We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovelly paradise.....Grazie per tuti” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Arzaga, 1, 25080 Calvagese della Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Portimao, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovelly paradise.....Grazie per tuti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hotel, Golf , Spa....... all outstanding, a true 5 stars on the sense of the word.
Golf in very good conditions, a good combination of holes, my favourite will be Gary Player + second nines of Jack Nicklaus
Unforgiven hollidays.
JF

Room Tip: Fresco room, amazing, looks like enter on another dimension!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    28
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
41
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

I stayed at Arzaga the last weekend. The hotel is a member of The Small Leading Hotels of the World; this association is confirmed by the quality of the services.
At the arrival, in order to enter into the property, there is a gate where a member of the staff ask your name.
Passing this check point, you have to drive for about 200 mt. in order to arrive at the hotel's entrance.
When I arrived at the entrance, 3 members of the staff went out to welcome me, calling me by name (the guardian informed them about my arrival): a guy opened the door of my car and offered to park the car and take care of our luggage, another man opened my wife's door, a woman enterd with us into the hotel in order to check in. I think this the welcome that a 5 star hotel guest expects.
Since the hotel was nearly empty (it's the end of the season) they upgraded us from a classic to a deluxe room (despite we had a very very chep rate). The room was nice, even not so big: a comfortable double bed, an LCD TV, 2 armchairs, a desk with another chair, a minibar (with acceptable prices) and a quiet big bathroom, with 2 separate areas: in the first there were the bathtub (with the shower) and a ; in the second there were the WC and a bidet. Product's bathroom were ETRO. They left some chocolate in the room in the afternoon.
The building, a palace of the 15th century, is very well kept.
The property, located in a very calm area, is amazing. There are two golf courses designed by jack Nicklaus (and a training camp with teachers), 2 swimming pools (one outdoor and one, heated, (30°) indoor).
There is a beuatiful SPA by Clarins, where my wife had a wonderful Stone Therapy, and 2 restaurants: one, beautiful, adjacent to the golf courses (where there is also a big golf shop), and the other, elegant and more formal, open for breakfast and dinner with a good selection of food (but we didn't eat there, so I can't judge it).
There are also 2 tennis courts and a big park for walking or jogging.
Close to the reception there is a wonderful room where every morning I could find some newspapers (at the check in, they asked me if I wanted some newspapers to be sent in my room in the morning and they offered to suggest me some restaurants in the zone, in case of need).
All in all, I'm a frequent 5 star hotel guest and I have to say that is always harder to find hotels that offers a level of the services in line with their promises.
Palazza Arzaga met all my expections: thanks for its wonderful staff and facilities, it can ensure a real 5 star experience.

  • Liked — All
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, Surrey
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Only one restaurant, miles from the lake, not courtesy travel, no cabs to get anywhere. I agree that the hotel is beautiful and the surroundings peaceful, but how can they claim to be a 5 star hotel when they only have 1 restaurant. And no shorts allowed. It's over 30 degrees and you have to dress up to have dinner. They don't have any courtesy trips, don't have any bus to drop you down to the lake. If you have a car, you can travel to other restaurants, but then you can't enjoy the good local wine.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Too far from the lake
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Palazzo Arzaga is a great place to stay for a long weekend when you are looking to get away from everybody and everything. The location is slightly off the beaten track and the surrounds are the golf courses, farmland, and the local fields. There are no rooms with back street views and there is never the sound of a motorcycle zipping by at 3am revving the engine. My kind of Heaven. So many 5 stars are in the middle of towns (and glamorous towns) - but the pressure to sight-see, dress up etc follow you on your holiday. Palazzo Arzaga is not that kind of hotel.

Palazzo Arzaga was originally a house - and not a hotel - so it does not have that square box boring hotel feel. The breakfast is outside in the inner courtyard (not some side sunroom as with many large hotels!) and the inviting little study rooms have daily newspapers.

Ok - I agree the breakfast buffet isn't really up to scratch - but I'm quite simple and don't require 4 different muesli choices. And the dinner good but not great. (Well, mine was great but my boyfriend's was over salted) - but taking everything in stride the place is super friendly and calming. The hidden gem is the lunch on the golf terrace. The food there was better than our dinner!

The golf is the best bit. It's not a PGA or a Masters course, but it is very well kept and the Golf Club is PART of the hotel. Is there anything worse than going to a Golf Resort and the 'curtesy' bus has to take you to the golf course?! The Club holds your bags for the duration of your stay. And because it's is a proper golf club and it is on site (not an 'associated' nearby golf course) they are completely flexible. You can play the front nine in the morning, take a nap by the pool, eat a late lunch, then play the back nine. No problem. Heaven.

Oh- and there is a large driving range too! And a pro on site for lessons......

The standard double rooms are quite small. The larger executive rooms are more spacious and have lovely views.

If you don't mind asking for your coffee refills, waiting the extra 5 minutes to get served then you'll really like this place!

My opinion is that the amenities have the potential to be 5 star - they just need a few more staff and some more attention to the 'slicker' details. But for the sake of peace and quiet teamed up with the feeling of being in a house rather than a hotel - this place is fabulous.

I've been to golf hotels around the world and surely this does not compare with the glamorous resorts (e.g. Le Tousserok) but it is really a step above the large block hotels with attached courses in Portugal. The proximity to the Lago di Garda, the opera in Verona, and the ease of the golfing makes this a smart, relaxing weekend retreat......

  • Liked — Off the beaten track location, Golf Course, the decor, proximity to Garda & Verona, and the ease of using the facitlities (golf, spa, pool, dinner etc)
  • Disliked — Not enough staff to keep it to 5 star service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

Amazing 15th century restored building. We had an executive room in the main house, which was a good size and well appointed. Golf couses are OK (but no better than that) the best 9 (27 holes in total) is the Gary Player. Restaurant expensive and probably not worth it. Better to go to Desenzano del Garda (10 minutes drive) and all the restaurants there.
Every member of the hotel staff we met were great - very helpful and professional.
Would be happy to recommend and will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

Brescia: Palazzo Arzaga Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Palazzo Arzaga is situated in a pleasant, but not particularly beautiful semi-rural setting 2 or 3 miles from the southern end of Lake Garda.

Our "deluxe" room was pleasantly, but simply appointed - not luxurious, but in keeping with the 15th century building. The only wardrobe was small and dark, and one had almost to lie on the floor to use the safe. The bathroom was modern and well equipped. The "balcony", barely 5 ft square, with tiny table and 2 chairs, adjoined that of the next room and was too cramped to use.

The breakfast buffet was abysmal by 5 star standards, including milk in cartons, packets of Kelloggs cereals, plastic sachets of butter and individual pots of preserves, a modest selection of breads, cold meats and cheese, and covered dishes containing an unappealing choice of eggs, tomato, and (by the time we went down to breakfast at 9 a.m.) dried up bacon and sausage. Muesli was not available. The flowers were artificial and the napkins paper. We were astonished that a member of the Leading (Small) Hotels of the World group could get away with this.

On our first evening we had a drink in the bar. Unasked and without a word or smile, the barman presented us with the bill while our glasses were still partially full, not enquiring whether we might like a refill. He seemed to want us out of there.

The (American!) concierge cut an incongruous figure in his black jacket and striped pants (we thought initially that he was the manager), and his somewhat overbearing manner made us feel ill at ease.

There is an attractive outdoor swimming pool (if you ignore the empty plastic bottles not cleared away). Spa treatments are given in very small rooms, virtually in a windowless basement. Wi-Fi access is offered, but no guest computer was available when requested. Housekeeping left something to be desired. Used towels, face cloths and bathmats were removed, but often not replaced. The handle of a drawer came off, but no one seemed to notice. There were no tissues. We had no turndown service one night; our room was not checked or tidied after the morning. We sensed a shortage of staff throughout.

We agree with your earlier reviewer (Feb 24, 2006), that the atmosphere is corporate. Throughout our stay most of the rooms were occupied by UK salesmen and their wives on a corporate freebie. As a result, the breakfast conversations sounded like an episode of Eastenders (for non Brits this is a TV soap opera set in the east end of London). The spa could not offer us appointments until after the corporate guests had left.

At 342.90 EUROS per night bed and breakfast (internet rate), we felt this hotel to be grossly overpriced. It is a 4 star hotel masquerading as a 5 star and well below what one would expect from a member of the prestigious Leading Hotels of the World group.

AVOID (unless someone else is paying, and perhaps even then).

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

This is a superb hotel for golf fans, and the spa is also wonderful (although most of the rooms are windowless and the prices are high even by European standards). The hotel feels stuck out a few miles from anywhere, and the atmosphere feels more corporate than intimate. We enjoyed our 3 days here, but felt that any more would be too much. We entirely agree with the earlier review that the staff at breakfast are wonderful; dinner (we ate on the terrace one evening, and inside during the rainstorm the next) was good but expensive (E60 a head) and lacking in atmosphere. If you are visiting this area and budget is no problem, consider a stay at the Villa Feltrinelli, about 1/2 hour away on Lake Garda - a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Via Arzaga, 1, 25080 Calvagese della Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Calvagese della Riviera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Calvagese della Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Arzaga is a 15th-century mansion harmoniously converted into one of the finest golf resorts in Northern Italy. This luxury SPA & Golf hotel is an exceptional destination for relaxation and pure pleasure, offering all-round comfort and style at just 30 minutes from Verona beside Lake Garda, the Franciacorta Wine Region and the Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Calvagese Della Riviera
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa And Golf Resort
Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort Italy/Province Of Brescia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Arzaga Hotel Spa & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.