We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Europaplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel am Europaplatz to your Saves list
Hotel am Europaplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rathausstrasse 2, 86343 Koenigsbrunn, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Koenigsbrunn
VADODARA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a week from 24th November. The front desk ladies were always helpful at anytime to answer my queries..The buffet breakfast was sumptuous with a variety of breads, fruits & salads. The bar adjoining (part of the hotel) had various types of German beers and food.

Wifi internet was free.. Rooms of smoking & nonsmoking category was available..

I would recommend this hotel to any business or family trips.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road on the front gives a great view of
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
7
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hörmansdorf
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the truest example of what a 4 star hotel is. Nothing extravagant and everything comfortable. It was the largest shower I have seen in a European hotel, not huge just a lot of room to move in. The staff were very accommodating and the parking was truly secure. The motel is about 30 minutes or less from everything in the area.

Room Tip: Regular rooms are good size and comfy. No need to get the suite to be able to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Germany is one of the best in Europe, when you are talking about general standards of hotels. This property located in the small town of Konigsbrunn was a litttle above my expectations.

Its a nice building, with an indoor and outdoor restaurant. The food was average but nice atmosphere. The rooms are spacious enough. Nice flat tv, full complimentary minibar etc. I'm not talking about hygine and cleanness since this is Germany.

The hotel was better than my expectations in general but they need to change the towels at all!! What kind of a management uses orange color towels in a hotel?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Summary: I would avoid this new hotel for a while until the management changes its poor attitude toward its clients. This is a modern new hotel that has a few kinks to work out, but the manager was rude, confrontational, unhelpful, and seemed to delight in "blaming the vicitm" (his clients) for any problems with the hotel.

I stayed one night in what should be a decent 2.5-3 star just outside of Augsburg. As an "overflow" hotel for a larger city hosting tourists and business, I found it a bit expensive - 85 euros/night - given how small Koenigsbrunn is and how little there is to do there. However, it's not totally out of line with high-season rates in Germany. The rooms and the bathroom/shower are modern and clean and fine, if unremarkable, much like the decor.

Though a reservation had been made by telephone in advance, there was no record of it when I arrived. The young evening desk clerk quickly made a booking, and he spoke quite good English for me. I found him quite helpful, although his senior management is certainly not. When this was mentioned to the senior manager, he accused my host of having mistakenly booked another hotel. Would that she had!

Though I asked for a quiet room, I was booked at the front of the hotel. As with many if not most European hotels in this category, there is no A/C, one opens the windows. This proved a problem as teenagers and youths gathered outside much of the night to drink and cavort, which prevented sleeping. They weren't crazy or violent, just loud and drunk.

There is no night clerk - one enters with the hotel key via an electronic lock. Therefore, there was no-one to call to change rooms or request intervention (and my phone didn't work anyhow - see below). This is also not abnormal in Germany, but this hotel will either need a night clerk or it will need to leave the number for the local police in guest rooms, I think.

The manager the next morning simply smirked at me and my host, and stated I "should have called" to change rooms. When I pointed out there was no night receptionist and that the room phone didn't work, all I received was a blunt "Ja, this is a small hotel." No apology, no concern, no worry that a client might not want to stay again.

As stated above, the room telephone did not function, and when my local host attempted to call more than once, the manager slammed down the phone on her. When she arrived in person he was rude to her, point-blank. At no point did he acknowledge the telephone should be replaced.

I have traveled throughout Germany extensively for quite a few years and while Germans sometimes refer to their business culture as a "service desert," I found the attitude displayed by this manager shockingly poor. I refused to try the included breakfast, given how bad service had been from him. This is a shame, as the hotel itself seems clean and modern (if a bit boring) with a nice biergarten. There are a couple of older hotels nearby, including one right across the street, and I would try them before I returned to the Arkadenhof for such rude treatment.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front side, facing the cafe and biergarten. Teenagers and youths congregate there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms. Highly recommended for families with older children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donetsk, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This hotel is very good equiped from the entrance to the toilet. Excelant indoor garage. The stuff is highly qualified - everything we asked was done in time and we could hardly see somebody doing it. Nutritious breakfasts, very clean rooms.
The only minus was owner's wife - she was quite unpolite with me, but it was just 2 min. meeteing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I was in this hotel in august 2011 with my family. We have a 7 month child but the services was very understanding and helpful.In the hotel there is a playroom for children. Rooms very nice, well equipped with TV and fridge, accommodation. very clean, daily maid service during your stay by the support for. breakfasts are served in a buffet table, a very large selection of various dishes, both hot and cold. The great advantage of the hotel is an excellent restaurant which is located in the building of the Hotel. Hotel location is also very good because it is situated in a very quiet and peaceful place, but both are from there anywhere near both to munich and in the beautiful German Alps. Personally, I highly recommend this hotel, I have no objection to it, certainly yet visited it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel am Europaplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Europaplatz

Address: Rathausstrasse 2, 86343 Koenigsbrunn, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Koenigsbrunn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Koenigsbrunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel am Europaplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel am Europaplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Am Europaplatz Germany/Koenigsbrunn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Europaplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.