We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value place to stay reasonably close to Geneva.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   380 rue Richard Gurley Drew, 74160 Archamps, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Archamps
South East
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good value place to stay reasonably close to Geneva.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good, quiet, clean place to stay and great value considering it's proximity to Geneva.

Room was excellent standard and of a decent size and extremely quiet with reversible air con for heating and/or cooling. The huge double bed was very comfortable. En suite bathroom was very clean.

Breakfast was very good with bacon and scrambled egg on offer along with the usual, all you can eat continental buffet style food.

If you ask at reception for a courtesy tray, you will get a kettle, tea bags, coffee and milk.

Reception staff were very helpful and spoke English if required. Plenty of parking and free hi speed WiFi.

Only thing disapointing was the fact that the restaurant was closed due to lack of people staying at the hotel. This was in January so not surprising. There is an Ibis hotel close by with a restaurant and I had a meal there instead.

All in all, a pleasant place to stay, well situated and I would definitely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    90
    41
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
67
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Quiet, clean and comfortable. Pleasant staff. Smooth check in and check out. Restaurant food good. An ideal location for a stop off, before travelling on. Good value for money and just outside Geneva, so no additional cost of buying a vignette. The WiFi works too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel does look modern and clean throughout. Not all hotel personnel spoke and understood English that well. Late in the evening, most dinner entree related items had run out, so we were advised to order steak since that was all that was left. Quite pricey. The hotel does boast that it has a heated indoor pool which we looked forward to. Unfortunately, the pool water temperature was on the cold side and we chose to not use. On the other hand, there was a sauna not far from the pool that worked fine. Overall, we would not recommend.

Room Tip: Our GPS kept ill-advising us on the correct location, which was frustrating. It was behind the Ibis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We got some difficulty to find it because it is not directly in the road, but by its side. The rooms are good and clean. Good cost-benefit relation. It is not downtown but it is close and fast to reach Genève centre from it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I've been here in business trip. Comparing the prices of the hotels in Geneva, I definetely suggest to use this hotel.
If you have to drive to Geneva, it's true that you have to plan an half an hour trip, since the traffic in the morning can be quite heavy. But this is the only problem.
The hotel is clean, the room is big enough, .... And the restaurant is good: I arrived late in the evening and I had a very nice dinner.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The poorest location and rood staff I've ever met.
Don't expect any advices from hotel staff how to get to Geneve.
If you don't have a car you should be ready to pay around 100 SFr in both ways for taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We drove down from Metz, France towards Genève. (Locals don't refer to their city as Geneva even though they speak english) As we were approaching Genève, we thought about finding a hotel in the outskirts rather than the bustling city of Genève. We approached the Best Western Porte du Sud and found a suite with two a queen bed + sofa bed for €150. We booked and stayed for two nights. We think that the room was large, decent and quiet clean. One our first night, someone was smoking next door and we can smell it. We called reception and they acted on it immediately. The hotel is remote and requires having a car. We travelled in our rental car to Genève and parked in a public car park close to the central train station. It cost us SF16 for about 8 hours. We walked around Genève and has breakfast and lunch in authentic swiss restaurants. Genève was breathtaking in winter. It snowed on us the second day. After a long hectic of walking, we came back to our clean hotel to relax. They were kind enough to offer us late check out (7pm) even without us asking. If you don't mind driving, the Best Western is a great option.

Room Tip: Staying here is much cheaper than staying in hotels in Genève.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve

Address: 380 rue Richard Gurley Drew, 74160 Archamps, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Archamps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Archamps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Archamps
Best Western Haute-Savoie
Archamps Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Porte du Sud de Geneve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.