We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to go..... without any hesitation...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands on Golden Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands on Golden Lake
Save
You added Sands on Golden Lake to your Saves list
13163 Hwy 60 | Deacon, Golden Lake, Ontario K0J 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Cumberland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE place to go..... without any hesitation...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is our favourite place to unwind and be spoiled. We go about 3 times a year and this year planning to go a little bit more often during snowmobile season. The place is absolutely great and stress free. The lake is marvellous. The food is simply delectable. Menu is full of nice surprises. The staff is very polite, nice and receptive. Both owners are really nice friendly and polite. They are very courteous. If lost at sea they will find someone to rescue. We went on the lake, for a three hour tour, and ran out of gas.. lol! Sure enough when we got back from our little adventure Jeff had a very happy song for us....it was very funny.... happy memory!
The renovated rooms are spacious and clean . Little fridge in room would be awesome though. I wish the cottages were more accessible or little bit more affordable. My husband and I recommend this place to all the people we know! You need a break; this is the place to go all year around.

Room Tip: I don't want to tell my favorite room as I want it available when I need it.... no seriously, du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

What a great location and welcoming and comfortable accommodation. Set on the shore of Golden Lake you are mere steps from the water and spectacular sunsets. Good food and down home service rounded out my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of the Rockies
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Gently sloping shore, clean sand.

Deck with 2 chairs, lots of wooden loungers.

Good food & service at restaurant, so we never bothered to eat elsewhere. Lovely views from their large windows, esp if lucky enough to see lightning storm!

The ground floor Rm 11 'lake level' was noisy, sounded like elephants above our heads, while the renovated rooms are bright, airy, tho no access from balcony to beach, prob for safety of kids.

Would love to come again, only if renovated room available tho.

Room Tip: Upper floor front rooms best you can roll luggage right in yet have balcony at back; avoid rm 11 unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The previous reviewers have got it right. Spacious rooms (very), modern syling, great view from the balcony made you feel like you were on a tropical vacation (with a jacket on and a red maple substituting for a palm tree).
Minor little flaws, like no written info on anything except telephone book and take out in room but very quick to act if you ask. The take out from the restaurant was very good and reasonable (could not bear to leave our view). The breakfast buffet needs much hotter warming pans though. Would stay again for sure, and look forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I just spent a few days at Sands on Golden Lake and it was outstanding! The entire experiance was fabulous, starting with the accomodations right through to the service. The rooms are spacious, clean, beautifully decorated with views that are breath taking. The beach is right outside your door, perfect for swimming with clear water and a sand bottom. The food was truly fantastic! My compliments to the chef for the wonderful menu and for the flavorfull meals...I thoroughly enjoyed each and every meal. Every member of the service team at the resort, from the owners to the service staff were friendly, curteous and went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, you feel like your staying with friends that know you and want you to have a great time. I have rarely, if ever, been made to feel so welcome and comfortable at a resort.
There are lots of things to do at the Sands or near by. We found many local craft and gift shops in the nearby towns, filled with items made by local artists. There are golf courses nearby, swimming, walking/hiking trails and my personal favorite...the spa treatments available right on site!
I can't wait to go back and stay longer than just a few days! I will be recommending this resort to family & friends! My compliments to the owners and staff for an outstanding job.

PS - the grounds are absolutely loverly, the flowers and the trees in September are spectacular...its worth the trip to see the leaves at this time of year, from firery red to spectacular golds.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a wonderful view of the lake, excellent view from every room, chalet and cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This week I enjoyed staying on the immediate shore of the Golden Lake, Ontario, Canada. It so happens, even there live people, allbeit few. Even there hospitality is to be found, wirh capital H. I came to rest, and that is just what I got. Sands is a sandy beach resort of the motel style, but it differs positively in some important aspects. Some (if not all) of its rooms are larger and more spacious than average. The place is immaculately clean. Good food and drinks are to be had on the premises. And, most important of all, owners and staff are very hospitable and take pride in giving their guests a good time. The last night's breakfast waitress, for example, displayed such a genuine joy in her trade, that the tone for a pleasant day for someone whose favourite hour is not 8am was set by her, her smiles and light (yet not meaningless) chatter. A big advantage of being served by a mature person rather than by a teenager or only just beyond!

Two small drawbacks: Though showing all signs of recent redecoration, like fresh paint etc., furniture in my room looked quite worn. Most of it is of Ikea style, nothing against that, but some replacement is definitely due. And this time of year the restaurant closes at 8pm, forcing dinner times a little earlier than usual.

All in all I am sure you can celebrate on the shore of Golden Lake. Sands also gives you the option to break away and spend a few days seeking rest and leaving stress behind. Try them: they are good at it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I spent only 1 night at the Sands on Golden Lake and it definitely wasn't long enough. The refurbished rooms are continental chic combined with cozy comfort and a view that makes any length of drive worthwhile. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the service was very friendly. It has great vibes and I would recommend it to anyone whether they are looking for somewhere to stay for a short weekend or a longer break.I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms one the left wing of the hotel which had been refurbished. Not sure wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands on Golden Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands on Golden Lake

Address: 13163 Hwy 60 | Deacon, Golden Lake, Ontario K0J 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Golden Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golden Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal getaway with a pristine, sandy beach,lakeside spa treatments and Golden Lakes only lakeside dining room. A year-round retreat to enjoy nature hikes, ice skating & ATV/ snowmobile trails. Cozy up to your own private fireplace or jacuzzi - a welcoming guest room or chalet awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sands On Golden Lake Hotel Golden Lake
Sands On Golden Lake Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands on Golden Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.