We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Inn

The Angel Inn
Newcastle Road, Corbridge, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 restaurants in Corbridge
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

popped in one lunch time, to a very busy bar, loads of people eating and drinking. staff were quick tho so we soon had a table and menu. food was really nice and well presented. will be back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    61
    60
    26
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corbridge
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We go here every Sunday as they must have one of the best Sunday lunches in North East. Service is always brilliant as staff go out of their way to make you welcome. It's not the cheapest but well worth a try. Always great atmosphere give it a try !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do a walk then relax and enjoy your meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Angel serves delicious food and drink in either the bar or restaurant. I prefer the bar which is always busy but very warm and welcoming, well furnished and the staff are courteous and efficient. You may have to put your name down for a table but you can stand in the bar or wait in the beautiful lobby area until a table is found for you. I had goats cheese polenta with textures of beetroot, which was delightful, followed by hake with roasted vegetables, delicious, shared the pudding of chocolate/pistachio meringue. My friend had the black pudding and poached egg to start followed by the pork, it was good as i wasn't given the chance to taste as it disappeared far too quickly! Walk along the river from Riding mill which takes about an hour and it is a great treat and the end. Then the choice is of a great menu always well presented and tastes delicious, and do we walk back or get a cab, as it is hard to leave such a lovely place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“fab as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

had another fantastic meal at this little gem of a place, my friend and i both had the same, curried king prawns and rice to start, absolutely lovely and a nice change from the usual garlic type sauce. the main course was also lovely slow cooked lamb which had been stripped from the bone and shaped into a cylinder shape from a mould, gorgeous dauphinous pots and crisp green beans and the nicest braised red cabbage i have ever had. we were too full to have a pud but know from past experience that they are also excellent. you can have coffee in the adjoining lounge which is very comfy but on this occasion we had a bus to catch so had to miss out on that also. very well worth a visit cannot recommend it highly enough. prices are reasonable for the quality of the food and the staff are very welcoming and efficient

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great wines, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This restaurant is wonderful, spacious, great atmosphere, good selection of beers and wines and the food is superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel Inn also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.