We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to dream and reminisce about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda al Colle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda al Colle to your Saves list
Locanda al Colle
Via La Stretta 231 | loc. Capezzano Pianore, 55041 Camaiore, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Camaiore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A place to dream and reminisce about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and 25 year old son (returning from teaching in Vietnam) spent 2 nights here. We were one of the last guests of the season before they closed for a few months. My business in the US is in a resort town so I know how you feel at the end of a season- burnt out. But Riccardo and Arriana couldn't have been more friendlier and helpful than it being the first week of a tourist season starting when you are full of energy. Riccardo sent us to wonderful restaurants with true character and great meals. We left them wanting more of the area, with their guidance and suggestions on what to do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Where to start?! Stunning vintage decor, beautifully appointed rooms, incredible views, impeccable attention to detail on all levels. Ricardo and Arriana made us feel more like staying with friends rather that at a hotel. So laid back and relaxing, amazing breakfast on the terrace followed by hours lounging by the pool. Fabulous meal on Wednesday felt more like a great dinner party than a hotel restaurant, such a great night. We seriously could not find fault with this beautiful place. 10/10

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a beautiful, stylish resort which provides a phantastic setting for its guests. Riccardo is a perfect host and made us really feel "at home". His recommendations for restaurants etc were very valuable and not once have we been disappointed. We have already made a booking for our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful Locanda for four nights last month as part of our honeymoon. Our room (Giardino) was gorgeous, leading to a beautiful small, private garden with a hammock and beautiful hillside views. In the room, was a beautiful bunch of long-stemmed red roses and a bottle of Champagne. Lovely touch. Our host, Riccardo, assisted by Arianna could not have been more friendly, or helpful. They made several recommendations for us and assisted in making reservations for us. Overall, the place is serene, stylish and incredibly relaxing, we would not hesitate to go back or recommend to anybody thinking of staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. We stayed here for 1 week on our honeymoon as part of a trip around Italy and it was the best part of our holiday.

Our room, the junior suite (Alba), was simply stunning. This consisted of a large bathroom with rainfall shower and double bath and double sinks, separate toilet and sink, bedroom with two large wardrobes and four poster bed with drapes and a private terrace. The private terrace was such luxury, providing privacy and pretty views. The room was chic and elegant, but also homely.

As honeymooners we were greeted with a bottle of chilled champagne and the largest bunch of long stem red roses I have ever seen. Incredibly these were replaced every 2 days with a fresh new bunch!!

Towels are changed daily and you are able to help yourself to chilled still or sparkling water from the kitchen fridge whenever you like (not to be underestimated in the summer!).

The food was aspect that we will never forget. Every morning Riccardo and Arianna freshly prepare a rich assortment of choices to rival any other breakfast I have had on the continent. This usually involved cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, toast, some form of savory tart or quiche, cake and (on request) eggs, however you like them accompanied by the best coffee, a section of teas and fruit juice (just squeezed).

Lunch is optional and to be requested daily at breakfast and is usually about £15-20pp. I would definitely recommend these as Riccardo and Arianna's cooking is certainly as good as any great restaurant. It is generally 2 courses with desert if you would like it, and everything just tastes so good!!! This was served to us each day on our private terrace, which was incredible.

On Sundays and Wednesdays a chef comes in to make dinner for all the guests (should they wish to attend). This is typically 4 or 5 courses with processco and wine and again the food is delicious. It's lovely to be able to join tables with other guests to mix but equally if you prefer privacy, mixing is not forced upon you at all and you are quite welcome to take up a private table.

There are lots of great restaurants in the surrounding area, mostly these are a short drive a way but one is within walking distance. This is a superb restaurant with panoramic view over the tuscan hillside. Best of all, Riccardo will always ensure you are given the best table in the house.

You definitely get the special treatment whilst staying at this guest house. It was my birthday during our stay and Riccardo presented me with a bottle complimentary prosecco and sorbet cake. That evening we took Riccordo’s recommendation to eat at a fabulous restaurant, Trattoria Il Marzocco in Pietrasanta (15 minute drive away), and we arrived to find our table had been scattered with rose petals and I was treated to a delicious desert.

A car is probably recommended for this guest house if you feel that need to be traveling around and seeing new places everyday. We had originally booked a Hertz hire car but were refused our car when we went to pick it up as I had booked the car in my husband’s name but paid for it on my credit card (apparently a no no for Italian car hire!). We thought this spelled disaster for the our trip to tuscany, but in the end it didn't matter at all, and probably worked out for the best. The guest house was so fantastic and so relaxing we didn't feel the need to take any of the day trips we had originally planned. When we did go out Riccardo was able to book us taxis (20 euro seemed to be the standard charge for anywhere within an 20 minute radius, including the beach club).

Given the intimacy of the guest house, I would personally say it was not the best place for children. Additionally, given the hard work that Riccardo and Arianna put into making your stay so special, manners and some reciprocity (for example helping to clear away your breakfast) are definitely appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was our first time in Tuscany. We could not have been happier with our experience. We booked the bedroom with balcony on the top floor. The balcony had a wonderful evening bed and iron fireplace, perfect for autumn in Tuscany. Riccardo was an excellent host and had many great suggestions for day trips and local restaurants. We took a hike up to Casoli and also enjoyed a dinner in nearby Pietresanta. Our only recommendation is to be sure to rent a car as taxis are required for most excursions away and can prove quite expensive. All in all a great destination...breakfast also great

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

From fresh roses in the room to free bottled water, the attention to detail in the place is impressive. Everything is just as it should be: lovely big room, luxurious bathroom, delicious and different breakfast each day, great pool, beautiful gardens and free access to the beach club. We enjoyed the well stocked wines at reasonable prices, the interesting art around the house and gardens, the beautiful furniture in every room, the complementary bottle of prosecco and the cool music played in the house. Best of all though is the friendliness of the hosts, who make you feel very welcome. They will also recommend and book restaurants, and suggest places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaiore
2.7 mi away
Villa La Bianca
Villa La Bianca
#3 of 56 in Camaiore
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
3.1 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#5 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#2 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Albergo Pietrasanta
Albergo Pietrasanta
#2 of 6 in Pietrasanta
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
4.7 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#6 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda al Colle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda al Colle

Address: Via La Stretta 231 | loc. Capezzano Pianore, 55041 Camaiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of the famous via Vrancigena and the sea , our locanda proposes itself in a contest of absolute charm as a place of peace and privacy .An old stone house in which old and new , exterior and interior find harmony in the research of details such as the objects in every room , one off pieces mixed with findings from trips abroad giving a warm and comforting atmosphere.Protected by the greenery of the olive grove locanda looks out towrads the sea and the hills and mountains of Camaiore . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Locanda al Colle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Al Colle Hotel Camaiore
Locanda Al Colle Camaiore, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda al Colle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.