it seems to be a singles night out, to drink lots and prowl.

However we sat in the corner, and the people viewing factor was funny. Even spotted some lady with high waisted 80s style jeans, white high healed shoes and a boob tube to go with it. There was no fancy dress party on either... It did make me smile tho.

Nice deco, however its a bit pricey and the staff seem to be quite arrogant, and not too friendly which is a bit sad.

Wish we had stayed in the blackbull.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the Food in this Restaurant ...I'm Going Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

An ordinary pub I though until I had food beautifully cooked, great menu. I really, really, liked this Resturant / Pub a lot Highly recommended .....you may need to book,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.